1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Wake up landroid- remote turn pc on?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by red97xj, May 27, 2010.

  1. red97xj

    red97xj Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010

    May 16, 2010
    152
    5
    36
    anybody used this? My dinc is not here yet. I am hoping i can turn on my laptop at home from work, then access it via cell via other apps.
     

    Advertisement

  2. MisterMixelpix

    MisterMixelpix Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    774
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    774
    153
    113
    Youth Counselor
    PA
    Link? Info? I'll be more than happy to test it out...
     
  3. contagous

    contagous Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    966
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    966
    132
    93
    Gfx Design / Network Engineer
    Seattle WA
    This would be cool, keep us updated, I haven't got mine yet either...
     
  4. mrjerryk

    mrjerryk Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    211
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

    May 23, 2010
    211
    20
    38
    Cincinnati OH

    Unless your laptop has wake on LAN I don't know how this would it on. Just leave the laptop on so you don't have to worry about it. I leave my laptop, windows pc, and linux box running 24/7.
     
  5. MisterMixelpix

    MisterMixelpix Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    774
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    774
    153
    113
    Youth Counselor
    PA
    Well I'm an idiot. I didn't piece together the whole "LAN" thing. Nevermind, no good for me. :p

    Anyway, if your computer's connected via LAN then it turns it on by accessing the network and following the MAC address to the physical hardware. Simple stuff.
     
  6. contagous

    contagous Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    966
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    966
    132
    93
    Gfx Design / Network Engineer
    Seattle WA
    All my computers have Wake on LAN, i make sure of that as i use them alot when not around...

    But defo a decent file access program OTA would be nice, anyone know of one?
     
  7. MisterMixelpix

    MisterMixelpix Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    774
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    774
    153
    113
    Youth Counselor
    PA
    HomePipe. I bought it, I use it daily. It's the shizz.
     
    contagous likes this.
  8. contagous

    contagous Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    966
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    966
    132
    93
    Gfx Design / Network Engineer
    Seattle WA
    Awesome I take a look at it when my phone finally gets here :) Thanks
     
  9. AaronBBrown

    AaronBBrown Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    May 6, 2010

    wake on LAN only works if the target machine is wired. It will not wake a wifi device.
     
  10. contagous

    contagous Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    966
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    966
    132
    93
    Gfx Design / Network Engineer
    Seattle WA
    of course, Wake on Lan, goes through the RJ45 sockets..
     
  11. AaronBBrown

    AaronBBrown Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    May 6, 2010

    It has nothing to do with the RJ45 connection, it's that WiFi isn't connected to an access point when the computer is off or asleep whereas NICs do, so there is no way for it to "hear" the magic packet.
     
  12. contagous

    contagous Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    966
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    966
    132
    93
    Gfx Design / Network Engineer
    Seattle WA
    Yah and how do you cable up a network? or ya with Cat5/6 cable and whats on the end of those cables?

    OMG RJ45 Connectors...
     
  13. AaronBBrown

    AaronBBrown Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    May 6, 2010

    Or fiber. Or USB if you are into those kind of things. RJ45 is just a piece of plastic. I was trying to explain that that isn't the relevant part of WOL technology. It would work just fine over wifi if the computer stayed connected to an access point while sleeping. The client can be on wifi with no issue, just not the machine you are trying to wake.
     
  14. contagous

    contagous Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    966
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    966
    132
    93
    Gfx Design / Network Engineer
    Seattle WA
    Exactly my point. TY
     
  15. Ovy

    Ovy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    151
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    151
    19
    38
    you should just admit you made a failed reference and move on. it's not a big deal. no one will hate you for being slightly incorrect.
     
  16. contagous

    contagous Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    966
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    966
    132
    93
    Gfx Design / Network Engineer
    Seattle WA
    ... My theory isn't wrong, just used wrong wording, but I knew what i meant thanks :)

    Either way don't care, point is it won't work if main machine is on Wifi unless you are capable of sending WMM packets to use the specific WoWALN features thats are available...

    Then in theory it could be possible
     

Share This Page

Loading...