1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Want to get back to stock root

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ach1lles, May 26, 2011.

  1. ach1lles

    ach1lles Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010

    Jun 28, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    Since i first got my evo, I ran unrevoked3 because I enjoyed the root apps that were offered, never really cared for a custom rom. Well last night I tried something new and installed the cyanogenmod 7 and its missing alot of the features that I need for a work, and is not as user friendly as I would like.

    What I need to figure out is, how do I go back to still being rooted, but being on the stock rom that I had after running unrevoked. Do i just run unrevoked again even though im already rooted? or is there a link to that rom to flash that? I tried searching but all I can find is how to unroot back to to stock, and id like to stay rooted
     

    Advertisement

  2. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,033
    Posts:
    26,028
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    26,028
    16,075
    3,033
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    here you go Supersonic_3.70.651.1-Deodexed_signed_teshxx.zip just flash this from recovery as you would any rom. it is a rooted stock rom. if you have any more questions ask away.
     
    ach1lles likes this.
  3. ach1lles

    ach1lles Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010

    Jun 28, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    thanks thats what i figured but when I try to install it fails because amend scripting is no longer supported with latest clockworkmod, is there a way around this?
     
  4. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,033
    Posts:
    26,028
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    26,028
    16,075
    3,033
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    you have to either downgrade to clockwork mod 2.6 or switch recoveries to amon ra2.3. both of those recoveries support both amend and edify scripting. i would strongly recommend that you switch to amon ra. here is how you would do it:
    1. download this file PC36IMG_RA_2.3.zip
    2.rename it by just deleting the "_RA_2.3" part of the name so that it is named PC36IMG. do not add a ".zip" to the name as windows hides extensions
    3.transfer the file over to the root(not in any folder) of your sd card
    4.power off
    5.press and hold power+vol down
    6.this will get you into hboot(bootloader) and it should automatically scan for the PC36IMG file
    7.press vol up to select yes to update
    8.it will then ask you to reboot select no and select recovery from hboot.
    9.then select backup and restore
    10.make a nandroid backup as of now your clockwork mod nandroids will not work.

    after you make a nandroid wipe cache, dalvik cache, and system. then flash the rom i provided earlier. reboot and you should now have a stock rooted rom with your new custom recovery, aomn ra 2.3. any more questions ask away.
     
    ach1lles likes this.
  5. ach1lles

    ach1lles Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010

    Jun 28, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    thank you so much, youve been so helpful, hopefully someone with my same problem will stumble upon this thread!
     
  6. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,033
    Posts:
    26,028
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    26,028
    16,075
    3,033
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    no worries glad i can help. however there are a lot of roms out there that are great. try koni's elite series III. it is a super fast sense rom. all bloatware removed and very stable. you can get it in my sig ref#2. cm7 as you found out has a lot of tweaking to get everything right. also look into kernels as they will help you get great battery life out of your evo.
     
  7. ach1lles

    ach1lles Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010

    Jun 28, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    last problem....when the setup screen is going through it wont let me enter my google account info and if I skip I no longer have that option afterwards, and the google based apps are missing such as gmail, market, etc
     
  8. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,033
    Posts:
    26,028
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    26,028
    16,075
    3,033
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    ok that is weird. it should have given you everything back to stock. with no problems. i would go ahead and go back to recovery and re-wipe cache, dalvik cache and system then reboot and see if that helps. going from aosp(cm7) back to sense or vice versa you can get into issues if you do not wipe enough.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...