1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

Support Weather app temperature notification in task bar

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by youngdoc, Mar 25, 2012.

  1. youngdoc

    youngdoc Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010

    Mar 9, 2010
    109
    59
    53
    Has anyone found a weather app that is stable with respect to the temperature notification in the task bar? I've tested several and in all cases, the notification runs fine initially, but it eventually goes away and does not reappear unless I run the app. Stock GNex.
     

    Advertisement

  2. concreteguy

    concreteguy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011

    Jun 1, 2011
    48
    3
    16
    Carpenter
    Rushville, OH
    1Weather(free) has a temperature in the notification bar. I've been using it for at least 2+ weeks and it is still working. Not the best app(a bit slow), but unlike Weather Channel, it doesn't need access to my camera, phone, or contacts.
     
  3. youngdoc

    youngdoc Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010

    Mar 9, 2010
    109
    59
    53
    1weather was the latest one I tried without success. The notification disappears spontaneously for me.
     
  4. concreteguy

    concreteguy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011

    Jun 1, 2011
    48
    3
    16
    Carpenter
    Rushville, OH
    I'm not sure what your doing, but I've got 59 degrees showing on mine. Mine is set to refresh every 3 hours. I even get weather alerts from 1Weather and WeatherBug in my notification bar(WB is much better at this)
     
  5. Dubbin1

    Dubbin1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,525
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    1,525
    969
    233
    N/W Ohio
    I have tried MANY weather apps and never once had a problem with the temp in the notification area.
     
  6. youngdoc

    youngdoc Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010

    Mar 9, 2010
    109
    59
    53
    That's really weird. I've had this problem since day one when I got the phone. It was never an issue with my previous phones (Tbolt, Inc., Eris, all stock).
     
  7. binary visions

    binary visions Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,334
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    3,334
    1,443
    413
    I use WeatherBug with no issues.
     
  8. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,933
    Posts:
    32,958
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    32,958
    25,346
    3,933
    Male
    If you don't mind rooting, aokp (rom) has it baked in. :)
     
    foo likes this.
  9. youngzayiles

    youngzayiles Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009

    Dec 30, 2009
    34
    14
    18
    I use the paid version of beautiful widgets. No problems at all.
     
  10. cvu524

    cvu524 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    25
    5
    16
    Using the paid version of Beautiful Widgets too. No issues whatsoever. Stock Verizon GNex....
     
  11. litrekid

    litrekid Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010

    Oct 19, 2010
    65
    13
    18
    Chrysler
    kokomo, indiana
    Weather bug here. No problems.
     
  12. DannyJSlone

    DannyJSlone Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    256
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    256
    42
    43
    I use be weather pro with no problems. Just make sure if you are still using a task killer to exclude it from your list.
     
  13. quiklives

    quiklives Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    421
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010

    Jul 5, 2010
    421
    195
    68
    There's no reason to be using a task killer to begin with, and plenty of reason not to.
     
  14. Turdbogls

    Turdbogls Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    817
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    817
    150
    103
    Designer/Drafter
    O-town Florida
    there i fixed that quote for you.
    and a task killer what my one guess as to why its doing this.

    i have used a couple different apps to do this, and they all worked just fine for me.
     
    quiklives likes this.
  15. jbdan

    jbdan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,121
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    7,121
    3,187
    513
    atl ga usa
    Weatherbug Elite :)
     
  16. streetfish

    streetfish Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011

    Dec 18, 2011
    109
    23
    58
    The Dirty
    accuweather
     
  17. youngdoc

    youngdoc Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010

    Mar 9, 2010
    109
    59
    53
    I have never used a task killer, so that isn't it, although I agree that something must be killing it since I'm apparently the only user having this issue. I have now tried Be Weather, accuweather, TWC, 1weather, and weather bug (all free versions) and the temperature notification gets killed in each case, usually after a few hours. My other notifications persist in the notification bar without issue -- my battery level notification and alarm clock, for example. Really frustrating.
     
  18. binary visions

    binary visions Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,334
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    3,334
    1,443
    413
    Have you changed any of the "Developer Options" on the phone, such as "Don't keep activities" or "Background process limit"?
     
  19. Outatime

    Outatime Android Expert
    Rank:
     #109
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,629
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010

    Mar 6, 2010
    1,629
    662
    253
    Male
    Fed
    +1 for WeatherBug Elite. I've used that since my old BB days and love it.
     
  20. bjtcars

    bjtcars Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010

    Mar 22, 2010
    130
    29
    43
    Mass.
    Agreed I think I've tried them all (and keep checking out the new ones) but always rely on Weatherbug elite.
     
  21. jackdubl

    jackdubl Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    986
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    986
    111
    93
    Topeka, KS
    Just curious, but what is the point of a weather app that updates every three hours? Mine is set to every fifteen minutes.
     
  22. cvu524

    cvu524 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    25
    5
    16
    The more frequent you have the weather update, the quicker the battery drain. I don't need to know what the weather is every 15 min. Mine is set for 3 hrs with auto refresh when i unlock the screen.
     
  23. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Mine gets updated manually/on demand. Heck, I see no need to have it current as it's not even on the home screen. ;)
     
  24. infg37

    infg37 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012

    Jun 24, 2012
    96
    11
    18
    Male
    Army
    Virginia
    Code (Text):
    1.  
    doesn't have taskbar notification i think that's what he wants
     
  25. mscheaf

    mscheaf Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #1,306
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    97
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012

    Jul 17, 2012
    97
    6
    16
    Alton, IL
    I have the same issues. Weatherbug is always 10+ degrees off and accuweather notification bar gets a network error anytime I use the phone, text or actually any other thing besides accuweather causes the network error. So I am still looking for a stable, correct weather app that has notification temps. You wouldn't think that would be that big of a deal, but it is.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...