1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General WebOS 3.05 is here (yawn)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by colchiro, Jan 12, 2012.

  1. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT

    Advertisement

  2. jblather

    jblather Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011

    Nov 14, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    After update, it looped on the hp logo. Did a doctor to 3.0.5. Fortunately it took only 17 minutes to do that.

    It hosed my moboot. Reflashing moboot did not help. I reflashed cwm and at least it got me to recovery. Fortunately, I did a backup of CM7 before I did the webOS update.

    I did a restore and the boot option for CM7 came back and I was able to boot into CM7. Whew.

    So, in summary here is what happened and what I did to fix it:

    booted into moboot and did a backup of Android.
    booted webOS 3.0.4
    updated to 3.0.5
    rebooted and it looped on the hp logo <--- this is where it broke.
    Doctored to 3.0.5
    booted into webOS 3.0.5 and let it restore all my apps
    copied moboot and cwm to cminstall directory in the SD (USB) under webOS
    did novacom/acmeinstaller
    Did a restore from moboot
    All is good.
     
  3. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Glad you got it figured out.

    I 'looped and had to DR when 3.04 came out.

    I left out the 4th option.... failed install message after rebooting. Got that twice. Still on 3.04

    I'm not bored any more. :D
     
  4. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
  5. untitled1

    untitled1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    158
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    158
    19
    58
    I think I'm through updating webOS. I haven't even used it in about 2 weeks. No point in going through the hassle.
     
  6. jericko

    jericko Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    344
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    344
    124
    68
    Systems Engineer
    Omaha

    Same here. Its a stable little OS with almost no 3rd party apps.
     
  7. binary visions

    binary visions Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,334
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    3,334
    1,443
    413
    What's "WebOS"?
     
  8. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    You're not up-to-date with your Greek mythology, are you. :D
     
  9. binary visions

    binary visions Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,334
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    3,334
    1,443
    413
    Oh... was that the ancient god of slowness & failure?
     
  10. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    You're thinking of Dos... webOs is his second cousin. :D
     
  11. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    I'm done updating webOS.

    3.0.4 came out and bootlooped when I updated. Had to doctor back to stock.

    3.0.5 came out and update failed until I removed TWRP (4 megs) from my /boot partition, then it bootlooped. Doctoring again since I need webOS to update CM9 files.
     
  12. jericko

    jericko Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    344
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    344
    124
    68
    Systems Engineer
    Omaha

    Why do you need WebOS to update your CM9 files?
     
  13. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Usb mode doesn't work in CM9.
     
  14. jericko

    jericko Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    344
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    344
    124
    68
    Systems Engineer
    Omaha
    Thats how I copied over CM Alpha .60
     
  15. Martimus

    Martimus One bite at a time...
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    843
    Posts:
    19,535
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    19,535
    4,045
    843
    Male
    Engineer
    'neath a cactus
    My guess is that you used media device mode... not USB mode.
     
  16. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    The only option I saw was usb debugging, which we know won't let me transfer files. I remembered reading something about usb broken so didn't pursue it.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...