1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support What do I need to do to stop data being used abroad?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ayrshiredude, Nov 21, 2010.

  1. ayrshiredude

    ayrshiredude Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    167
    7
    36
    Going to the US in the next couple of days and wondered what I need to do to make sure I don't get any large phone bills when I get home.

    I am using Froyo. Am I right in saying that all i need to do is select data etwork mode in the power button menu? Is that all I need to do? Also I will be using wifi, if I have the data off will data still work with wifi?

    All help appreciated,
     

    Advertisement

  2. t sport 1978

    t sport 1978 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    245
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    245
    45
    43
    London, UK
    When i travelled to HK i did the following with view of the same requirement:

    Unticked Use Packet Data (settings - wireless and network - mobile networks)

    Unticked Data Roaming (settings - wireless and network - mobile networks)

    I checked when i came back and the phone used exactly 0kb of data.

    Hope this helps.
     
  3. mattuhh

    mattuhh Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    125
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    There's the things listed above by Tsport, there's also the selecting data mode on/off bit when you hold the lock button.
    There's a few apps you can download to prevent you using any data, the one i use is called APNdroid, and when you turn it on it will prevent your phone using and data until you unselect it again.
     

Share This Page

Loading...