1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips Warning: Be careful with JuiceDefender

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by SquirrelNuts, Jan 1, 2012.

  1. SquirrelNuts

    SquirrelNuts Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    222
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011

    Dec 27, 2011
    222
    44
    43
    Male
    I.T.
    Florida
    I had an LG Esteem with CWM and PG's Kernel. Working flawless for a couple days, then I enabled JuiceDefender Ultimate and installed the AOSP helper. Couple hours latter, no 4G. Unlike others with the same issue, mine did not come back. Uninstalled JD, flashed nandroid backup, wiped everything imaginable, flashed to ZVB Stock ROM.... Nothing. Took to Metro, they screwed around with it and 4G would still not come back. Ended up getting a replacement, which now has reboot issue lol.

    I'm not an expert so I don't know for sure if it was JD, but I've seen a couple threads around the web, and I lost it after installing JD. Maybe the radio fried, who knows.

    So... just be careful...
     

    Advertisement

  2. Jeyd02

    Jeyd02 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,996
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011

    Nov 26, 2011
    1,996
    335
    163
    To help people, currently student
    US
    You could have follow my method to restore 4g.. there were no need to trade phones
     
  3. SquirrelNuts

    SquirrelNuts Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    222
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011

    Dec 27, 2011
    222
    44
    43
    Male
    I.T.
    Florida
    What's your method? Sorry, I didn't see it on another thread.
     
  4. danyvw

    danyvw Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    685
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010

    Dec 1, 2010
    685
    208
    93
    USA
  5. SquirrelNuts

    SquirrelNuts Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    222
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011

    Dec 27, 2011
    222
    44
    43
    Male
    I.T.
    Florida
    Forgot to mention I tried that. It hung on "loading settings" or something like that for 10+ minutes (maybe I didn't wait long enough?). All the LTE settings were blank like it couldn't read the radio.
     
  6. Jeyd02

    Jeyd02 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,996
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011

    Nov 26, 2011
    1,996
    335
    163
    To help people, currently student
    US

    It's not supposed to say loading settings. Try reinstalling any cut and then installing it again. make sure your select "activities" . And all the activities should appear. After it finish loading scroll down until you see lte configuration...
     
  7. starstress

    starstress Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    617
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    WOW. Now I'm scared but I've never had a problem with jd. Sometimes it's as simple as going into settings -wireless -mobile data and enabling it. I have had to do that b4
     
  8. redhook

    redhook Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    895
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    895
    142
    93
    Cameron Park
    Juice Defender will not break your phone. It's incapable of doing so and doesn't even have root access.
     
  9. SquirrelNuts

    SquirrelNuts Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    222
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011

    Dec 27, 2011
    222
    44
    43
    Male
    I.T.
    Florida
    JD Ultimate does have root access.

    I have a new phone, so i can't test the any cut again. Your right though, it just reboots. I tried some of the other LTE shortcuts after i still didn't have 4G, and that's were it just said loading settings and acted like i didn't have a 4G radio.

    If no one else has permanently lost 4G... Then maybe i'm just idiot : )

    Just trying to prevent someone else from reining their phone.
     
  10. nailzer

    nailzer Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    474
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011

    Sep 13, 2011
    474
    74
    73
    Machinist
    Central Florida
    Simply press menu>settings>wireless & networks>mobile networks>data enabled and make sure data enabled is checked. You'll get 4G back.
     
  11. redhook

    redhook Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    895
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    895
    142
    93
    Cameron Park
    How so? You do not need a rooted device to run it and it never asks for root access if your device is rooted.
     
  12. mario16

    mario16 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    414
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011

    Sep 12, 2011
    414
    43
    43
    Male
    Texas Instruments
    Dallas,Tx.
    I had that same problem before with juice defender so it might be that. It have something dealing with when you choose juice defender to switch between 2g 3g or 4g but I just installed the lte and change it from cmda back to lte evdo cdma and it fix the 4g problem
     
  13. SquirrelNuts

    SquirrelNuts Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    222
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011

    Dec 27, 2011
    222
    44
    43
    Male
    I.T.
    Florida

    That's the same option i tried to use. I'm not sure what you mean by "installed the LTE", but that doesn't sound like something i tried.
     
  14. SquirrelNuts

    SquirrelNuts Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    222
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011

    Dec 27, 2011
    222
    44
    43
    Male
    I.T.
    Florida

    Really dude?
     
  15. nailzer

    nailzer Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    474
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011

    Sep 13, 2011
    474
    74
    73
    Machinist
    Central Florida
    Really.
     
  16. SquirrelNuts

    SquirrelNuts Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    222
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011

    Dec 27, 2011
    222
    44
    43
    Male
    I.T.
    Florida
    Lol, thanks.
     
  17. mario16

    mario16 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    414
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011

    Sep 12, 2011
    414
    43
    43
    Male
    Texas Instruments
    Dallas,Tx.

    Its an app on the market one of them don't work but thunderbolt lte does just scroll down to the bottom and you will see an option to change between three or four different options so if it happen to you again try that or send me a message
     
  18. SquirrelNuts

    SquirrelNuts Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    222
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011

    Dec 27, 2011
    222
    44
    43
    Male
    I.T.
    Florida

    Hopefully it doesn't, but thanks man, i appreciate it.
     
  19. SquirrelNuts

    SquirrelNuts Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    222
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011

    Dec 27, 2011
    222
    44
    43
    Male
    I.T.
    Florida

    SON OF A @#$&!!!!! That was my issue! When i look at my settings, i see LTE. On the phone i returned, i remember it saying CDMA blah blah. Now i'm suck with this freaking reboot machine.

    I still don't understand how data reset, clear cache, and flashing a backup didn't change it back. I'm so pissed i didn't find this app before (its called LTE On/Off). Thanks dude, your a genius....
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...