1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Weather, cost?

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by Juddanator, Sep 22, 2010.

  1. Juddanator

    Juddanator Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    Will i get charged for having the weather displayed on the main screen?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Zaichik

    Zaichik Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    75
    16
    18
    The weather updates so it will use your data connection.
     
  3. Juddanator

    Juddanator Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    Ok thanks, And could the HTC Wildfire use data without you knowing?
     
  4. [fade]

    [fade] Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010

    Sep 17, 2010
    37
    5
    16
    Brno, CZ
    you can disable it, and update the weather data when you get wifi connection.
     
  5. Juddanator

    Juddanator Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    Ok thanks, and also can you disable your phone from connecting to the internet by itself, and only connect when you want it to??
     
  6. Zaichik

    Zaichik Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    75
    16
    18
    You have 2 options: go to settings>accounts and sync and untick the background data and auto-sync boxes or hold down the power button and turn off internet entirely.
     
  7. Juddanator

    Juddanator Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    So with the first option can i still use the browser?
     
  8. Zaichik

    Zaichik Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    75
    16
    18
    Yes.

    With option 1, you need to bear in mind that some aps (like mail and the market) have their own autosync options, which will need to be turned off manually.
     
  9. Juddanator

    Juddanator Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    And if i did that i shouldn't expect to get charged for any data?
     
  10. tiggerlator

    tiggerlator Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    50
    10
    18
    Just see if you can get a internet allowance on your plan. smartphones like to have a always on data connection. mine was
     

Share This Page

Loading...