1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support what app or program do i need to remotly access my pc

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Live2Race, Sep 21, 2011.

  1. Live2Race

    Live2Race Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    42
    2
    16
    What program do i need on my pc so i can remotely access my pc from my inc 2 from anywhere? I cannot seem to find what i need.

    i wanna be able to access my files and transfer them possibly

    thanx guys
     

    Advertisement

  2. Live2Race

    Live2Race Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    42
    2
    16
  3. TheAtheistReverend

    TheAtheistReverend Anybody want a peanut?
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #67
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,837
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    2,837
    933
    333
    EMT
    Minneapolis
    Been meaning to try polkast. If anyone has tried it, let me know what you think...
     
  4. jacwashere7

    jacwashere7 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    83
    0
    15
    PA
    I use an app called Teamviewer. Its free for Android, Windows, and Linux.. Very useful
     
  5. hilmar2k

    hilmar2k Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,369
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011

    Jun 29, 2011
    1,369
    293
    163
    New York
  6. TheAtheistReverend

    TheAtheistReverend Anybody want a peanut?
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #67
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,837
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    2,837
    933
    333
    EMT
    Minneapolis
    Is a $15 app that much better than the free ones?
     
  7. hilmar2k

    hilmar2k Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,369
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011

    Jun 29, 2011
    1,369
    293
    163
    New York
    Well, it is listed here under "Best Apps". :D
     
  8. Live2Race

    Live2Race Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    42
    2
    16
    I think i am going to try PhoneMypc today after work, from what i have been reading about it, its well worth the $15. will keep you all posted
     
  9. TheAtheistReverend

    TheAtheistReverend Anybody want a peanut?
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #67
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,837
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    2,837
    933
    333
    EMT
    Minneapolis
    So, waddya think Live2Race? Is it worth it?
    Btw, what operating system are you running on your PC?
     
  10. picord

    picord Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    245
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    245
    35
    43
    Male
    Automotive Wholesale Parts Purchaser
    Northern Ca. Bay Area
    I've used team viewer and for being free it's a good app.
     
  11. Live2Race

    Live2Race Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    42
    2
    16

    Sorry i have not gotten it yet, been really busy with work. I think i will give it a try tomorrow as im finally off. I am running Windows 7 64bit
     
  12. Live2Race

    Live2Race Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    42
    2
    16
    i use Team Viewer all the time on my pc to help other peeps out with there pc, but its still limited when it comes to streaming videos and music you do not get the sound on the other end.
     
  13. TheAtheistReverend

    TheAtheistReverend Anybody want a peanut?
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #67
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,837
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    2,837
    933
    333
    EMT
    Minneapolis
    I haven't been able to set up a VNC viewer to work properly and I wonder if it is because I am using USI wireless/Minneapolis Public Wireless for my connection to the internet. I believe it is currently not possible to have a static IP address with USI wireless. Anyone know if that would cause issues? I can only imagine it is, but I really have no experience with this.
     
  14. Live2Race

    Live2Race Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    42
    2
    16

    i am really am not sure if the wireless would affect it or not, but when i set mine up i will try it to my desktop wired and wireless and let you know how it works.
     
  15. TheAtheistReverend

    TheAtheistReverend Anybody want a peanut?
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #67
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,837
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    2,837
    933
    333
    EMT
    Minneapolis
    It isn't that I am using a wireless network in-home, It's that my ISP is wireless. Instead of Cable or DSL the city of Minneapolis has a network of wireless antenna all over the city. I have an account with USI (the contracted servicer/builder) and can access the internet from anywhere in the city by Wifi. Pretty sweet actually.
     
  16. SusieQ228

    SusieQ228 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011

    Mar 6, 2011
    13
    0
    35
    I am trying to connect using Polkast now and came here to see if anyone else tried it. It seems to good to be true.

    Everything seemed to set up fine, but when I log in from my phone, it just hangs at "Connecting to PC..."
     
  17. TheAtheistReverend

    TheAtheistReverend Anybody want a peanut?
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #67
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,837
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    2,837
    933
    333
    EMT
    Minneapolis
    Polkast failed for me too. I think it worked fine until I had added my whole library. I think I overloaded it.
    Still looking for something...
     

Share This Page

Loading...