1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Want to go from 7.2 to 10,how to backup?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by J Pinkman, Sep 29, 2013.

  1. J Pinkman

    J Pinkman Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013

    Sep 29, 2013
    19
    0
    15
    Ok,I have an X2 running Cyanogenmod 7.2 and want to upgrade to CM10.Step one is creating a backup.I have had 7.2 for over a year and have never run a backup.I have the ROM manager app,and have tried to create the backup several times today.I do it,phone automatically reboots,but I can't locate the backup in "manage and restore".

    So,has a backup been created and I am looking in the wrong place?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,618
    Posts:
    12,114
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,114
    5,021
    1,618
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    Welcome to Android Forums. I movewd your question to the All-Things-Root subforum wehre root-related issues of your phone are discussed.

    ... Thom
     
  3. themib

    themib Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    778
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011

    J Pinkman likes this.
  4. J Pinkman

    J Pinkman Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013

    Sep 29, 2013
    19
    0
    15
    Wow.
    Thank you for the comprehensive list.
    Such a PDA for the X2!

    Now I'll get on it,will report back soon.
     
  5. J Pinkman

    J Pinkman Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013

    Sep 29, 2013
    19
    0
    15
    OK,question already.So much info on that list.
    Is there anything I need to do that is specific being that I am running CM 7.2 already?
     
  6. themib

    themib Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    778
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011

    J Pinkman likes this.
  7. J Pinkman

    J Pinkman Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013

    Sep 29, 2013
    19
    0
    15
    when I connect USB to my computer and click USB icon on phone,I get 3 choices:

    Portal & Tools
    Memory Card Access
    Charge Only

    I don't seem to have "mass storage mode".
    In "memory card access" I can see "removable disc G" and "MOT H" on the computer (windows 7).

    I have seen phone screenshots of the "mass storage mode" but don't seem to have that option.

    I just want to be sure,when I attempt to bring the downloaded files over from the computer.
     
  8. themib

    themib Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    778
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011

    Memory Card Access is the same a mass storage mode
     
    J Pinkman likes this.
  9. themib

    themib Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    778
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011

    one is internal and other is external sd card, doesn't matter which one you use.
    internal is 8gb before it is formated.
    I usually rename the sd card to "16gb sd card" or something like that to make it easier.
     
    J Pinkman likes this.
  10. J Pinkman

    J Pinkman Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013

    Sep 29, 2013
    19
    0
    15
    sorry,I keep bouncing back and forth to this.
    What is the best way to bring over the apk file over to the phone?I have Motorola Device Manager,changed it to run as an administrator,but it doesn't seem to do anything.When I run it it seems to try and download new drivers,but after a minute or so,it tells me the drivers were unsuccessful.

    Is this the way I am going to sync to the computer?
     
  11. themib

    themib Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    778
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011

    all the Motorola Device Manager does is install compatible drivers

    put the phone in Memory Card Access mode
    go to start>computer>open G or H drive
    just drag and drop apk file the phone
    then put phone in Charge Only or disconnect from pc
    on phone check allow unknown sources
    Menu > Settings > Applications > Unknown sources
    open phone's file manager app
    navigate to file with phone’s file manager, tap on it, select install
     
    J Pinkman likes this.
  12. themib

    themib Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    778
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011

    normally windows will install correct drivers automatically, if pc is connected to the internet
     
  13. themib

    themib Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    778
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011

  14. J Pinkman

    J Pinkman Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013

    Sep 29, 2013
    19
    0
    15
    Thanks for crawling me through it!
    I am on a funny little screen with green and white lettering and at the bottom it says "Backup Complete!"

    Just a stupid question...anything special to exit that screen?
     
  15. themib

    themib Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    778
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011

    may need to press power once to return to main menu
     
  16. J Pinkman

    J Pinkman Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013

    Sep 29, 2013
    19
    0
    15
    Yes,pressed power button,phone rebooted,everything good.

    Any advice for backing up everything else,and being able to restore them easily when I go for CM 10?
     
  17. themib

    themib Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    778
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011

    a. backup apps with titanium backup, or rom toolbox
    Open Titanium Backup and press the "Options" hard-key. Then press "Batch." Run the Backup all User Apps tool and wait for the process to complete.
    b. backup texts and call log with sms backup +
    c. verify that contacts are backed up/ synced
    d. Bookmark Backup Open "Backup Bookmarks" and backup your browser bookmarks.
     
    J Pinkman likes this.
  18. J Pinkman

    J Pinkman Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013

    Sep 29, 2013
    19
    0
    15
    thanks so much Themib,I plan to start a new thread shortly on how to upgrade to CM 10,now that I have the nandroid backup. I am backing up the rest right now.
     

Share This Page

Loading...