1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root what am I doing wrong?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by pcdebb, Oct 16, 2010.

  1. pcdebb

    pcdebb Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010

    Aug 29, 2010
    310
    43
    73
    Female
    Tampa, FL
    I've literally been up all nite (zero sleep) trying to root my Epic. i'm now on my 4th "one click" program, but it seems that I'm not making a connection to the phone. I'm following everything to the letter, watching utube vids, I don't know what I'm not doing?? I'm just a little frustrated as I've spent 8 hours on so many different sites telling me basically the same thing :(

    i've mounted/unmounted (i understand it should NOT be mounted), debugging mode is checked. I dunno?
     

    Advertisement

  2. AndroidSPCS

    AndroidSPCS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,222
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    3,222
    478
    183
    geek
    USA
  3. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    Are you opposed to rooting the long way?

    Worst case scenario, I'll be up in Tampa in a few weeks and can assist if you don't get it working by then.
     
  4. pcdebb

    pcdebb Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010

    Aug 29, 2010
    310
    43
    73
    Female
    Tampa, FL
    did not work. device not found. something is blocking the phone from being recognized by the computer.
     
  5. pcdebb

    pcdebb Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010

    Aug 29, 2010
    310
    43
    73
    Female
    Tampa, FL
    I'm not opposed, I will do any method that works, but it seems NOTHING is working.

    How do I get the phone to be seen??
     
  6. pcdebb

    pcdebb Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010

    Aug 29, 2010
    310
    43
    73
    Female
    Tampa, FL
    so i took a few steps back. bedtime can't happen now, so i decided to reboot my computer and went and made some coffee. came back and tried the simplest of the "one clicks". it stayed at "waiting for device" for only like 2 seconds, so I have better success already. It stated it will take a moment, so i'm going to enjoy my coffee and see how this goes.

    FWIW, at my earliest opportunity I'm doing one of two things:
    Buy a Mac and throw this WINDOWS computer in the street
    Uninstall windows and go 100% Linux

    I have the stupidest problems with windows sometimes......:mad:
     
  7. pcdebb

    pcdebb Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010

    Aug 29, 2010
    310
    43
    73
    Female
    Tampa, FL
    :sigh:

    So it stated that my device was rooted, and one of the videos said to download a program that requires root, so i downloaded titanium backup, but when I tried to run it, it said that it needed root access. Rebooted phone. downloaded again. needs root access.

    I give up :(
     
  8. AndroidSPCS

    AndroidSPCS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,222
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    3,222
    478
    183
    geek
    USA
    Don't give up. You Probably are rooted. Titanium backup requires busybox which you can download via the app. That is why you ar3e seeing the root error.

    A mac may help, but I think you just need to be more methodical and perstistent.
     
  9. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    Agreed, don't give up! What he said above is likely the case. :)
     
  10. pcdebb

    pcdebb Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010

    Aug 29, 2010
    310
    43
    73
    Female
    Tampa, FL
    I think I needed some sleep. Well, I still need sleep. Been awake all day but it's about to end real soon :p

    I do think I am rooted. It made mention of busybox so I let it download it. I noticed in my app list I have something called "superuser", and I realize that was what was asking for permission. I think I was able to run it, and did a back up of contacts (dont know where it went tho lol)

    My main reason for rooting is to delete all this Sprint bloatware that I keep killing in ATK. My google search skills arent too good apparently because I didnt find any instructions or apps that will let me do this.

    with all the stuff I've been doing to attempt to clean the phone up and preserve battery life, I'm surprised it's not bricked yet *crosses fingers* and *knocks on wood* :eek:
     
  11. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    pcdebb likes this.
  12. pcdebb

    pcdebb Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010

    Aug 29, 2010
    310
    43
    73
    Female
    Tampa, FL
    Quick Boot worked :cool:

    I use a prepaid visa for online purchases and I need to load it before purchasing root explorer. gonna see what other cool rooted apps I can find. and now I get to educate myself on roms and such.

    the world is mine mwhahahahahaha :D
     
  13. pcdebb

    pcdebb Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010

    Aug 29, 2010
    310
    43
    73
    Female
    Tampa, FL
  14. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    Yeap, remove away!
     
  15. pcdebb

    pcdebb Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010

    Aug 29, 2010
    310
    43
    73
    Female
    Tampa, FL
    good stuff. now to find some sort of startup manager and I'll be happy for the night. I still have some things that I want to keep, but dont want starting up unless I start them manually. Sometimes I see them in ATK and I didn't run them
     
  16. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    ATK.... NOoooooooooooo (voice fades away)


    Like what?
     
  17. pcdebb

    pcdebb Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010

    Aug 29, 2010
    310
    43
    73
    Female
    Tampa, FL
    lol.....I admit it's annoying, launching it often to keep killing tasks. I'm searching "startup" or "startup monitor" and not finding anything I feel good about.

    Common ones i'm seeing is voice dialer, super user is there sometimes, pdanet was there once and i've never launched it yet, and i've seen slacker a few times. I want as little as possible unless its needed, like beautiful widgets or launcher pro, gmail, etc.
     
  18. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    FWIW, I don't use either so I can't assist with that (I'd advise letting android run on it's own though). :)

    Oh well... at least you are rooted!!! :D
     
  19. pcdebb

    pcdebb Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010

    Aug 29, 2010
    310
    43
    73
    Female
    Tampa, FL
    yes, and I'm happy :D thank you kindly ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...