1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Wallpaper, why always have to resize?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by LLGEG, Mar 28, 2011.

  1. LLGEG

    LLGEG Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011

    Mar 25, 2011
    42
    2
    16
    North Carolina
    Not sure if I am just doing something wrong, but any pic I want to use as wallpaper, it forces me to crop it, then enlarges the cropped pic. When I use an app like Zedge to pick/DL/set an image as wallpaper, it doesn't do it. The same pic I download/use from an app, if I choose from my gallery it crops. Suggestions?
     

    Advertisement

  2. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,659
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    1,659
    305
    163
    Phoenix, AZ
    That is simply how Android does it when you select wallpapers from the gallery.
     
  3. LLGEG

    LLGEG Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011

    Mar 25, 2011
    42
    2
    16
    North Carolina
    Ok, thank you. Glad I didn't miss something.
     
  4. strofcon

    strofcon Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011

    Mar 18, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    I noticed on my TB that when I choose an image from the gallery and select Menu -> Set As, it gives me two "Wallpaper" options. The first one makes me crop it, the second just sets it as my wallpaper with no fuss. Seems odd to have two identical options listed when they both do two different things (sort of).
     
  5. LLGEG

    LLGEG Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011

    Mar 25, 2011
    42
    2
    16
    North Carolina
    I don't get that, once I choose set as wallpaper, I can only crop. Hmmm...
     
  6. CyberPitz

    CyberPitz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    303
    Joined:
    May 17, 2010

    May 17, 2010
    303
    42
    63
    Joplin, MO
    It would be (If I'm not mistaken) because the resolution of the picture. I don't know 100% what the resolution should be on these phones, but that was always my issue on my OG Droid.

    *EDIT* Try 960x800
     
  7. oldbushie

    oldbushie Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    32
    1
    36
    960x800 is the correct resolution, yes. Also, when it comes up with the crop screen, you *can* resize the crop window to the full extent of the image. Do that by pressing your thumb and index finger together and onto the screen, then slide your fingers apart in a diagonal direction. I only figured this out because I vaguely remembered that from a multitouch preview video.
     
  8. DanDroid

    DanDroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    189
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009

    Oct 14, 2009
    189
    29
    73
    Male
    QA Analyst
    Ohio
    Check out Multi-Picture-Live Wallpaper. I had this on my X and really liked it. You can use multiple pictures for each screen, or use 1 for all. Does not crop picture, and stops the "scrolling of the wallpaper" when swiping between screens.
     
  9. jessi21

    jessi21 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 7, 2011

    May 7, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I had the same thing on my tb then i had to exchange it for quality issues. Now i only get the one option on the new phone :-( Glitch maybe? Any idea on how to get this option back? Pretty bummed, it was a nice feature to have for a bit...
     
  10. slim6596

    slim6596 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010

    Nov 28, 2010
    53
    2
    16
    Truck Driver
    Terre Haute, In
    Wallpaper Wizardrii from the Market. No cropping, unless you want to. You use your wallpapers that you downloaded to your phone, not the stock ones.
     
  11. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    I just downloaded wizardrii yesterday. It's a pretty good app I hate how android crops by default so I'm hoping this will help
     
  12. Manarius

    Manarius Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011

    Apr 24, 2011
    26
    5
    16
    PC Tech
    Grantham, PA
    I have this autowallpaper app (automaticsettingwallpaper) and it works wonders. I have some great computer wallpapers (think 1900x1080) and this app made them fit my TB perfectly.
     

Share This Page

Loading...