1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Way to prevent only mobile site from coming up?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by durangojim, Sep 9, 2010.

  1. durangojim

    durangojim Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    491
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    491
    470
    88
    On my Dinc, you could choose in settings if you wanted the mobile site to come up automatically or not. Any way to do this on the fascinate?
     

    Advertisement

  2. seanatsb

    seanatsb Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    123
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010

    Sep 7, 2010
    123
    25
    43
    Don't know, and am curious to know also.
    I saw that as another downside to the fascinate today when I went to the store to look at it. The verizon rep, didn't know anything, and said maybe that's all the samsung's browser will do. Pretty stupid if that's the case. I went into settings and could not find anything in there on how to change it.

    Would downloading another browser like Opera correct this problem?
     
  3. burningembers

    burningembers Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    331
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    331
    26
    43
    Software Engineer
    Portland, OR
    Opera Mini has a setting for mobile or non-mobile. But it seems to render differently than the pre-packaged Browser for my HTC Incredible, so I only use it in certain situations.

    Short answer, yea, it will give you the option of a non-mobile view...but it does seem to have an overall different view than the default in general.
     
    seanatsb likes this.
  4. gwlaw99

    gwlaw99 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,030
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    1,030
    53
    128
    Dolphin browser has a setting for this.
     
  5. apinkel

    apinkel Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    404
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010

    Jun 14, 2010
    404
    99
    53
  6. avhokie

    avhokie Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010

    Feb 17, 2010
    47
    1
    36
    This is ridiculous. Why would develop a phone like the Fascinate and then limit it to mobile view??? :(
     
  7. laufu

    laufu Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010

    Sep 3, 2010
    17
    1
    16

    Any Fascinate owners tried this yet?

    This trick use to work on my HTC G1, but when I tried this on my Vibrant, it would cause the browser to force close. I could not restart the browser until I go into Managa Applications and click "Clear data" from the Web app.

    I assume we have the same browser right?
     
  8. pool_shark

    pool_shark Android Expert
    Rank:
     #81
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    2,509
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    2,509
    566
    343
    Male
    Enterprise Server Engineer
    Ohio
    It isn't just the fascinate, the D2 also does that. Just download Dolphin browser HD, it's free, allows full websites and tabs.

    You can also try typing about:debug in the default browser to see if it unlocks new settings.
     
  9. dheymann

    dheymann Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011

    Aug 10, 2011
    65
    3
    16
    I can't find the setting in Dolphin HD browser to request non-mobile websites. Does anyone know where it is and how it works?
     

Share This Page

Loading...