Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by fapman, Jun 13, 2010.
Normally when i update my rom it deletes everything but not this time. Did i do something wrong?
if you just flashed 2.1.2 over 2.0d or 2.1.1 i dont think it will delete anything. you need to WIPE if you want to delete everything and have a fresh start.
What is the advantage of wiping and having a fresh start? Updating over my 2.0d sounds much more simple. Is there any drawback to not wiping?
I'd like to know the answer to this question.
The advantage to wiping is to have a clean start. Fresh ROMs don't need be wiped if you are applying them on top of a previous Fresh ROM. Others may vary. Some others require a wipe to work correctly as it gets rid of lingering code that may cause problems.