1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

[Warning] Sprint Official 2.1 RUU

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ccapasso, Jun 4, 2010.

  1. ccapasso

    ccapasso Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,127
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    1,127
    278
    163
    Just a heads up. It looks like even though 2.1 was rooted for the Hero, Sprint has now made a patch. Not only is there an OTA update that breaks the root, but apparently Sprint is pulling a sneaky one; They went and updated the RUU on the download page, but did not change the name of it. The old RUU for 2.1 was version 2.27.651.5. When downloaded the new RUU from Sprint is 2.27.651.6, which root is patched.
     

    Advertisement

    nevergonnauseth likes this.
  2. chinkster

    chinkster Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    316
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    Feb 7, 2010
    316
    11
    38
    SF
    i am rooted with fresh 2.1.2 already. how do i disable updates? dont want to wake up one morning and find out my phone has been updated.
     
  3. ccapasso

    ccapasso Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,127
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    1,127
    278
    163
    You came from 1.5 right? I think you should be ok. If for whatever reason you got prompted for a System Update, just don't do it :).
     
  4. NotSure

    NotSure Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    20
    0
    15
    Morehead City, NC
    That is sneaky, I downloaded the .5 version earlier today, when I looked back now I saw the file is .6
     
  5. chinkster

    chinkster Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    316
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    Feb 7, 2010
    316
    11
    38
    SF
    ya i came from 1.5. where would one find the original official 2.1 .5 update from now that sprint has put .6 up on their website?
     
  6. ccapasso

    ccapasso Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,127
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    1,127
    278
    163
    There is a link I found over on xda, don't have it handy at this very second. You shouldn't need it anyways as you are already rooted :)
     
  7. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    Stickied

    FWIW, the OTA update is rumored to patch serious security risks with 2.1. It appears as though closing root was a result.
     
  8. simkin101

    simkin101 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    9
    1
    6
    I've got the .5 loaded on my Hero. I just went into SETTINGS-->About-->System updates-->HTC Update and noticed that there is a setting to turn off auto-updates. It seems that this will make the OTA (over the air) update stop.

    Just thought I'd give you a heads up!
     
    krozetp likes this.
  9. thefley

    thefley Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #340
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    346
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009

    Oct 19, 2009
    346
    26
    63
    Oklahoma
    thanks for the post, I was planing on rooting this week and I saw the update and checked this site first, I am glad I did and I turned off the auto update. and I still have the .5 2.1

    now where to start rooting?????????
     
  10. ccapasso

    ccapasso Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,127
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    1,127
    278
    163
    thefley likes this.
  11. thefley

    thefley Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #340
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    346
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009

    Oct 19, 2009
    346
    26
    63
    Oklahoma
    you all are the best!!! thx
     
  12. shamrock11

    shamrock11 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009

    Dec 23, 2009
    31
    0
    15
    I rooted, but my phone messed up in the process so I figured out how to unroot with the new OTA update. Now, I'm having the same problems before I rooted, LAG! The reason I unrooted is because after flashing Fresh 2.1.2, my phone still lagged and the startup took 10x longer. I HATED THE DANCING ROBOT AND COULD NOT FLASH ANOTHER BOOT IMAGE. My question is, is there a way to go back to the old RUU and root again? Also, is there a way to flash the Nexus One boot logo/image after I root? If so, please tell me how to do it. Thank you.
     
  13. msierra519

    msierra519 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    261
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010

    Mar 9, 2010
    261
    10
    58
    IT Security
    South Florida
    what version are you currently running? if you updated to the new sprint release with the root patch then you cant root.
     
  14. coolwhiz

    coolwhiz Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    I just got a new Sprint phone, its set of auto-update and as I see now, it runs 2.27.651.6

    Does this mean that I can never root my phone and I will be stuck with 2.1 Android? One reason I want to root is to install Froyo. I am new to Android but I am a java dev. with some knowledge of the SDK.

    Any help appreciated.
     
  15. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,869
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009

    Oct 27, 2009
    1,869
    267
    173
    Florida
    You should be able to root, if you run the ruu the original Sprint 2.1 release, that should be available if you search this forum or xda...

    Here--> post #127 http://androidforums.com/sprint-htc...tc-hero-2-1-update-now-5-19-sprint-com-3.html
     
    coolwhiz likes this.
  16. Cstevens

    Cstevens Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    9
    0
    25
    Computer tech
    Colorado
    Well bummer Deal I just checked my software version and its the 2.27.651.6

    So you can flash backwards to a older/different version of 2.1? Is that what im understanding your saying?

    Really want to root my phone. Or will someone most likely get around this patch?
     
  17. ccapasso

    ccapasso Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,127
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    1,127
    278
    163
    This has been fixed now, sort of. You can run the old 2.1 RUU (the .5 version) and then you can root your phone. Read the 2.1 thread for more info/links.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...