1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Vzw prl

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by youdoofus, May 6, 2011.

  1. youdoofus

    youdoofus Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,131
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    2,131
    747
    213
    Tech support rep for Knology
    so dak
    ok, so i (against my will LoL) flashed a sense rom so i could update to the vzw prl using these instrusctions and the result was a lower speedtest result.... any ideas as to what the deal is? i thought that vzws transcievers were supposed to be "better"

    here ya'll go. use vzw towers at your own discression :)
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=696073
     

    Advertisement

  2. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    Its better in my area...do you have data roaming disabled? You should...

    Which prl is it? There are about 5 I know of to try. Some work better than others...
     
  3. youdoofus

    youdoofus Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,131
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    2,131
    747
    213
    Tech support rep for Knology
    so dak
    i just did the first one in that xda thread.... ill dig a lil deeper and try a couple diff ones. I guess theyre location specific? And turn data roaming off?? i thought that the data roaming was necessary for the sprint device to hook up with the vzw towers :/
     
  4. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    Dont confuse the prl, lol or me for that matter :) it will roam, its always roaming, if you actually turn on roaming i think it allows it to hook up back on home...JUST DO IT :D
     
  5. youdoofus

    youdoofus Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,131
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    2,131
    747
    213
    Tech support rep for Knology
    so dak
    LMAO!!! okay :) can ya link me the other prl zips pls? (and for the benefit of anyone else who happens upon this thread:D)
     
  6. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    i'll PM you and not help anyone else...I have like 7, used to have more but my sd card...you know...some of them are sprint ones too...
     
  7. youdoofus

    youdoofus Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,131
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    2,131
    747
    213
    Tech support rep for Knology
    so dak
    LoL okay :) when i was done foolin around with the one i tried, i just updated automatically thru the sense prl updater thingy.... is that not the preferred method? im only doing this so if/when i go to a rural area(visitin fam n so forth) and i run into connectivity issues, ill have a plan of action to perhaps fix the issue. I guess this is a just in case type thing cuz i get pretty darn good 3g speeds (about 800-900 kbps on a bad day)
     
  8. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    no thats preferred...setting, updates, prl...
     
  9. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    its not that i dont want to help others i just dont know if i can post 7 prl's over here..have to give the whole legal disclaimer first...? im not in the mood :)
     
  10. youdoofus

    youdoofus Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,131
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    2,131
    747
    213
    Tech support rep for Knology
    so dak
    ohhhhhh.... i was kinda scratcing muh head on that one lol makes perfect sense now... for those who seek it, they already know the risks involved. Well, maybe not, but you know that i know, you know? LoL I dont care if i get kicked for using too much vzw airtime LOL!!! ill just hook it up with virgin or boost and use the vzw prl again LMAO!!!!!
     
  11. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    Let me know if you still needs the prls
     
  12. ceabbott2

    ceabbott2 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    204
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010

    Jun 16, 2010
    204
    14
    38
    Lieutenant/Firefighter
    Henderson,KY
    I have some PRLs in a file but not scared just didn't know if I should flash or push or what. I use Roam control sometimes but lately speeds on internet super slow. Really weird sometimes download at 100 then back up to 600-800 Still not back to my 1.2 high when I was oon Myn Z or CM7, currently on the new Kingdom port by Virus. Wanted to check out Sense 3.0.

    Charles
     
  13. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC

    Don't believe roam control applies to data, just signal. They may have a flashable zip around somewhere but I change prl by dialing ##prl# and committing the new one
     
    ceabbott2 likes this.
  14. ceabbott2

    ceabbott2 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    204
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010

    Jun 16, 2010
    204
    14
    38
    Lieutenant/Firefighter
    Henderson,KY

    Thanks evomattnc. Would you mind emailing me those numbers...uh I may already have them. I apologize but that sounds very similar to the ##3282# for the data increase that Mr Ed has described in great detail I might ad, (he rocks) and a brief description of the process.

    Thanks evomattnc

    Charles
     
  15. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    fyi....01337 is golden
     
    ceabbott2 likes this.
  16. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC

    Good to know. Still rocking 00001 hasn't stopped working yet. If it does I'll try that one first
     
  17. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    0001 eventually stopped working for calls for me..I kept getting the "thank you for calling verizon" crap...and txts stopped working.

    I remember when I switched I got like 30 txts all at once lol
     
  18. huffman6977

    huffman6977 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    191
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    191
    2
    36
    can some one send me the links please.
     
  19. youdoofus

    youdoofus Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,131
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    2,131
    747
    213
    Tech support rep for Knology
    so dak
    was the link in the op not good enough? its in there.... theres a scrollbox right above the speedtest results on that xda page...... READ GRASSHOPPAH, READ!!!!!

    edit, as evom pointed out the word "these" is a hyperlink. sorry if that sounded overly crass. im just an a$$ sometimes purely out of jest, my bad :(
     
  20. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    maybe he missed the "these" hyperlink...?
     
  21. youdoofus

    youdoofus Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,131
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    2,131
    747
    213
    Tech support rep for Knology
    so dak
    i fully realize that as being a possibility, i guess that was a bit heavy handed.... my bad. it was funny tho :p

    maybe i should edit the op so its not just a linked word
     
  22. huffman6977

    huffman6977 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    191
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    191
    2
    36
    Lol I did read I only seen 3 prls me so sorry I wanted more lol
     
  23. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    Ah you want some more...OK, here are some sprint full 3g prls and a hybrid xzw/sprint one

    FULL 3G PRLs - Oh YEA! - xda-developers
     
  24. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    I have 7 total on my sd card...anybody have one i dont? i have

    00001
    01337
    31337
    51893
    52105
    52220
    sprint/vzw
     
  25. huffman6977

    huffman6977 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    191
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    191
    2
    36
    Thanks but the downloads are bad. I can't unzip them
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...