1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Weather app doesn't need GPS?

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by kwalla, Sep 25, 2011.

  1. kwalla

    kwalla Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    219
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011

    Sep 17, 2011
    219
    18
    48
    Male
    Is there a weather app that doesn't require GPS to be on to display info in my home screen? As in, I'm fine if it will only display the weather for a fixed zip code that I give it and not update as I move around.
     

    Advertisement

  2. tcat007

    tcat007 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,722
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011

    Jan 31, 2011
    1,722
    262
    163
    Texas
    I don't think any weather app requires GPS, at least none of the 5 or 6 I've tried do. Weatherbug, Raindar, WeatherUS, and any browser based link, let you use zip codes.
     
  3. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,207
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Weatherbug can use GPS AFAIK. Actually, a lot of weather apps can let you just define the location. You just have to disable the "my location" feature.
     
  4. kwalla

    kwalla Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    219
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011

    Sep 17, 2011
    219
    18
    48
    Male
    I guess it was really a widget I was trying to get to display weather info on my home screen.. but not use GPS. Apps see to work fine, but the widgets I've tried to show me the temp and such without clicking on anything.

    Thanks!
     
  5. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,207
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Same applies to all widgets. Just disable the 'my location feature'. Personally use minimalistic text for weather now though. Has to do with the theme I'm using right now.
     

Share This Page

Loading...