1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Weather/News Widget

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by UnexplainedBacon, Jun 9, 2010.

  1. UnexplainedBacon

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    67
    0
    15
    Wedding Photographer
    WA State
    Hello everyone!

    I have been searching for literally hours on this and I've finally decided its worth asking about.

    I've got myself an HTC Droid Eris a few days ago. Love it so far. Updated to 2.1 last night with no problems. I was looking at the thread about posting your layout for the 7 home screens and I keep seeing an app/widget that I believe is supposed to be the stock/default news widget.

    For an example of what I mean, see this page of the thread, and scroll wayyy down to user Platattack's post:

    http://androidforums.com/htc-droid-eris/27414-lets-see-your-ui-layout-11.html

    Its the very basic gray background, white text, small weather icon on the left widget I am talking about. As near as I can tell this is the news app included in 2.1.... except I dont have it. I have scoured my phone, both in the widgets and app listings. Nothing.

    Am I missing something?

    Thanks for your help!

    PS - also, if I try to launch the "weather" app in the app directory, it loads the screen but then crashes. Every time. I have tried a hard reboot. Still doesnt work. Ideas?
     

    Advertisement

  2. majorpay

    majorpay Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    232
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    232
    14
    38
    Its not stock. Its beautiful widgets (from the market)


    Sent from my Eris using Tapatalk
     
  3. UnexplainedBacon

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    67
    0
    15
    Wedding Photographer
    WA State
    Ohhh I see, thank you!

    As for my weather issue, app still crashing. I have cleared the data from both the weather sync and the HTC Sense. The latter caused me to lose the layout I have been crafting for several hours, so it was disappointing when neither "fix" worked. Guh.
     
  4. UnexplainedBacon

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    67
    0
    15
    Wedding Photographer
    WA State
    I tried Beautiful Widgets and that news widget was not included in the list. I checked both the HTC and Android widget lists. Wasnt there anywhere. Only things I saw were the on/off switches for things like GPS and wifi. Any suggestions?

    Also, my weather app is still crashing, no matter what I do. Any ideas anyone? Its not critical, considering my clock widget accurately forcasts the weather, but its just kind of annoying that the actual weather app will not run whatsoever.
     
  5. surgeon0214

    surgeon0214 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    699
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    699
    76
    78
    Texas
  6. eddieg

    eddieg Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010

    Feb 17, 2010
    60
    2
    16
    Try clearing the data for the weather worked for me.
     
  7. ttran97

    ttran97 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    572
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    572
    82
    78
    California
    I saw that in the Evil Eris Rom and really liked it, but I switched back to Ivan's rom and didn't know how I could get that widget back. Never knew the name of it. Thanks!
     
  8. UnexplainedBacon

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    67
    0
    15
    Wedding Photographer
    WA State
    Thanks Surgeon! That is exactly what I was looking for! You're my hero for the day.

    Eddieg, I've tried clearing the data. No luck. S'pose I can do it again though just to be sure. Was having the same issue with another app and clearing the data did in fact work.
     
  9. UnexplainedBacon

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    67
    0
    15
    Wedding Photographer
    WA State
    Moving this question to a new thread since it is completely different than the title and original question.
     
  10. OhBe1

    OhBe1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010

    Jan 10, 2010
    101
    16
    68
    Male
    Teacher
    Kansas, USA
    After the update my weather app crashed every time. A factory reset eliminated the problem. Good luck!
     

Share This Page

Loading...