1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Weird screen issues

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by JxT, Feb 16, 2013.

  1. JxT

    JxT Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010

    Oct 22, 2010
    32
    1
    16

    Advertisement

  2. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    28,610
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    28,610
    22,073
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    Go into developer options and uncheck "show screen updates"
    Perhaps that will help:)
     
  3. Nehemiah

    Nehemiah Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    147
    Joined:
    May 19, 2012

    May 19, 2012
    147
    10
    38
    Electrician
    Florida
    also try..settings..developer options..and click disable hardware(hw) overlays
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  4. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    28,610
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    28,610
    22,073
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    Thanks Nehemiah!
    In fact, the only thing I have checked in the "Developer options" is "usb debugging".
    Every other box is UN-checked. :)
     
  5. JxT

    JxT Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010

    Oct 22, 2010
    32
    1
    16
    What does disable hardware overlays do? I didn't even have developer options enabled. The phone was only rooted and stock everything.
     
  6. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    28,610
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    28,610
    22,073
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    Most of the things in there I am not clear on, so I don't mess with them...only the usb debugging which I enabled before rooting my phone.

    So just enable the developer options and take a peek in there.:) Don't have to change anything, but just disable the "hardware overlays" and "screen updates" to see if it helps your screen issue.
     
  7. JxT

    JxT Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010

    Oct 22, 2010
    32
    1
    16
    The only thing though is I can't make the issue happen on demand. Few times it happens but most time it doesn't so I don't know if it really helps of not.
     
  8. JxT

    JxT Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010

    Oct 22, 2010
    32
    1
    16
    Okay it did happen still with disable hardware overlay. So what could it be?
     
  9. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,304
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    The first thing to try would be a factory reset. Since you are rooted, this will be less painless. Ensure you take a nandroid backup of your phone and also a titanium backup. Also suggest backing up sms with sms backup+

    Factory reset from recovery only (Android will wipe your internal SD card if you use that).

    If the issue doesn't go away, its not really software (or at least not YOUR software). Use triangle away to reset the flash counter, flash official ROM via odin (without booting into android first) then return it for repair (Check the flickering still happens on official ROM).

    If it does go away, it was your software. Selectively restore your apps and data using titanium. Only restore what you NEED. Any application that doesn't contain important data, restore the app only.
     
  10. JxT

    JxT Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010

    Oct 22, 2010
    32
    1
    16
    I tried factory resetting through recovery like you said but it still happened. The thing though is that it only happens in the gallery so far that I noticed. Is there a reason for that?
     
  11. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    28,610
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    28,610
    22,073
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    Just for giggles, try a different gallery app like QuickPic and see if it happens in that app :)
    I like that better anyways:)
     
  12. JxT

    JxT Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010

    Oct 22, 2010
    32
    1
    16
    Actually so far it hasn't. I'm thinking it's the animation that is causing the glitching. I might be screwed since I bought it off someone. Customer of a friend or something like that. He claimed it was a refurbished from t-mobile so hopefully I can get an exchange still.
     

Share This Page

Loading...