1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Was there ever a fix for dropped 3G?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bigbadwulff, May 25, 2011.

  1. bigbadwulff

    bigbadwulff Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,442
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010

    Jun 15, 2010
    2,442
    200
    143
    My phone is dropping 3G all the time now(never did it before when others complained about it). I do *228(1 and 2) regularly.
    I wonder if it's associated with Verizon switching over to 4G and the signal being tested and interrupted locally?

    On stock Froyo, rooted.

    West Tn.
     

    Advertisement

  2. DenverCZBob

    DenverCZBob Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010

    Nov 17, 2010
    83
    8
    16
    I have had the same issue since going to GB.

    -bob
     
  3. Darkfyre97

    Darkfyre97 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    28
    0
    15
    Access Administrator
    Knoxville, TN
    I actually just called Verizon about that this morning. Dude seemed surprised when he pulled my data logs and noticed how often my signal flucuates considering how many towers were around the areas I frequent. He submitted a ticket, for what thats worth, but I don't really expect a lot to come of it. If they've got my software version on record, I'm on the newest GB leak, so I'm sure they'll blame it on that, but its been going on long before I installed GB...course, my wife's OG Droid is stock unrooted 2.2 and its doing the exact same thing.

    As of the last 3 nights, my phone (Droid X) as well as my wife's (OG Droid) have both completely lost data connections around 12:30AM EST. Its the weirdest thing. No normal fixes worked. Tried a battery pull on both, airplane mode on both, and updating the PRLs and even a reactivation on mine and just had to wait it out. Came back after about 45 minutes.
     
  4. Metfanant

    Metfanant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,450
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    2,450
    412
    163
    frankly if you're running any of the GB leaks there is very little you can complain to VZW about...they are not obligated to even supply you with support...
     
  5. quickaudi

    quickaudi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    3,106
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    3,106
    416
    273
    TN
    well, VZW isn't switching over to 4G and getting rid of 3G any time soon, so I don't see how that would affect your signal.
     
  6. bigbadwulff

    bigbadwulff Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,442
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010

    Jun 15, 2010
    2,442
    200
    143
    That was just a hunch at best.
     
  7. quickaudi

    quickaudi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    3,106
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    3,106
    416
    273
    TN
    fwiw, since you and I are supposedly in the same area, i haven't had any issues with signal, but I haven't been on stock ROM since January (not that it matters...) and am on GB .595 right now
     
  8. urphonesux

    urphonesux Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010

    Nov 2, 2010
    23
    6
    16
    Yes OP what rom and kernal number are you running on your DX?
     
  9. nj02vette

    nj02vette Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,346
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    2,346
    2,034
    313
    Male
    Marlton, NJ
    If both you and your wife's phone dropped out, why on the world would you think a battery pull would fix it.

    You either have a Verizon issue with blackouts and dropping signals, cell oversaturation in the area, or some interference causing dropped reception.

    But one thing is certain, if both phones have issues at the exact same time, it's not the phones. Good that you submitted a ticket, though.
     
  10. bigbadwulff

    bigbadwulff Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,442
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010

    Jun 15, 2010
    2,442
    200
    143
    OTA Froyo 2.3.340.MMB810.Version.en.US

    2.6.32.9-g55626e1
    w30471@il93lnxdroid08#1


    To be exact :)
     
  11. sharpgator

    sharpgator Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    49
    5
    16
    I used to have the same problem on my DX and it did not seem to matter whether I was on Froyo or GB. I recently got a DX2 and this is absolutely NOT an issue at all. The operating system on the DX2 is still Froyo, but appears almost identical to the leaked version of GB (.588) that I was running. So, I think it might be a hardware issue. I will be upgrading my DX on Friday, so I will see if it makes a difference.
     

Share This Page

Loading...