1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Weakness of this Phone....

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by chmodx, Jan 5, 2013.

  1. chmodx

    chmodx Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    567
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010

    Dec 31, 2010
    567
    25
    68
    And the only thing I can say is...USB connection in windows.

    Dear god what a pain in the ass. I have tried installing, uninstalling drivers, etc. My computers all hang whenever it gets connected, either as installer or MTP, using the Samsung cable or not. I give up.

    I'm not taking out my sd card to get pics off it every time either. Samsung needs to fix this bullshit.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    I can't make that happen with my N2; it just connects and I can view/manipulate files etc.

    I'm wondering if you've been into the "dev" section of the menu, and if so what changes you made.
     
  3. Caloy

    Caloy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,871
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010

    Jan 16, 2010
    1,871
    200
    163
    Male
    Mad Scientist! MUAHAHAHA!
    Richmond, TX
    What are you trying to accomplish when you connect your phone to your pc? I mean to sync your phone? Or to transfer files or maybe just to charge it?

    If you want to sync your phone or to transfer files there are wireless solution s you can avail of. All share and kies are some of the solutions to it. :)

    Sent using the force
     
    iP0wN likes this.
  4. chmodx

    chmodx Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    567
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010

    Dec 31, 2010
    567
    25
    68
    Changed nothing, and I've tried enabling/disabling USB debugging.

    No matter what, whenever I connect it, it defaults to connecting as USB installer, I have to bring the menu up and check MTP. Once I do, the dialog box pops up on the pc, if I try to browse, it just hangs the pc until I pull the usb cable.

    Laptop, home pc, office pc, all the same results.
     
  5. lcneed

    lcneed Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    601
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012

    Nov 12, 2012
    601
    99
    78
    SoCal
    Maybe it is a problem with the Verizon version? On my AT&T, I didn't have to change anything. I just plug it in to my laptops and it works. Both the 1 year old Windows 7 HP laptop and my 4 years old Windows XP Dell laptop recognized it along with the model number of the AT&T Note II. It is good too because I wouldn't be able to install any new driver on my work's laptop.
     
  6. Elantric

    Elantric Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    305
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012

    Oct 7, 2012
    305
    79
    53
    Male
    California
    Same here - My AT&T Note2 connects to all my Win7 or WinXP machines via the stock USB cable and a Notification message occurs on the note 2 to select the USB connection type, I choose MYP ( Connect as a Media Device.) and 15 seconds later i can move files in and out of the SDCard I installed in the note 2.
     
  7. Benjie

    Benjie Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    585
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    585
    52
    78
    Working and having fun
    Paradise
    No problem on the first and probably last connection attempt. Wifi, Bluetooth and card readers.
     
  8. DenverCZBob

    DenverCZBob Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010

    Nov 17, 2010
    83
    8
    16
    No problems here on Verizon.
    Plugged it into my computer for the first time, came up with a message on phone about 'Installer'. I didn't click on anything, just waited a few seconds. PC came up with a message about installing software, then a few seconds after that it said it was ready. I opened up "Computer" and my phone was listed under 'Portable Devices". Opened that and I see my "Phone" and "Card".
    Running Win 7 on an old Acer Aspire.

    -bob
     
  9. mrpnut

    mrpnut THE WORLD IS YOURS
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,525
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011

    Jun 1, 2011
    3,525
    1,783
    413
    Male
    trying to concur the world
    CALI
    I never had problems connecting to my windows....
     
  10. willowlee

    willowlee Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012

    Nov 10, 2012
    47
    1
    16
    Im running windows 7 on my laptop and I have experienced no problems yet. When connected to usb, the device just pops up and I can see my sd card.
     
  11. ceva321

    ceva321 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    724
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012

    hey man wow that sucks, like Caloy i also do my sync wireless BUT i just tested it, mind you i have windows 8, never plugged my phone into my PC before and guess what? flawlessly !!!!!

    see below, no problems!!! Verizon NYC here


    **** maybe you need to go to your PC control setting and "add Hardware" it will look for your device and Voila!!


    [​IMG]
    phone by Ceva321, on Flickr
     
  12. SupperDroid

    SupperDroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011

    Jan 11, 2011
    84
    9
    16
    Montana
    Are you using the cable that came with the phone or a third party cable?
     
