1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips Warning! Voicemail doom!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mastersoup, Jun 8, 2012.

  1. mastersoup

    mastersoup Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    369
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011

    Dec 17, 2011
    369
    54
    53
    if you get an evo v 4g, make sure you dont have any new voicemails stored before you switch.

    YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!




    actually what happens is you get stuck because your voicemail switches over to the sprint voicemail, and any messages in your old voicemail still pop up in your notification bar and cannot be removed. if you access your voicemail, you hear no new messages and your visual voicemail will be blank also. if you do what some of you are thinking, and that is leave yourself a voicemail and go check it, you end up with 2 identical messages saying you have 1 new voicemail. when you check it, one of them is removed.

    your only hope is to have virgin mobile reset your old voicemail. sounds easy, but after like 20 min on the phone, they concluded their systems are down and now im stuck with a ticket number and a voicemail icon that will drive me ****ing insane.


    good phone though
     

    Advertisement

    tbeilfuss, w0rd, nnickn and 1 other person like this.
  2. voxibanez

    voxibanez Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012

    Mar 5, 2012
    128
    33
    43
    OMG SAME THING HAPPENED TO ME!!! I hate it so much I have to missed voicemails and it won't go away! Im calling Virgin Mobile tomorrow
     
  3. mastersoup

    mastersoup Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    369
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011

    Dec 17, 2011
    369
    54
    53
    we will make it through this, together. also, dont even bother listening to whoever answers the phone. they will basically try and troubleshoot you through shit that doesnt exist because they think youre still using a different voicemail system.
     
  4. G19

    G19 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    648
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011

    Sep 17, 2011
    648
    102
    93
    Many of us have this problem. It's frustrating.
     
  5. DanielM426

    DanielM426 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    408
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012

    Jun 2, 2012
    408
    46
    43
    Central TX
    Thanks for the heads up OP! :) I think it would be a good idea to just delete any existing voice messages that you have. Just to be safe.
     
  6. GreyCelt

    GreyCelt Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    211
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011

    Nov 11, 2011
    211
    46
    43
    Emergency Dept. Registered Nurse for the Vetrans A
    Portland, OR
    UG! What's frustrating is I knew about this and I made sure I didn't have any voice mails but I turned off both phones to do the activation and someone called and left a voice mail when I was in the middle of the activation process! What are the odds that would happen?
     
  7. mastersoup

    mastersoup Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    369
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011

    Dec 17, 2011
    369
    54
    53
    Better than I thought lol. A temporary fix is to clear data on the phone app and it'll disappear. Unfortunately mine kept reappearing til they finally cleared my old voicemail. I'm now free. It feels like I had herpes and I'm finally cured.
     
  8. xploPR

    xploPR Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    823
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012

    Mar 12, 2012
    823
    167
    93
    Richmond, VA.
    same thing happend to me, i still havent figured out how to fix it.
     
  9. G19

    G19 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    648
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011

    Sep 17, 2011
    648
    102
    93
    I just called and supposedly they reset my voice mail. I'll know by the end if today if it actually worked
     
  10. Etegral

    Etegral Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    37
    3
    16
    Is it possible to get switched back to the old voicemail system if we want to hear the old voicemails still, or is the only option to clear them?
     
  11. G19

    G19 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    648
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011

    Sep 17, 2011
    648
    102
    93
    Didn't work. I just got the voicemail notification. Guess I'll try again tomorrow
     
  12. mastersoup

    mastersoup Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    369
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011

    Dec 17, 2011
    369
    54
    53
    They said they were having iissues yesterday maybe it's continued. However when I called back they had reset my VM, at that point I cleared dara on the phone app one more time and it's stayed gone.

    So yeah after they say it's cleared, then clear data on "phone"
     
  13. G19

    G19 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    648
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011

    Sep 17, 2011
    648
    102
    93
    Just gave that a shot. Ty
     
  14. G19

    G19 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    648
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011

    Sep 17, 2011
    648
    102
    93
    Lol... It's already reappeared. I wonder I'd my only option is going to be reactivating the old phone just to clear the messages
     
  15. thebryceee

    thebryceee Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,245
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012

    Feb 28, 2012
    2,245
    233
    143
    Male
    My vm doesn't even work. It gets a busy signal and when I call it from my phone, there's a weird chime that plays.
     
  16. MT Rotor

    MT Rotor Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    462
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011

    Mar 8, 2011
    462
    45
    63
    Only other option would be to get a new #, im still getting the notification after they said they reset my voicemail...I'm getting pissed
     
  17. w0rd

    w0rd Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    102
    15
    38
    FL, USA
    Can you only do one ESN swap per day? I was going to try to go back to my old phone, but it won't let me swap it back.
     
