1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

General Web Drop down menu

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by anthonyn, Feb 26, 2011.

  1. anthonyn

    anthonyn Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Because the phone has no optical mouse, you have to use the arrow keys to select the menu option. Ie in google.com you get the drop down list of possable things to search for. The arrows let you move up and down the list but How do you select from the list without needing to click the link?
    Because google has auto results i often find myself click into a webpage and not the menu option.

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    31,501
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    31,501
    22,914
    3,118
    Scotland
    Select what you want, then hit the enter button (underneath the delete key).
     
  3. anthonyn

    anthonyn Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Thanks for the reply, but tht just does a search on what I have typed in, not what I have selected.


    For example if I just type test into the google textbox I get the following menu

    Testdrive unlimited 2
    test internet speed

    If I select test internet speed and press enter I get the results for test not test internet speed
     
  4. john_g

    john_g Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    558
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010

    Nov 6, 2010
    558
    186
    93
    London, UK
    I have just checked to see whether I get the same problem, but it all works as expected on my Desire HD. To be precise, I don't have to select any text, or press Enter, I simply do a quick single press on 'test internet speed' on the drop-down list and Google brings up a new screen which uses that text as the search expression, giving me the appropriate results.

    BUT... I use Miren browser, not the stock one. I can't remember why I got fed up with the original browser (I think it was that I couldn't put my bookmarks into a nested structure) but I wouldn't go back. It's available for free in the Market, so I'd suggest you give it a try.
     

Share This Page

Loading...