1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Watching HD Videos?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Palomino, Jun 16, 2010.

  1. Palomino

    Palomino Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    115
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    115
    2
    36
    So, I dont know if im looking in the right place but I've been trying to watch Highquality videos on this thing, "HD" or what not and I cant find any. I search through the youtube app and search for random crap in HD but when I watch a video it comes out to be all grainy and crap. Is that what its suppose to look like? I was expecting something different.
     

    Advertisement

  2. ekt8750

    ekt8750 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    449
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    449
    133
    68
    PA
    You have to find native HD video. You can't watch video that's natively crap and expect it to be HD.
     
  3. Palomino

    Palomino Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    115
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    115
    2
    36
    Well everything I find says HD, TRUE HD, 1080P, HIGH QUALITY etc..
     
  4. pwnst*r

    pwnst*r Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    912
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    912
    206
    113
    What do you expect a user to do when on youtube it says HD in the player?
     
  5. choij2000

    choij2000 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    push the hq button in the lower right corner.
     
  6. ekt8750

    ekt8750 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    449
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    449
    133
    68
    PA
    That's actually HQ (which isn't the same as HD). That's actually a toggle button that switches between HQ/HD (depending on the video) and standard quality. If it is enabled it'll show as red. If not it's gray. Also it is only automatically enabled if you are on 4G or wifi. If you're on 3G you have to enable it yourself and wait for load times.
     
  7. skpd

    skpd Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    321
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    321
    84
    53
    last night I converted "The Book Of Eli" from and .mlv/720p/30fps/10Mbps to an .mp4/720p/2Mbps and it plays beautifully on the EVO.

    I am experimenting to see how high I could go with the Mbps
     
  8. evotitans

    evotitans Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    447
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    447
    121
    68
    Male
    Telecommunications
    NJ/Philly

    +1 Did the same exact thing.....and it looks incredible.
     
  9. Palomino

    Palomino Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    115
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    115
    2
    36
    Well Im sure if you put high def movies on it, it will come out beautifully, but im just curious about watching them in high def through streaming.

    Oh and yes I know about the HQ button which is clearly at the bottom right, and it doesnt make anything look any better.
     
  10. Vincent Law

    Vincent Law Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    396
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    396
    64
    53
    The HQ button does indeed make it look better, but it is NOT HD.

    The HQ button is basically like setting the video to 480p on the PC. Otherwise it plays the 360p version.

    If you want proper 720p HD video, you will have to either find a stream yourself (highly unlikely) or convert a movie and put it on the phone.
     
  11. colivare

    colivare Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    this is my very first thread! bought an evo. tried to download movie via handbrake with settings from previous links. audio plays but no screen.I tried different settings but does not work. does the phone have to be rooted in order to play the movie?
     
  12. Palomino

    Palomino Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    115
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    115
    2
    36
    Sucks.... 480p does not come out at all with streaming vids on anything... I am sad... guess I will just have to put movies on it and pretend I'm streaming live! lol
     
  13. sitlet

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    5,867
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    5,867
    633
    213
    No it does not have to be rooted. What settings are you using in handbrake? I also found that the file cannot be over 2gb. If it is, you need to split it.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...