1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Weird problem... no Home app

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Kimboinatl, Jan 7, 2011.

  1. Kimboinatl

    Kimboinatl Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010

    Oct 24, 2010
    44
    4
    36
    OK, so, this all started with me rooting my Cliq. So far so good. I then deblurred it with a script, and that seemed to work fine too. After that I noticed that something (not sure what?) kept trying to sync on my phone constantly and was burning through the battery very quickly... I tried uininstalling several apps that I thought were the problem, but no joy. So I decided to do a factory reset on my phone. Well, the phone booted up, but I don't appear to have a home application... ??

    Here is what I think happened:

    -Deblurring my phone removed Motorola's stock home app, leaving me with Launcher Pro (which is what I normally used)
    -Wiping my phone removed Launcher Pro, leaving me with... nothing.

    When I wipe the phone and go through the Motoblur setup, I get to a black screen with a notification panel at the top. I can pull the panel down, and I can also hold down the upper-right button and get some options (turn on/off wifi, turn on/off GPS, power on/off, etc.). I thought maybe that I could just install another ROM, or at least re-install Launcher Pro... but since I have no home application I can't figur out how to get to the Settings to turn USB debugging on, so adb will not see my phone. I have RSDLite also, but not entirely sure how to use that...

    Anyone have any suggestions?
     

    Advertisement

  2. fonehacker

    fonehacker Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011

    Jan 26, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    So did your phone ok now??? if not I know how to recover it from that position.I have had the same problem,and I recovered it.
     
  3. data95

    data95 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011

    Jan 24, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Maybe that could help me too... how do I install another "home" program... I rooted the phone and it had launcherpro on it (and it expired and locked my phone and couldn't update itself either)...
    Rus
     
  4. Kimboinatl

    Kimboinatl Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010

    Oct 24, 2010
    44
    4
    36
    Hey guys, sorry to the delayed response... yeah, I managed to fix it after a few days. Texting worked on the phone, so I sent a text to myself with the URL to launcherpro... downloaded that and installed it and I was up and running.

    Fonehacker, what was your fix?
     
  5. Alteration

    Alteration Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011

    Feb 14, 2011
    1
    1
    6
    I was thinking that you could have gone into recovery and used it's usb mounter and reinstalled a rom. But your method is pretty brilliant.
     
    Kimboinatl likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...