1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support weird letters/alphabet

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by Ilmbg, Sep 17, 2016.

  1. Ilmbg

    Ilmbg Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016

    Aug 2, 2016
    22
    1
    26
    Retired- now relaxing with a Bud and game on tv
    Somewhere in the 'Windy City'
    Yesterday I started getting weird letters from other alphabets inserted-about every third letter. It takes forever to write a sentence! I looked up 'weird alphabet ' and it said go to settings -language -English Canadian. I do not have 'Canadian '. I only have 'English '. I didn't download any apps. Thx
     

    Advertisement

  2. bkttk2

    bkttk2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #129
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    507
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    Apr 30, 2012
    507
    229
    113
    Male
    Blue Springs, MO
    Go to System Settings - - > Language & Keyboard

    Confirm your selected default keyboard.

    Next select this keyboard from the list below and review for setting regarding language.

    Default language for your device may be English-US but most keyboards have options to load multiple languages. Could also be Canadian English option was chosen in error.

    Hope this info helps.
     
    Mikestony and mikedt like this.
  3. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,238
    Posts:
    25,131
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    25,131
    14,091
    3,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    Is it accented letters? Perhaps you got Canadian French or something? If the keyboard app is acting funky, try doing clear data and cache on it, reset it to defaults.
     
  4. Ilmbg

    Ilmbg Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016

    Aug 2, 2016
    22
    1
    26
    Retired- now relaxing with a Bud and game on tv
    Somewhere in the 'Windy City'
    Thx, but I tried to explain that I have 'English ', only under 'English '. Only 1 'English ' to choose. The Samsung keyboard is chosen. How/why could this happen? Thx
     
  5. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,238
    Posts:
    25,131
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    25,131
    14,091
    3,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    What sort of letters are you getting? Chinese? Post a screen-shot if necessary.
     
  6. Ilmbg

    Ilmbg Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016

    Aug 2, 2016
    22
    1
    26
    Retired- now relaxing with a Bud and game on tv
    Somewhere in the 'Windy City'
    I will type... By the way, this is a Samsung Avant. From MetroPCS. Right now this is the first time all day that it isn't doing it. When it does, the letters have different 'accent' marks- not chines, Japanese, but maybe for instance, if I type letter 'e', there will be 8 or so letter e from different languages. I typed this ng on purpose- don't know why it isn't doing it now.... just like a car when you take it to the garage! Maybe it stopped???
     
  7. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,238
    Posts:
    25,131
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    25,131
    14,091
    3,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    So this is the stock Samsung keyboard doing this? Try another keyboard. My favourite is Swiftkey, which I've been using for a long time. Google keyboard is OK as well.
     
    bkttk2 and The_Chief like this.
  8. Ilmbg

    Ilmbg Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016

    Aug 2, 2016
    22
    1
    26
    Retired- now relaxing with a Bud and game on tv
    Somewhere in the 'Windy City'
    Ok. I just installed swiftkey. Yesterday, after I texted a longish reply without interrupted once, it has started again- cannot even type pass code because you have no idea when/what you are typing. Will let you know..oh-I tried to take a pic but no go. If it shows up again I will type them. There are 12 at a time. By the way- Swiftkey warns you that they record your credit card numbers. Not cool, but I don't use a credit cad online anymore so does not effect me. Scary. Now no weird ł (there is a weird letter- just before the parentheses )..... Will see if another shows up. So Swiftkey did not stop it!!
     
  9. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,238
    Posts:
    25,131
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    25,131
    14,091
    3,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    That's normal. It's a standard Android warning that's given when you install and activate any third-party keyboards. Because after all the keyboard app does have access to everything you type of course. Swiftkey is safe and is NOT going to record and steal your credit card numbers, passwords, etc. :thumbsupdroid:

    So Swiftkey is doing the same thing as well? That seems to indicate the problem my lie elsewhere in the phone
    . The screen touch digitizer malfunctioning and causing phantom key presses possibly?
     
  10. Ilmbg

    Ilmbg Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016

    Aug 2, 2016
    22
    1
    26
    Retired- now relaxing with a Bud and game on tv
    Somewhere in the 'Windy City'
    Ok- no2 it is ebt every wordt&eß a not me makg typing errsm Now when I type a certain letter a totally different one shows up. Then for a bit it is ok. Takes forever to type correctly.
     
  11. Ilmbg

    Ilmbg Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016

    Aug 2, 2016
    22
    1
    26
    Retired- now relaxing with a Bud and game on tv
    Somewhere in the 'Windy City'
    This phone wked correctly. Then I bought a new Samsu that worked horribly. Had to send that one to Samsg last wee I had "ought a lârger storage card. Put the card in old phone while new phone at Msung. Could the new card "e corrupt? Hope you can figure what I wrote, as I le#t w&at phone is doi i Beuse w phone seems be "ad wderi aboucard . THIS IS WHAT IT IS DOING!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...