  18. w0rd

    w0rd Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    102
    15
    38
    FL, USA
    Switching back to the old phone doesn't work. I am still on the new voicemail system.

    What triggered the voicemail switch? Was it all people on the $25/month plan?
     
  19. MT Rotor

    MT Rotor Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    462
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011

    Mar 8, 2011
    462
    45
    63
    I'm still getting the voicemail notification BS...

    This needs a fix ASAP
     
  20. mastersoup

    mastersoup Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    369
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011

    Dec 17, 2011
    369
    54
    53
    the first chick i talked to said that she wiped my voicemail, and when that didnt work i made her transfer me to actual tech support. the actual tech support guy wasnt able to reset my voicemail due to some error on his end. i think maybe the first person that answered reset the password and not the actual voicemail (if thats even possible) or something. the actual tech support guy gave me a ticket number and said when the error is gone he will wipe the old voicemail. about 2 hours later i cleared data, and noticed it didnt come back. i called and asked about the ticket and the person that answered said it was done. currently im still voicemail free.

    if it helps i told the guy what i believed the problem was, something along the lines of...

    i just switched from the triumph to the evo, it made me switch to the sprint voicemail system but im still getting a message from the virgin mobile voicemail system that i can no longer access.

    the guy was pretty decent, he is like yeah it seems to be the problem, and its confused. sounded like he had seen it before, so my suggestion is dont do anything drastic, and just make sure you get a proper techy not some random person answering phones.

    it was the evo, i was on the 35 plan already. the evo v im guessing is showing up as an actual sprint phone, so youre getting sprints voicemail rather than virgins.



    if they make you troubleshoot anything, tell them to f themselves. there is nothing you can do on your end except for clearing data after it is all done.
     
    w0rd likes this.
  21. w0rd

    w0rd Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    102
    15
    38
    FL, USA
    Yes! Just got off the phone with tech support. Seems like they were able to resolve it somehow. My guy didn't know much about it, but he contacted another person (level 3?) and now it's fixed.

    I would do exactly what mastersoup said.
     
  22. motoracer1486

    motoracer1486 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    301
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010

    Jul 5, 2010
    301
    29
    43
    Add another phantom voicemail victim. I currently have a ticket in for escalated support and am waiting for a response.
     
  23. metal571

    metal571 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    517
    Joined:
    May 8, 2012

    May 8, 2012
    517
    74
    98
    Graduate Student
    Philadelphia, PA
    I had this issue. It took me 3 calls on different days before the tech support guy actually issued a true reset of my voicemail, and now it works fine. I had the busy signal issue also. It IS fixable, just keep bugging them and go straight up to their technical support people each time you call them, and eventually one of them will actually reset your voicemail properly.
     
  24. Randy234

    Randy234 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012

    Jun 12, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    I transferred from Triumph to Evo last Wednesday 6/6. I could not access Voicemail for 24 hours. Had the busy tones thing. That got fixed on 6/7. I have however had the voicemail notification now for 6 days. I spent 3 hours on the phone with them on 6/6 and another 3 hours on 6/7. Then on 6/8 I was literally on the phone with the Social Networking/Executive escalation department from 8am-3pm (7 hours) with only a few short 20 minute intervals when they were going to call me back. Then Spent 3 plus more hours today and still no luck..They escalated the issue on Friday to a department called NOBS or something like that. Told me it would take 24-72 hours. As of today I found out they incorrectly escalated it so they got an erroneous answer and they had to freaking do it again. I might get an answer tomorrow. In the meantime I spoke to a level 3 tech that had no idea there were 2 voicemail systems. So he spoke to a couple of other areas. He had me do yet another factory data reset. (3rd in a week) still not fixed other than now I have to re-load and customize all my apps again. More than one person said I should return the phone for a replacement. I can do that but I know good and well it is not the handset. I have missed client appointments due to being on the phone with them, I took the afternoon off today because we were supposed to be able to fix it. I even sent them this thread. This is insane! I told them if it is not fixed by tomorrow then I will port to another carrier and if the port goes through before they fix the issue the new carriers wins! I really do not want to because the phone works good besides the stupid voicemail notification. I just can't believe how F'd up they are. I feel sorry for all the people that decide to get an iPhone thru Virgin when they get them later this month. Guarantee Virgin really messes that up. And an iPhone 4s thru Virgin is going to retail for $649.
     
  25. peril99

    peril99 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012

    Jun 14, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    I just opened up a trouble ticket after waiting on the phone for almost an hour trying to explain the problem - my trouble ticket number is ... 3-501174-886741. If they get this fixed, I would use this trouble ticket as a model of your issue (b/c the things that takes forever is the tech working with the vmail l3 folks, and running thru the basics.)

    --Adrian
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...