1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Web Browser Crash

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ruppert, Jul 18, 2010.

  1. ruppert

    ruppert Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    25
    2
    16
    When I try to load certain webpages my browser will crash as soon as it loads 100%. An example gizmodo.com, it only happens with the full version of the site not the mobile version. It appears to be javascript related, because when I disable javascript the page will load without crashing. This happens both in the standard browser and in DolphinHD. Also, sometimes before crashing DolphinHD will show a page saying:

    "The Web page at file:///android_asset/webkit could not be loaded as:

    The requested file was not found. webkit/"

    Anyone else experiencing this? Any ideas?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Darkeligos

    Darkeligos Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010

    Jun 14, 2010
    134
    7
    36
    Student
    Indiana
    The first time I used the Captivate in store to load MAPS it crashed on me, so I am assuming the phone just can't handle some things. Hope somebody can find more out on this problem of crashing.
     
  3. ruppert

    ruppert Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    25
    2
    16
    It doesn't seem to be a general crashing issue (though that may exist). It happens each and every time I load specific pages. I searched for this problem, and it seems to be happening on the vibrant and the droid x. Have yet to find a solution though. Thanks for responding by the way.
     
  4. rajendra82

    rajendra82 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    172
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    172
    20
    38
    Civil Engineer
    Atlanta, Georgia
    Have you tried the same pages in opera mini?
     
  5. Duck Tales LOL

    Duck Tales LOL Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    124
    12
    58
    Arkansas

    I was about to suggest the exact same thing.
     
  6. ruppert

    ruppert Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    25
    2
    16
    Thanks for the suggestion. Doesn't seem to be crashing in Opera Mini, but it also looks like some of the page content isn't showing up. I'm happy to use opera until the problem gets figured out though. :)
     
  7. keiki

    keiki Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    4
    2
    6
    WOOT! crashes the browser consistently.
     
  8. keiki

    keiki Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    4
    2
    6
    trying opera
     
  9. ruppert

    ruppert Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    25
    2
    16
    Same thing on my phone woot.com crashes with or without javascript turned on. Loads fine in Opera for me.
     
  10. shadow300z

    shadow300z Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    I get the same problems using Dolphin or Skyfire. Doesn't seem to be a rhyme or reason to what site or if it's a mobile/full website.

    BTW this is on my Samsung Vibrant.
     
  11. circazero

    circazero Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    51
    11
    18
    LA, CA
    This sucks I can't visitcertain websites. It works with opera mini but it doesn't load everything on the page. Anyway I can turn off any of that flash that loads up in websites?
     
  12. calmor15014

    calmor15014 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Throwing out another "me too" - riteaid.com doesn't work either - crashes my browser before the page finishes loading. I sent an e-mail to Samsung regarding this. Opera Mini does seem to work well (and offer a few more features) - may start using this from now on anyway.
     
  13. jgcalderonperez

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    I just tested with Gizmodo full site version and didnt crash with the default browser, maybe its a setting somewhere :-S ???
     
  14. bigjerries

    bigjerries Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    47
    4
    16
    Texas
    when i try to get on the site 48minutesofhell.com it also crashes. No problem loading gizmodo though
     
  15. jgcalderonperez

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    I have the "Use Plugins" setting off, try that.
     
  16. keredini

    keredini Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    88
    15
    18
    STL
    Gizmoodo full site works for me, however Woot does not. Strange indeed....
     
  17. 02///M3

    02///M3 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    hey guys. new here. just got a captivate and noticed the same problem with gizmodo. sometimes it loads, sometimes it doesn't. this is always with the full site and there doesn't appear to be any rhyme or reason. it happens with one or two other sites i can't remember right now. also, with the phone in portrait mode, some of the content on ESPN.com doesn't show up. don't have an answer, but i dont think it means that those who haven't experienced the problem never will.
     
  18. jgcalderonperez

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    If I disable the "Enable Plug-ins" setting from the Browser it works perfectly, give it a try!
     
  19. Samsung_Engineer

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010

    Aug 18, 2010
    1
    2
    6
    As Mentioned above, you can either disable Java or the plug-in options in the browser settings for the time being. We have fixed this issue and the soon-to-be-released Maintenance release includes this fix.

    Thanks for choosing Samsung!
    JP
     
    richierich and lescooper like this.
  20. ScaGin

    ScaGin Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    47
    1
    16
    At Mitsubishi Motors North America: EDI Specialist
    Wapella, Illinois
    Are there other fixes in this maintenance release?
     
  21. sremick

    sremick Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,521
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010

    Jun 18, 2010
    2,521
    356
    163
    IT Admin
    USA
    Whoah... hello?

    You really need to create your own thread introducing yourself. A lot of us have a lot of questions for you...
     
  22. lescooper

    lescooper Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    If you really are a Samsung Engineer!?!? - Start a thread and give us some feedback. You can't help but notice, by looking around this forum, that we have a lot of questions and concerns.....
     

Share This Page

Loading...