• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root want to flash cm7 on my dhd

Demodem

Nov 17, 2011
Hi all,

I'm new to this and i realise that El pres* has posted extensively, but i am unclear as to what i need to do to flash CM7 on my dhd................i followed the guide you posted but i'm confused by the two other files in the link.......I just want to flash the rom...not to bothered about the kernel and have no idea what the other gapps file is for ........can you help please?

Thanks

Demodem.

If you don't want to flash the kernel, that's no problem, that bit is optional, it does make your CM7 experience slicker and improves battery life amongst other things though.

The other file is the google apps package. Not long after Cyanogen started making ROMs, for legal reasons (I'll see if I can find the link), Google stopped them/him from including the core Google apps in with the ROM (Gmail, the Market, Search, GTalk etc). It has to be flashed seperately. You're free to not flash that, but you won't really be getting the most out of your phone without the core apps on there.

Welcome to AF BTW! :)

Upvote 0
Thanks for getting back to me...........very steep learning curve....used hack ace the other day to root my phone and now want to have some flash fun!

so, gapps-gb-20110828-signed is the google apps file?

the kernel link directs me to choose the cyanogen kernels....when i choose the cfs i get re-directed to a multi**** site and not sure which one to choose or what to do with it next?

Dem

Upvote 0
The gapps is the google apps... download it and flash it - don't worry... it's fine!

As for the kernel... I got the download link from XDA, but it was one of the multi blah blah places... just download, put on root of your SD and flash (similar to a ROM flash, but MUCH quicker)!

GRRR on that El P... GRRR! Beat me to it! Now that I'm a guide, I'd better keep a copy of stuff in my dropbox!

Upvote 0