1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips WARNING! - Do NOT *228

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by DanDroide, Sep 12, 2011.

  1. DanDroide

    DanDroide Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #173
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    579
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    I was just speaking to Verizon Technical Support and "out of curiosity" I asked if *228 would work on the Bionic, should I be traveling and want to update cell towers.

    She said *228 would FRY OUR SIM CARDS...Don't do it!

    She said if we need to update, power off, do a battery pull & wait 30 seconds and that would do it.

    Just passing it along :)
     

    Advertisement

    YankeeDudeL, elcameano, ORD84 and 2 others like this.
  2. murth

    murth Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011

    Jul 26, 2011
    63
    25
    43
    the phone is also aware of this and does not allow it to be done. The Bionic does rule all machines after all.
     
    YankeeDudeL, jroc, Duckster and 3 others like this.
  3. DanDroide

    DanDroide Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #173
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    579
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Well atleast I learned that we can UPDATE by doing a battery pull :)
     
    YankeeDudeL, jroc and Vehtemas like this.
  4. sean76

    sean76 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,460
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    4,460
    779
    213
    THE BOSS
    NYC
    phone is smarter then we are! Won't allow it.
     
    YankeeDudeL, Duckster and Vehtemas like this.
  5. Vehtemas

    Vehtemas Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    946
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    946
    146
    93
    Territory Manager
    It also closed out an app that was using too much memory. I downloaded an application and about 30 minutes later I get a notification saying "X app is using excessive memory, closing. Please email creator to see if there is a malfunction".

    I was literally stunned...
     
    YankeeDudeL, ORD84 and DanDroide like this.
  6. sean76

    sean76 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,460
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    4,460
    779
    213
    THE BOSS
    NYC

    Now if only it could iron my clothes for me...id be set...lol
     
  7. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,478
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010



    [​IMG]


    (actually, this time it's probably a good thing)
     
    YankeeDudeL and tehsusenoh like this.
  8. marine one

    marine one Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009

    Dec 22, 2009
    233
    61
    73
    Male
    North Topsail Beach, NC
    Mine just got me a beer!
     
  9. Nuar

    Nuar Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010

    Sep 16, 2010
    71
    5
    16
    I tried the *228 on my phone on the 2nd day of owning it :p
     
    DanDroide likes this.
  10. Vihzel

    Vihzel Destroying Balls Everyday
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    5,364
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    5,364
    1,055
    333
    NYU Student & Real Estate Agent
    Manhattan, NY
    My phone is self aware?... MUST DESTROY PHONE! *SMASH* *SMASH*

    ...DROOOOOOID...

    *runs away like a girl*
     
  11. tehsusenoh

    tehsusenoh Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    929
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011

    Jun 17, 2011
    929
    385
    133
    Student
    127.0.0.1
    Man, the stock Bionic sounds?

    ALL IT DID WAS DROID AT ME

    DROOOOOOID.
     
  12. YankeeDudeL

    YankeeDudeL Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,170
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009

    Oct 25, 2009
    2,170
    516
    213
    Male
    Wireless Sales Manager
    Just do what M1 did..text your wife...haha

    I've been using that sound since I first got my OG. Love it. Let's everyone know who rules all machines. lol
     
  13. Vehtemas

    Vehtemas Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    946
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    946
    146
    93
    Territory Manager
    I was stunned when a call came in: "DROID DROID DROID DROID DROID DROID" hahahahahaha
     
  14. rushmore

    rushmore Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,267
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008

    Nov 13, 2008
    8,267
    1,355
    323
    Kentucky
    Where does it say in the users manual not to use *228?

    Not seeing how it would fry a sim card. Seems erroneous info from CS.
     
  15. thatguy188

    thatguy188 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    295
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011

    Aug 12, 2011
    295
    59
    73
    South Carolina
    After reading this, I felt the sudden urge of trying it, but then after reading the OP, I said nahhhh.

    I love it! DROOOOOOOOOID.

    I was actually thinking of using the Nextel sound as a Notification Tone just to drive my wife crazy (she is on nextel all day at work), but she woulda kicked my !@#$
     
  16. YankeeDudeL

    YankeeDudeL Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,170
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009

    Oct 25, 2009
    2,170
    516
    213
    Male
    Wireless Sales Manager
    Actually, it is true. A Verizon 4G phone has to be fully activated in the system before we can add the SIM card otherwise that card is no longer usable. I *think* what happens is if you activate the phone, and put the SIM card in before it's in the system that it registers it, but then when it's activated in the system it deactivates that card.

    I assume that doing *228 would do something similar. I'm sure this is due to the fact that this is new tech for Big Red. I'm not exactly sure why this is, but I'll look into it to see if I can get a straight answer. There's only 4 of us at our kiosk and none of us actually work for Verizon, so we don't always have ready access to all information. We just know what we can or cannot do. lol
     
  17. rushmore

    rushmore Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,267
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008

    Nov 13, 2008
    8,267
    1,355
    323
    Kentucky
    This would then seem silly to have the sim card in the device by default. It should be packed seperate and have a warning on the sim package, since people by habit use the *228.

    Seems you can not win, since activating the sim card and using is VERY expensive and the cheaper option of using a SIM card from the country you are in usually takes a few days and is problematic when it is active.

    I miss the innocent days of Tmo and my N-Gage and Dash. Never had any issue using them in England and would simply turn the phone back on once landed at Gatwick or Heathrow. Never had a call, data or text issue- ever.

    Only in England two weeks a year, so no point in keeping Tmo for two weeks. Using Android also is a $big$ issue too, when not in the US.
     
  18. YankeeDudeL

    YankeeDudeL Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,170
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009

    Oct 25, 2009
    2,170
    516
    213
    Male
    Wireless Sales Manager
    I'm not sure how they're packaged from the corporate store, but they do not come with the SIM cards at Costco. We have a small storage of SIM cards that are separate from the phones that we activate for the customer to avoid this dilemma. Though I imagine if you ordered one online, it would have to come with a SIM card.

    Now, AT&T and T-Mobile phones come with SIM cards in the box. Thing is, 7 times out of 10 you don't even use them because the customer is going to use their previous one. They also don't have the same issue that LTE has, though.
     

Share This Page

Loading...