1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Weak 3G Signal with Nexus One

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by StarMenace, Apr 8, 2010.

  1. StarMenace

    StarMenace Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    290
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    290
    18
    58
    i've noticed with the Nexus One that I have a weaker 3G signal than with the MyTouch 3G that I had previously. I'm in the Minneapolis Area. Anyone else having similar issues?
     

    Advertisement

  2. ap3604

    ap3604 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    571
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010

    Feb 9, 2010
    571
    78
    98
    Yeah, lots of people are.

    I am in SoCal myself so I have no issues with 3g whatsoever... sorry to hear about your troubles though :(
     
  3. StarMenace

    StarMenace Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    290
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    290
    18
    58
    So is it an issue with the phone then? 3G covereage here with T-Mo in Minneapolis is actually very good, in fact, it was awesome with the MyTouch. There are spots that I had full bars of 3G with the MyTouch but only Edge with the N1.
     
  4. smitty24

    smitty24 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009

    Mar 5, 2009
    252
    3
    36
    Florida
    Search...tons of threads about 3g issues, solutions, and locations.
     
    ap3604 likes this.
  5. Hegemony

    Hegemony Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    313
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009

    Nov 25, 2009
    313
    23
    38
    I write about technology for Maximum PC and Tested
    in the Transcend
    I live in the area actually. It seems like my 3G coverage got worse a few weeks ago. It used to be noticeably better. Not sure what's up, maybe T-mo is doing something to their network up here.
     
  6. kabbie_mcfeely

    kabbie_mcfeely Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    547
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009

    Jan 14, 2009
    547
    6
    61
    Having same issues in St Paul on G1.

    I called T-Mo and they had me go through all the reboot BS and it did nothing. Finally they said they would "send someone out" to check things.

    They also gave me $20 off my next bill.


    The wierd thing is, 2G is working just fine.


    Call and complain!!!
     
  7. mih

    mih Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010

    Feb 21, 2010
    9
    1
    6
    I live in the minneapolis area as well. I definitely have 3g issues. I will have full bars on 3g and the web is incredibly slow or not loading at all, this could be a browser issue, but ive tried dolphin and opera with only slightly better performance in load times.

    Also, this happens once in awhile, but when placing a call, it will sit there saying "dialing" for a good 20 seconds before it actually goes through. Very annoying.
     
  8. StarMenace

    StarMenace Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    290
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    290
    18
    58
    I am having those exact issues with this phone too, none of those happened with the MT3G... :thinking:
     
  9. ap3604

    ap3604 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    571
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010

    Feb 9, 2010
    571
    78
    98
    Complain to both Google and T-Mobile. Complain Complain Complain!!!

    The only way big companies know there is a problem to fix is if we let them know!

    :D
     
  10. Balkin

    Balkin Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010

    Apr 1, 2010
    29
    2
    36
    Network Admin
    Sacramento, CA
    So far my 3G coverage has been really great, this phones radio seems equally as strong as any other phone I've had on ATT. I think most of the problems stem from simply poor 3G coverage by ATT and T-Mobile.
     
  11. mi_canuck

    mi_canuck Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    1,064
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    1,064
    15
    113
    it's a fact of life that the Nexus has piss poor RF performance... either have to deal with it, or get a different phone... along with battery, it's just the way it is with the Nexus... poor design... as much cool features it has (amoled, great 5mp cam, 1ghz snapdragon, etc), some other things are sub-par... ie. RF and battery life...

    it's a google phone... and like all things google, it's bascially a BETA device... that us geeks are the beta testers for essentially.... we are the suckers...
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...