1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips Warning! Do not try the mobile hotspot

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ccretur, May 20, 2012.

  1. ccretur

    ccretur Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    8
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    May 16, 2011
    8
    11
    8
    FWIW-If you try to access the mobile hotspot with a widget or whatever, you will lose mobile data access. The phone then has to be reset by VM CS (factory reset will not fix the issue). I just got off the phone with them (almost 2 hours) and got mine back to a new state, just like it came from the store. Activated again and back in business.
     

    Advertisement

  2. axelxbc

    axelxbc Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    May 11, 2012

    May 11, 2012
    73
    19
    18
    Wow! Same exact thing happened to me. Except the 3 reps I talked to on different phone calls could not figure out what was wrong! Instead they sent me a brand new phone. My "Quick Settings" App was the one that broke my data, So everyone be careful.
     
  3. bobloadmire

    bobloadmire Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    401
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011

    Jul 18, 2011
    401
    124
    68

    so Virgin fixed mine over the phone. The fix is dialing ##786# then entering your (what I believe is) MSL code. Mine was 222128, but i don't think it will work for other phones. Then clicking restore.
     
    GJTRUEFAITH and thundershower like this.
  4. axelxbc

    axelxbc Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    May 11, 2012

    May 11, 2012
    73
    19
    18
    Really wish they would of took me through those steps. I did get lucky tho and Virgin Mobile sent me a totally brand new unopened box. Called to make sure I heard the lady correctly over the phone the previous time when they set up the exchange, and they did in fact tell me to only send back the shell of the phone. Free Charger, USB cable, and Battery!
     
    bobloadmire likes this.
  5. bobloadmire

    bobloadmire Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    401
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011

    Jul 18, 2011
    401
    124
    68
    nice, i'm sure they don't have refurbs yet.
     
  6. 350X

    350X Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,302
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012

    you guys should work with the guy who makes FoxFi and help him find a work around.
     
  7. Petrah

    Petrah Psychotic Female
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,086
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011

    Jun 13, 2011
    4,086
    1,468
    333
    Female
    Annoying my X-Husband
    Hanover Park, IL
  8. TacoBallZ

    TacoBallZ Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009

    Feb 14, 2009
    3
    0
    5
    I unfortunately found this thread too late! Grrr!! So I've tried calling Virgin Mobile several times and I have been promised a call back from their Engineering Dept in 24-28 hours "Rapid" response team. I guess is that what is the magic words I need to use with Support Calls that gets me to the right person who can give me my MSL. All the 2nd level techs I've spoke to said they can not provide me my MSL.
     
  9. mw6sense

    mw6sense Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 22, 2012

    May 22, 2012
    2
    1
    6
    I found a website that lets me generate my MSL. Now, could you please tell me the rest of the steps to reset my phone so I can get back my data service? Thanks!
     
  10. MacFett

    MacFett Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    3,236
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    3,236
    740
    223
    Male
    Worshipping Cthulhu
    Sietch Tabr
    What is the website for the MSL?

    And if you watch the video NNF linked she walks you through the steps.
     
  11. mw6sense

    mw6sense Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 22, 2012

    May 22, 2012
    2
    1
    6
    Google whiterabbit. But I don't know the steps to reset so I have not verified that my MSL # is working yet.
     
    MacFett likes this.
  12. 350X

    350X Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,302
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012

  13. WhisperPntr

    WhisperPntr Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011

    Jul 28, 2011
    107
    92
    53
    is the generated msl working for others? It is not working in my case
     
  14. TacoBallZ

    TacoBallZ Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009

    Feb 14, 2009
    3
    0
    5
    No luck here. I though I would have better chance getting the BBuy cell rep to ask for my MSL from VMo but apparently it would be easier to obtain state secrets than than the MSL for a 130$ phone :(
    I was told the VMo may have a fix but I will have to wait another day until they call me back on my work #

    Update: I tried BBuy again and luckily they had 1 last Elite left in the back storage room. It took some wrangling but they exchanged phones and I am still a very happy Optimus Elite owner
     
  15. WhisperPntr

    WhisperPntr Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011

    Jul 28, 2011
    107
    92
    53
    Glad it worked out for you taco. same thing happened to me as well and best buy in the end exchanged it.

    Devs should take a gander at the logcat messages from those willing to part with it. It may hopefully divulge more informaiton.
     
  16. demo3827

    demo3827 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012

    Feb 2, 2012
    5
    0
    5
    i call to VM today and the first person said that he dont know what i was talking about and them that they dont have that code and bla bla bla and i ask talk to the manager and i tell him that i just need the MSL cuz i want fix my phone and he say sorry and more sorry cuz the first person dont give me the code but they dont know cuz is new and ect lol but i dont know if my ADW launcher or Advance T Killer or Fancy widget or something is make me get error 104
     
  17. WhisperPntr

    WhisperPntr Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011

    Jul 28, 2011
    107
    92
    53
    The less you talk about MSL and the more you play dumb the better your chances of getting the reset when an engineer reaches you. That said many of us, myself included did NOT try to get the wifi hotspot enabled and instead was blocked when a feature in the app triggered the flag. Therefore if you just say that the data suddenly stopped working after you got all your apps installed you should get someone to reply to you in 3 days. Otherwise just get an exchange at either radioshack or best buy if you're within 30 days.
     
  18. kakapopo

    kakapopo Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012

    Jan 15, 2012
    59
    6
    16
    Deos USB tethering work?
     
  19. bobloadmire

    bobloadmire Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    401
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011

    Jul 18, 2011
    401
    124
    68
    So today i installed juice defender. Got my first error 67 after ownung the phone for 5 days. Funny thing is that i got the error once and it hasn't come back. Weird
     
  20. WhisperPntr

    WhisperPntr Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011

    Jul 28, 2011
    107
    92
    53
    I'd wait for data to work for a dev before trying it. But those who have tried foxfi and the like have stated that the flag is still turned on.
     
  21. Testshoot

    Testshoot Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011

    Mar 12, 2011
    55
    5
    16
    Minnesnowta
    Yes but, now someone else can't have one that could have bought that one. :(
     
  22. Android311

    Android311 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    275
    Joined:
    May 30, 2012

    May 30, 2012
    275
    36
    43
    Bus Boy/Table Set Up
    California
    Thanks for the info!
     
  23. ScottColbert

    ScottColbert Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #394
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    164
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011

    Also got this error tonight without any wifi hotspot or juice defender installed. I had connected my phone to my PC and was making a copy/paste of files from my phone to desktop. Once I finished that, I started getting the message. It was too late to call VM (after midnight when I did it), so I sent an email and will call in the morning as well.
     
  24. WhisperPntr

    WhisperPntr Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011

    Jul 28, 2011
    107
    92
    53
    ScottColbert likes this.
  25. ScottColbert

    ScottColbert Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #394
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    164
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011

Share This Page

Loading...