  13. ren857

    ren857 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    456
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010

    Aug 22, 2010
    456
    87
    73
    Female
    Yes. This does make a difference.

    Mine "hangs" a bit when I connect. It usually takes about a minute before it pops up on my computer but I think thats because I have so much on my sd card.
     
  14. Nightfall

    Nightfall Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    109
    7
    36
    Are you using the stock USB cable?

    I have found that some USB cables don't work with this phone. The USB cable that came with the phone works great. I have some other cables that do and don't work. Just depends on the cable. I don't have any rhyme or reason why they do or don't work though.

    I would try the cable that came with the phone if you haven't already.
     
  15. rexxcastle

    rexxcastle Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011

    Dec 28, 2011
    61
    2
    16
    Honestly I think it's a problem with your computer, mine has no effect of the issues you are describing
     
  16. SeanPlunk

    SeanPlunk Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    62
    12
    18
    Male
    I have the EXACT same problem. It sucks.

    Stock cable or not it doesn't matter.
     
  17. Caloy

    Caloy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,871
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010

    Jan 16, 2010
    1,871
    200
    163
    Male
    Mad Scientist! MUAHAHAHA!
    Richmond, TX
    I have to agree with this statement. Reading from flash memory is slower than reading from RAM or from HDD. If you have a lot of files on your SD card it might take some time to read through the catalogues.

    -Sent using the power of the dark side
     
  18. LegalEagle1

    LegalEagle1 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012

    Dec 7, 2012
    38
    1
    16
    Male
    Las Vegas
    Get an iMac and all your troubles will disappear.
     
  19. twister6

    twister6 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #122
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    2,228
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    2,228
    910
    223
    On Verizon here. Used to work from day one (usb connection to PC, Win7 64bit), then I changed something (part of new driver install while rooting Nexus 7) and it stopped working. I had to download and reinstall Kies Air on PC just for Samsung Note 2 driver, and it fixed the problem. I could care less about Kies Air, but any separate Samsung N2 drivers I installed didn't work, while Kies Air package install did the trick. It should fix your problem!
     
    SeanPlunk likes this.
  20. oldboy74

    oldboy74 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011

    Jan 12, 2011
    60
    4
    16
    Male
    England
    I had this problem for a whole day, did my head right in, i changed to another USB port and it worked fine, don't know why as the there was nothing wrong with the one i origionally had it in.
     
  21. SeanPlunk

    SeanPlunk Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    62
    12
    18
    Male
    This worked perfectly, thanks so much for the tip! I had stayed away from Kies/Kies Air because of all the horror stories I heard, but the drivers actually work now!
     
  22. twister6

    twister6 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #122
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    2,228
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    2,228
    910
    223
    Now you going to have that annoying "kies" popup after windows bootup lol!!! At some point I will try to disable it since I have no plans to use that software. But for some weird reason - drivers work. I just wish there would have been a separate driver install that works...
     
  23. TorontoNote2

    TorontoNote2 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013

    Jan 2, 2013
    2
    1
    6
    Male
    Have not tried the USB connection yet but have the Note II on my home WiFi no problem. It also connects to my laptop with BlueTooth no problem and shows up as simply another drive. I can access the internal or external RAM using Explorer.

    Will try USB and see what happens. Win 7 recognized the Note II right away and loaded drivers.
     
  24. cipherdias

    cipherdias Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011

    Jul 6, 2011
    12
    0
    15
    I have never had a problem with mine, connect the cable and it sees it instantly.
     
  25. JunBringer

    JunBringer Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,186
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    I tend to use AirDroid for this sort of thing. I haven't plugged my phone into a computer in God knows how long. Highly recommended.
     

Share This Page

Loading...