1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root want to flash cm7 on my dhd

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Demodem, Nov 18, 2011.

  1. Demodem

    Demodem Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011

    Nov 17, 2011
    16
    0
    15
    Hi all,

    I'm new to this and i realise that El pres* has posted extensively, but i am unclear as to what i need to do to flash CM7 on my dhd................i followed the guide you posted but i'm confused by the two other files in the link.......I just want to flash the rom...not to bothered about the kernel and have no idea what the other gapps file is for ........can you help please?

    Thanks

    Demodem.
     

    Advertisement

  2. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,096
    3,118
    Scotland
    If you don't want to flash the kernel, that's no problem, that bit is optional, it does make your CM7 experience slicker and improves battery life amongst other things though.

    The other file is the google apps package. Not long after Cyanogen started making ROMs, for legal reasons (I'll see if I can find the link), Google stopped them/him from including the core Google apps in with the ROM (Gmail, the Market, Search, GTalk etc). It has to be flashed seperately. You're free to not flash that, but you won't really be getting the most out of your phone without the core apps on there.

    Welcome to AF BTW! :)
     
  3. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,194
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    Welcome to the forums... you're in safe hands with El Presidente. From what you've said, I guess you're rooted... if I were you, I'd go for the LorDmod Kernel... it can make quite a difference on the battery life and is really easy to do!
     
  4. Demodem

    Demodem Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011

    Nov 17, 2011
    16
    0
    15
    Thanks for getting back to me...........very steep learning curve....used hack ace the other day to root my phone and now want to have some flash fun!

    so, gapps-gb-20110828-signed is the google apps file?

    the kernel link directs me to choose the cyanogen kernels....when i choose the cfs i get re-directed to a multi**** site and not sure which one to choose or what to do with it next?

    Dem
     
  5. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,096
    3,118
    Scotland
    Yeah, the gapps.zip is the google apps. Want me to upload the latest kernel to dropbox and post the link to make things easier? The multiupload sites can be iffy at times.
     
  6. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,194
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    The gapps is the google apps... download it and flash it - don't worry... it's fine!

    As for the kernel... I got the download link from XDA, but it was one of the multi blah blah places... just download, put on root of your SD and flash (similar to a ROM flash, but MUCH quicker)!

    GRRR on that El P... GRRR! Beat me to it! Now that I'm a guide, I'd better keep a copy of stuff in my dropbox!
     
  7. Demodem

    Demodem Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011

    Nov 17, 2011
    16
    0
    15
    that would be very much appreciated..............

    so would i put that zip in the root of my sd and add it as an extra step in the cm7 process you've posted previously......if yes....
    1) follow guide
    2) flash rom
    3) do gapps step
    4) flash kernel

    is this right?

    D
     
  8. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,194
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    Yep... follow guide and flash the rom and gapps. Sort the kernel afterwards!!
     
    Demodem likes this.
  9. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,096
    3,118
    Scotland
    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/31513255/lordmodUEv8.2-CFS.zip

    1. Take backup
    2. Wipe (as per the guide)
    3. Flash ROM
    4. Flash Google apps package
    5. Reboot
    6. Sort your app backups out
    7. Back into recovery
    8. Backup
    9. Flash the kernel
    10.Reboot
    11. Calibrate battery
    12. Sit and grin smugly at the awesomeness of your CM7 powered DHD.
     
    Demodem likes this.
  10. Demodem

    Demodem Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011

    Nov 17, 2011
    16
    0
    15
    Great, Mr president.

    I'll post again once I'm grinning.

    Thanks again.
     
  11. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,194
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    To be fair... this is THE most important step!

     
  12. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,096
    3,118
    Scotland
  13. Demodem

    Demodem Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011

    Nov 17, 2011
    16
    0
    15
    AAAAAAhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!




    Thanks guys;)
     
  14. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,096
    3,118
    Scotland
    Up and running then? :)
     
  15. Demodem

    Demodem Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011

    Nov 17, 2011
    16
    0
    15
    yeah, only issue appears to be not able to get talkmobile data settings for 3g......................gonna call them tomorrow to text me settings!


    so far................


    it's like having a new phone.!!!!!!!!!!:)
     
  16. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,096
    3,118
    Scotland
    Yeah, totally different to the stock experience. :)

    When I get home, I'll see if I can dig out the apk for a better camera for you. That's the only thing I find lacking with CM7. Someone managed to strip the camera from the MIUI ROM and you can use it as a replacement for the CM7 offering.
     
  17. Demodem

    Demodem Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011

    Nov 17, 2011
    16
    0
    15
    Hey........

    was wondering if you would know why all my sms message data is gone and although all my apps were free ones i cannot find them through titanium (free) do i need to have the pro version?

    I thought i had followed your guide, although i got a little confused from point 14 on!

    Any thoughts?
     
  18. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,194
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    Alright mate!

    You will have lost data/messages when you flashed a new ROM on to the phone. The only was to save messages is to back them up before you flash.

    As for your apps... when you link your phone to your gmail account, you should be able to go on the market, where you can hit menu and my apps... you should be able to download them from there and then use Titanium to restore the data. You shouldn't need the full version (you can restore app data in the free version)... the paid for version lets you batch restore data (amongst other things)... only a couple of quid too, so I thought worth it!!
     
  19. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,096
    3,118
    Scotland
    There's a feature in the latest version of TB that allows you to extract app and app data from your nandroid backup. So, if they don't appear in TB and they don't redownload themselves as D-U-R-X has suggested, you can try that.
     
  20. Demodem

    Demodem Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011

    Nov 17, 2011
    16
    0
    15
    Hi,

    So would i have had to back them up separately (with which app) i assumed it would be part of the tb?

    :thinking:
     
  21. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,194
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    Just go on the market and hit "menu=>my apps" and you should see all apps that you have downloaded... you can choose to re-install from there!
     
  22. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,096
    3,118
    Scotland
    What happens when you open Titanium and hit backup and restore, then the search button then under "Filter By Type" you select Uninst. Hit Apply in the top right.

    Do you see a list of apps you previously had installed on your handset?
     
  23. Demodem

    Demodem Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011

    Nov 17, 2011
    16
    0
    15
    no, nothing listed in this page...........i perhaps did not follow the instruction when backing up............i thought all i had to do was create a back up zip on sd card and it would save it all?
     
  24. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,096
    3,118
    Scotland
    The backup zip just installs titanium on first boot for you, your apps are backed up separately. The guide isn't actually very clear, so I'll update the accordingly at some point tonight, apologies for that.

    To sort your current problems, open TB, hit Menu, More, Extract from CWM Backup, select the backup you made before you flashed CM7 and it should give you a list of apps you had installed on your handset previously. You can restore from there.

    Only restore stuff you've downloaded from the market though and select App and App Data.
     
    Demodem likes this.
  25. Demodem

    Demodem Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011

    Nov 17, 2011
    16
    0
    15
    Thanks.............says i need donate version in order to do this......i cannot work out how to get this version as i can only see free and pro versions on the market!


    Thanks for all the help............feel like i'm ironing out the kinks and getting settled into CM7...........i agree with the threads about the CM7 phone.....nothing like as slick as the htc version!

    Can't have everything thought!

    Demodem
     

Share This Page

Loading...