1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Weather app not working after 2.1 OTA

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Yodeldog, May 20, 2010.

  1. Yodeldog

    Yodeldog Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    16
    0
    15
    Southern Colorado
    My Weather App not working since 2.1 OTA. Does anyone else have this problem, and does anyone know about a fix?
     

    Advertisement

  2. cmccmc

    cmccmc Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    14
    0
    35
    Massachusetts
    Mine wasn't working for a while after the OTA either. Here's what I did:
    Menu > Settings > Accounts & Sync - make sure your Weather "account" is in there.
    Click on it and you have more options -
    check "Sync weather data"
    Account settings: update every hour

    Did you add the HTC Power Control widget? I did and the weather wasn't updating because I turned off the button second from the right (the sync icon).

    After that my weather has been ok.
     
  3. Jrocker23

    Jrocker23 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    360
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    360
    102
    68
    Male
    Law Enforcement
    Staten Island, NY
    You can also do menu/settings/applications/manage applications - wait for the apps to load then search for the weather app and clear data
     
  4. rick311

    rick311 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    673
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    673
    44
    68
    you NEED to have background data on and auto sync on as well. something i do not like to do, but with 2.1 you need to do that.

    if its force closeing, you need to go to menu-settings-manage apps- and clear the data and cache in the weather apps.

    should work then.
     
  5. Yodeldog

    Yodeldog Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    16
    0
    15
    Southern Colorado
    Thanks guys. At least the weather widget on the main screen is working. But the weather app still crashes when I try to start it. I haven't figured how to have "background data" on. Maybe it will work when I get that done.
     
  6. Yodeldog

    Yodeldog Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    16
    0
    15
    Southern Colorado
    Well, I powered the phone off and when it powered back up the weather app works fine now. Thanks for your help.
     

Share This Page

Loading...