1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips What do you need to do to replace the microSD card?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by JohnJSal, Sep 10, 2010.

  1. JohnJSal

    JohnJSal Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #266
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    923
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    923
    67
    78
    Houston, TX
    I just took a look at the contents of the preinstalled card and it seems to have a lot of Android stuff on it. If I want to replace it with a larger capacity card, what do I need to do in order to keep all this presumably important stuff?

    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Cobravision

    Cobravision Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    784
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    784
    162
    93
    Just copy the entire contents of your old SD card to the new one. But do the copy to the new SD card offline via an SD card reader. Then just swap out the cards.
     
  3. JohnJSal

    JohnJSal Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #266
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    923
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    923
    67
    78
    Houston, TX
    What do you mean by offline? Off the internet? Or off the phone?
     
  4. ordcavms

    ordcavms Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010

    Jul 2, 2010
    20
    6
    16
    I have run my phone without the card, so I don't think it has too much on there that is absolutely necessary. I did notice without it in, it would not take pictures.

    I think what he means by offline is not in the phone. Personally I would just hook up your phone to your computer and mount the phone as drive and copy and paste all the contents on to your computer. Then install the new SD card and see if it asks for the new card to be formatted by the phone and let it do the rest. Then you can copy your personal files from your computer to the new card. Good luck!
     
  5. Rob_A

    Rob_A Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    825
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    825
    216
    113
    New York
    exactly what I did.

    Copied everything off the old card to my PC, installed the new card, formatted it in the phone, copied from PC back to the Phone.
     
  6. Cobravision

    Cobravision Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    784
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    784
    162
    93
    I attached my phone with the old card to the PC via USB and the new card in an SD card reader. Formatted the new SD to fat32 on the PC. Copied the entire contents of the old to the new then just swapped out the cards. No issues with my 32gb card formatted to fat32 on the PC.

    I suggested copying to the new SD off the phone in case some of the apps to SD programs decided to make new folders on boot up.
     
  7. JohnJSal

    JohnJSal Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #266
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    923
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    923
    67
    78
    Houston, TX
    Did you copy *everything*, like Android stuff too, or just your own personal files like music, pictures, etc.?
     
  8. Rob_A

    Rob_A Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    825
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    825
    216
    113
    New York
    Everything
     
  9. sitlet

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    5,867
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    5,867
    633
    213
    Yes, everything, as in Control-A.
     
  10. JohnJSal

    JohnJSal Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #266
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    923
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    923
    67
    78
    Houston, TX
    But doesn't Android format the new card and add any of this stuff on its own? If not, wouldn't there be problems trying to do things until you copied it all back over from the old card?
     
  11. JohnJSal

    JohnJSal Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #266
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    923
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    923
    67
    78
    Houston, TX
    Just a quick follow-up to my last question...when you install a new SD card and Android "prepares" it and formats it (if it does that), does this process put those same folders onto the card like the original SD card had, or does it still leave the card empty?

    If it's still empty, I would definitely do a CTRL+A copy, but if the new card does already have some folders and files on it, would it be good to replace them with the contents of the old card?
     
  12. sitlet

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    5,867
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    5,867
    633
    213
    It doesnt matter, if it creates folders, there shouldnt be anything in there. The BEST way to do it, is copy EVERYTHING on the old card, and paste EVERYTHING to the new card, overwriting anything that android already created. That way everything will run just as it was before.
     
    JohnJSal likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...