1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

We'll be saying goodbye to Evo for Thunderbolt

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by calvinrw, Apr 28, 2011.

  1. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    I noticed the double post as well
     

    Advertisement

  2. NicksGarage

    NicksGarage Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    297
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    297
    96
    53
    Social Media Administrator
    San Diego, CA
    Are you sure you're going to get 3G from Verizon in the same situation? My parent's house in the sticks only has Verizon or AT&T available yet I roam onto the VZ 3G network with my EVO when I'm visiting them. Not as fast as native Sprint 3G but definitely faster than my old phone which would not roam onto the VZ 3G network.
     
    star2011 likes this.
  3. bvbull200

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    999
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    999
    197
    113
    North Richland Hills, TX

    I was about to post the same thing. I guess he didn't feel he got enough attention from one thread?

    Maybe we can organize one big Thunderbolt e-cookie to give the guy.

    I get it. Sprint sucks in his area, Verizon doesn't. The device needs to be able to perform the minimum expectations of a smartphone to be considered and 3G data is one of them. I would have switched, too, albeit with a little less fanfare.
     
    star2011 likes this.
  4. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    why didn't he just flash the evo with a verizon prl????

    I have looked at the thunderbolt briefly...those lte speeds are pretty insane ...but I imagine my house lacks lte just as it does wimax

    hrmmmm...just looked it up and my home addy shows to actually have lte...so does work ( I get no sprint 3g or 4g at work)

    very interesting
     
    star2011 likes this.
  5. lordofthereef

    lordofthereef Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,131
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,131
    369
    163
    Student
    Wait, can this be done? I was always under the impression that Verizon wouldn't let Sprint phones onto their network due to the ESN?
     
  6. dan330

    dan330 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #26
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    11,855
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    11,855
    3,445
    923

    You are only forcing it to roam.. but it may force sprint to end your contact
     
  7. longshot

    longshot Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010

    Mar 26, 2010
    111
    18
    38
    At least alot of you can get wireless at home and have other high speed options like 4g here in the 20 year behind on technology state of WV I have to pedal a bike to generate enuff power to even charge my phone. LOL! Actually the 3g is the only high speed I can get here where I live, besides the dish option and their little F.A.P sucks!
     
    star2011 likes this.
  8. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    With no etf ;) and you get a clean esn. Hello metro hehe
     
  9. calvinrw

    calvinrw Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #1,318
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    72
    11
    18
    star2011 likes this.
  10. dan330

    dan330 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #26
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    11,855
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    11,855
    3,445
    923

    why ?

    it dont belong there. what does your post have to do with root?
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  11. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,420
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Agree, root thread closed.
     
  12. youdoofus

    youdoofus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,131
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    2,131
    746
    213
    Tech support rep for Knology
    so dak
    no issues, just gave me a lil chuckle is all... i still think that you can keep the evo on the vzw prl(until sprint boots ya that is LoL)
     
    star2011 likes this.
  13. youdoofus

    youdoofus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,131
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    2,131
    746
    213
    Tech support rep for Knology
    so dak
    rabid naked bunny kernel? WOAH!!! i hope it doesnt bite you, i hear that you need like 12 shots in the stomache to cure that!! ok, all kidding aside, is that a real kernel? i guess i could look too...
     
    star2011 likes this.
  14. youdoofus

    youdoofus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,131
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    2,131
    746
    213
    Tech support rep for Knology
    so dak
    is it this kernel? [Kernel]netarchy-toastmod, Stable: 4.3.1 Beta: 4.3.4 (17-Mar-2011) Now With HDMwIn
     
  15. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,420
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    It's from the changelog of the netarchy kernel. ;)

    I listed it that way to advertise that some of us do read the changelogs, and that if you don't, maybe you'll want to. :D

    I'm running an older release of the Evo rom and a kernel that matches it. I'm perfectly content, and awaiting Gingerbread or my next phone, under the theory that after a certain point, I don't fix what isn't broken. (That kernel does limit still camera megapixels, tho - and - that's another don't-care for me.)
     
    star2011 likes this.
  16. youdoofus

    youdoofus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,131
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    2,131
    746
    213
    Tech support rep for Knology
    so dak
    LoL gotcha, yeah thats what i found from my google search... too funny man:) im kinda at the same point, cm7 and tiamat 3.3.7 work.... period lol so why attempt to fix what aint broke?
     
    star2011 and EarlyMon like this.
  17. Palmetto Fellow

    Palmetto Fellow Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,022
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010

    Sep 24, 2010
    2,022
    323
    183
    SC
    Indeed...the carrier comes first...then choose the phone. I may be moving to Verizon when my Sprint contract is up. I have more issues than anticipated with Sprint's 3G coverage. Also, by the time my contract is up, most of the places I go will finally have saturated LTE coverage. I'll probably pay an extra $20/mo though...
     
    star2011 likes this.
  18. Halfbaked

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    173
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011

    Jun 8, 2011
    173
    45
    43
    If you have a Sprint phone you can roam on Verizons network. If you have taken road trips using navigationyour phone has to be out of Sprint Only for roaming purposes. If you don't have access to 3G, navigation won't work. This means you are using Verizon towers for data.
     
    star2011 likes this.
  19. evos4life

    evos4life Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    12
    1
    16
    Mobile development student
    NY
    So aside from the carrier, what's the difference?
     
  20. sleepy3103

    sleepy3103 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011

    Feb 2, 2011
    36
    7
    16
    4G and 3G speeds all depend on your area. 4G is still super spotty and inconsistent. I just did a speed test in the parking lot at mcdonalds. 3G was 1.2 mbs down and 900kbs up. Switched to 4G and got 6.2 mbs up and 2.2 mbs down.

    Just figured is throw that out there. I'm in Cleveland Ohio by the way.
     
    star2011 likes this.
  21. Halfbaked

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    173
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011

    Jun 8, 2011
    173
    45
    43
    This should be comparing the EVO 3D vs the Thunderbolt. The EVO 3D kills the Thunderbolt on every level.
     
  22. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,420
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    It's more about needing to move to Verizon, where the 3vo won't work either.
     
  23. devinEVO

    devinEVO Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    176
    Joined:
    May 19, 2011

    May 19, 2011
    176
    56
    53
    Self Employed
    S.E. OK
    my speeds arnt too bad even in roaming situations. still better ping times than my home internet (wildblue) because i literally live in the middle of nowhere... and spend a month at a time without service lol but i still throw my 94 bucks a month at "the man" and am completely satisfied with what ever service i do recieve from them
     
    star2011 likes this.
  24. evos4life

    evos4life Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    12
    1
    16
    Mobile development student
    NY



    How do you flash the prl to roam in verizons network?
     
  25. sitlet

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    5,867
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    5,867
    633
    213
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...