1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Webtop

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by voice.lex, Sep 5, 2011.

  1. voice.lex

    voice.lex Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    34
    4
    16
    Environmental Educator
    SC
    Has anyone figured out how to run the webtop dock as full screen android? Much like having a tablet with a keyboard? I don't want to run firefox (wtf, why isn't it chrome?!) I'd rather just use the native OS on my phone.

    I can't possibly be the only person who has asked this but I can't seem to find info on it. I am excited about the Bionic because of the dock... but I don't want some shitty proprietary system, I want to use stock android on a big screen with a keyboard while I charge my phone.

    Help?
     

    Advertisement

  2. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    I'm wondering if we'll even need to buy the adapter ... or just use the HDMI cable as discussed ON THIS PAGE.
     
  3. YodaDroid

    YodaDroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    137
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011

    Jul 28, 2011
    137
    122
    68
    If you just want to see a large version of your phone on your TV / Monitor, you can just use the HDMI cable. All you'd need is a bluetooth mouse and keyboard and you're set.

    If you want to use Webtop, you'd need the adapter.

    In my opinion, webtop works much better with a mouse and keybaoard than just hooking your phone up to your tv. The resolution also properly adjusts for HDTV and larger monitor sizes.

    However, it IS possible to use just the HDMI adapter to view your phone. Keep in mind that the phone apps / display isn't natively optimized for bigger screens. Just imagine what an iphone app looks like when it's blown up on the Ipad. Now envision that same app blown up onto an even larger screen.
     
    xmr405o and YankeeDudeL like this.
  4. voice.lex

    voice.lex Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    34
    4
    16
    Environmental Educator
    SC
    Joe- That's not the same convenience, not at all what I'm looking for.

    Yoda - I guess what I really want is it switch to the tablet os while on the dock :)
     
  5. Lars

    Lars Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,439
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    I can't see where mirror mode on a big screen would be bad. The phone resolution rivals a laptop/netbook already. I shoulda tried this when I had my X.
     
  6. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,454
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,454
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    My 22" monitors do 720p, but not 1080 so my BIONIC will be right at home....

    Maybe. lol... I'll need to get an HDMI to DVI-I adapter....

    Or, buy new monitors....I think a pair of 26" mons should be good, right? :p
     
  7. YodaDroid

    YodaDroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    137
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011

    Jul 28, 2011
    137
    122
    68
    Tablet OS as in honeycomb while on the dock?

    Ice Cream Sandwich will eventually be on the bionic. That will be the blend.

    That being said, the webtop OS looks MUCH better on larger screens than a blown up version of the standard phone OS (GB).

    I do use mirror mode from time to time. Like while watching Netflix streaming from the phone onto a hotel TV using LTE. :)
     
    YankeeDudeL likes this.
  8. YankeeDudeL

    YankeeDudeL Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,170
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009

    Oct 25, 2009
    2,170
    516
    213
    Male
    Wireless Sales Manager
    I never thought of that. Might have to do that when I'm at Disney in a couple weeks. Oh the world the Bionic will open me up to.
     
  9. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,454
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,454
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    I know, right? This phone is gonna have a small learning curve for me with all the new features and such....
     
  10. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    This is what I stare at all day at work. :cool:
     
  11. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,454
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,454
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Lol I meant for home - then I could justify a 1000W PSU and a pair of 560 Tis so I can stare at them all night at home :D

    Hmmm, that webtop / lapdock adapter or whatever - I ma have to buy one.
     
  12. dmodert66

    dmodert66 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,551
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    1,551
    221
    163
    Project Manager
    Southern California
    How did mirror mode/netflix look? What resolution TV? I tried over WIFI on my X2 and Netflix looked like ass on my monitor (27" 1080P).
     
  13. tehsusenoh

    tehsusenoh Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    929
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011

    Jun 17, 2011
    929
    385
    133
    Student
    127.0.0.1
    Yeah, well I have one 19". Beat that! :rolleyes:

    I used to have two of them, but one crapped out.

    I used a laptop all summer, and back on a 5:4 screen is painful. I miss the wideness.
     
  14. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,454
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,454
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Both of my 22" are widescreen. But neither has HDMI input, so....

    I have a 40" TV to play with for about another week or so, so I might get some good videos off that :D
     
  15. YankeeDudeL

    YankeeDudeL Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,170
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009

    Oct 25, 2009
    2,170
    516
    213
    Male
    Wireless Sales Manager
    I've had a 24" widescreen 1080p screen for 2 years now. You mean I was ahead of the curve for once?
     
  16. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,454
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,454
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    I didn't go 24 b/c I wanted dual monitors, and Staples had a deal of a lifetime - Acer x213w monitors (normally not sold in the US) for $169 each - and this was in August of 2008....with free shipping.

    3 years later and most 22" widescreens are only just now barely lower than that....
     

Share This Page

Loading...