1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

What browser are you using?

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Chidori602, Oct 15, 2010.

  1. Chidori602

    Chidori602 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    230
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010

    Jun 18, 2010
    230
    3
    36
    Male
    What browser are you using? Opera in xp & Chrome in Ubuntu for me.
     

    Advertisement

  2. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    22,492
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    22,492
    11,855
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    Chrome almost all the time at the moment, on OS X, Ubuntu and Win 7. I like my browser to be consistant on whatever OS I'm using. I used to be strictly Firefox, but found it's got somewhat bloated these days, plus it crashed sometimes. I've also used Opera in the past.
     
  3. SoulTerror

    SoulTerror Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    724
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010

    Feb 18, 2010
    724
    48
    88
    Male
    Help Desk Manager
    North Carolina
    Internet Explorer. I tried Chrome when it first came out and I didn't notice any speed difference like it claims to have. I also don't like how they did the bookmarks.
     
  4. Jammy

    Jammy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    972
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    972
    174
    113
    United Kingdom
    Chromium :D

    No lag on it, even when I have 40 odd tabs/windows open :O
     
  5. LickTheEnvelope

    LickTheEnvelope Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    161
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010

    Oct 13, 2010
    161
    23
    58
    Cellular Provider- Customer Service
    Vancouver
    IE and sometimes Firefox. Also have Chrome installed but haven't updated in 4 months or so...
     
  6. shatterpoints

    shatterpoints Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010

    Oct 11, 2010
    3
    0
    5
  7. GrdLock

    GrdLock Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    405
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009

    Nov 25, 2009
    405
    188
    68
    Texas
  8. Super_Six_Two

    Super_Six_Two Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    594
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010

    Aug 12, 2010
    594
    76
    78
    NJ
    Chrome for all my personal stuff and Firefox for work.
     
  9. leobaumer

    leobaumer Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010

    Apr 1, 2010
    3
    0
    25
    SharePoint/.Net Programmer
    I love Chrome but I had to switch back to IE 8 as my default because no one does LogMeIn.com like IE (it's the only browser that gives me a full screen remote sessions, the others stay in the browser).

    I don't recommend IE 9 yet - I had to uninstall the beta because it didn't play well with LogMeIn.com full screen :eek: and a couple of my other favorite apps.
     
  10. saps

    saps Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    5,092
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    5,092
    504
    233
    Top Secret
    WA
    FF and Chrome
     
  11. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Installed: Firefox 4.0 Beta 6, Minefield 4.0 Beta 8 Pre-release (64bit), IE 9 beta, IE 9 Beta (64bit), Chrome Developer Edition (8.0.552.0 dev) and Opera 10.XX (beta).

    I use Minefield daily, IE every once in a while when something won't load correctly in Minefield (or Fx) and Chrome updates itself from the dev channel.

    I stick with Fx b/c I can move the profile where I want to, create it where I want to and if I have to uninstall / reinstall it and / or format my machine, I just install, run profile manager, point it to my existing profile, and poof! all of my stuff is right there, extensions settings, the whole nine yards.

    Right now I am using Minefield extensively b/c of the (finally!) 64bit Flash build and the fact that my minefield is 64bit as well. In fact, typing in here from Minefield.

    Oh, and I have the latest Fennec 4.0b2 installed on my DROID as well. As soon as the next nightly comes out I can enable sync and then all my stuff on my computer is on my phone. BMs, tabs, history, all that jazz :D
     
  12. flyinggpenguin

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010

    Oct 10, 2010
    11
    0
    35
    Student.
    America. :p
    Chrome on OS X plz.
     
  13. foo

    foo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    483
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008

    Oct 20, 2008
    483
    105
    68
    IT
    Chicago, IL
    I was using Chrome for a bit, but I have gone back to FF. The add-ons seem quite a bit more polished/flawless in FF compared to Chrome. I may move back in the far future, but FF just feels too solid to really look elsewhere right now.
     
  14. DustinHoffman10

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010

    I'm using Mozilla Firefox due to lots of add ons supported with Firefox.
     
  15. MattThing

    MattThing Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010

    Oct 20, 2010
    39
    1
    36
    UK
    I've always used FF, it's interesting to see how popular Chrome is, on the assumption that quite a few of those switched from FF, can I ask why?
     
  16. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    22,492
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    22,492
    11,855
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    I've been using Chrome as my main browser for quite a while. After I found Firefox to be crashing about once a day, taking all my tabs with it. One didn't have to be doing anything with it and it would crash. This was on a Mac..and I think it was Firefox 3.5. I've got so used to how Chrome works now, and feel comfortable and confident with it.

    Firefox has had a memory leak for a while, which has been documented a few times. I've observed Firefox taking well over 1GB of RAM if it's been left running for a day or so, even with only 2-3 tabs open. Again this is on a Mac. Chrome never really goes over 300MB.
     
  17. KyleReese

    KyleReese Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010

    Oct 20, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    I'm using google chrome all the time. I barely use firefox.
     
  18. monsterenergy22

    monsterenergy22 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    496
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    496
    53
    73
    Opera all the way.
     
    kevindroid likes this.
  19. yojoe600

    yojoe600 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,188
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    2,188
    207
    143
    College Student
    NC
  20. ElasticNinja

    ElasticNinja Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    4,488
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010

    Aug 29, 2010
    4,488
    472
    183
    Student
    Cork City, IMF, EU
    Switched from FF to Chrome
    Think I'll go back when I get my lappie
     
  21. baillou2

    baillou2 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    240
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010

    Sep 28, 2010
    240
    43
    63
    my job sucks....
    The Aloha State on a smallish island...
    Chrome
    ftw :)
     
  22. thrawn86

    thrawn86 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    512
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    512
    33
    68
    Miranda
    opera, you heathens. Chrome's gesture plugins blow ass...

    I'm about ready to murder the next person I see using IE 7.
     
  23. DKYang

    DKYang Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    263
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    263
    19
    38
    FL
    Chrome and Firefox. IE and Safari (on mac, not windows) can go elsewhere.
     
  24. conor.in

    conor.in Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    207
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010

    Oct 20, 2010
    207
    13
    58
    Indiana
    I'm using Safari on Win7. I really love the Top Sites and Reader features, which are preventing me from switching to Chrome. Also, we have a Mac as the desktop hub in my house, so the familiarity is nice when I use that.

    I am also trying out IE9 Beta, but can't bring myself to like it too much. It just runs... oddly.
     
  25. cjr72

    cjr72 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    292
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    292
    43
    43
    I went with Chrome for a while but it was a major memory hog on my older work machine and after a while the hard drive would start churning while swapping out virtual memory. So back to FF for me.
     

Share This Page

Loading...