• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

What do I "lose" with straight Android?

gordonwd

Jun 16, 2010
I'm thinking of a Nexus for my next phone, but am not sure where plain Android ends and mfr/carrier customizations begin on the phones I've been using. I had an unlocked HTC Desire (Android 2.3) and now an AT&T Galaxy S2 (4.x), but have never been exactly sure what functionality is custom vs. standard Android.

For example, a lot of the newer phones have some tricked-out camera options that I'm sure are missing in the basic release. Also, aren't there some hardware features that the mfrs build in that would not be recognized by a vanilla Android build?

I have no interest in rooting my phone and flashing new system images, etc. But I do want to be able to quickly upgrade to new Android versions, and as a developer I'd like to be able to verify that my product works on a phone with no vendor-specific add-ons getting in the way. Will I feel that I've lost anything by going this route?

I think if you use the camera a lot, you might lose out. The Nexus 4 camera is pretty basic, but it also was the 1st with 'photosphere'...we don't know really what the N5 will bring.
I find that HTC phones are the closest looking to pure Android...compared to Samsung phones...but I really don't like HTC phones...lol
I went from a Samsung Exhibit 4G to the Nexus 4...it took a few days to get used to what was & wasn't there...but from now on I can't see me using anything else.
IMO...the Nexus is the way to go...but I also mean the true Nexus line...not the Samsung or HTC Nexus versions.

Upvote 0
Thanks. What is meant by "true" Nexus? They're all made by someone -- isn't the Nexus 4 by LG?