1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

What DON'T you like about Gingerbread

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bigbadwulff, Jun 3, 2011.

  1. HeHatesMe

    HeHatesMe Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    Jun 7, 2011
    54
    60
    33
    Mobile Hotspot hack still works.
     

    Advertisement

    Lars likes this.
  2. Metfanant

    Metfanant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,450
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    2,450
    412
    163

    Clear data for the multi touch keyboard app
     
    mfzero likes this.
  3. nsa_sailor

    nsa_sailor Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    413
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    413
    52
    83
    Engineer
    Wichita
    What is this?
     
  4. diva102

    diva102 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011

    Jun 10, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    I don't like anything about Gingerbread. My phone operates MUCH slower, the battery drains MUCH faster, the weird blue shading is annoying, I can't scroll through my pictures as easily as before, my apps run slow, when running Pandora my phone reboots itself, the keyboard is annoying, it seems to take longer to charge. They better get this fixed fast.
     
  5. KevinGC

    KevinGC Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010

    Nov 8, 2010
    11
    1
    16
    Grove City, Ohio
    Ok, yet another complaint post from me. Guessing this is either a bug or a setting that needs changed. NEVER had any trouble with texting before GB update. Now, sometime when I try to send a text message from standard textinf app that came with phone, I get a message that text was not sent. Try to resend and again it won't go. Only way to get it to work is to power off and back on, then it will send. Have pulled battery to see if that helped, but it still does it once or twice a day. When it won't work, my 3g indicator is still blue, and my wireless network connection (either at home or work) is good.
    Any ideas? This one in particular is driving me absolutely crazy.
     
  6. Metfanant

    Metfanant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,450
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    2,450
    412
    163

    Try clearing the data and cache of the texting app
     
  7. hklevi

    hklevi Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    51
    8
    16
    President, Alamo City LX Modern Mopar USAF SF Re
    San Antonio, TX but mostly in denial
    After the update my browser started closing just after opening, the annoying "sync" icon in the tray, email not pushing and several other annoyances so I decided to to a rest. Fixed email sync, sync icon and browser but now my navigation won't track, it just keeps saying "searching for GPS". I can usually get listed directions but turn by turn navigation is shot. Also been getting random re-boots and phone bricking at moments like incoming calls....

    SO any ideas from the enlightened ones?
     
  8. hklevi

    hklevi Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    51
    8
    16
    President, Alamo City LX Modern Mopar USAF SF Re
    San Antonio, TX but mostly in denial
    Well.....I found a couple of threads here that combined seemed to fix the GPS. I uninstalled my google maps and re-installed it along with calibrating the compass (which took forever) and BAM, nav works like a charm. SO as long as the random re-boots don't become a daily occurrence I think I'll be a happy camper (fingers crossed)
     
  9. lexluthor

    lexluthor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    283
    Posts:
    4,161
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    4,161
    402
    283
    Long Island, NY
    Can you point me to those threads? I'm having lots of gps problems here of late.

    Sometimes it'll never sync with any satellites and then after I reboot, our sees them right away.
     
  10. sg1fan

    sg1fan Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010

    Aug 15, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    On several occasions i have had my phone randomly reboot itself on GB, which i don't remember happening at all with Froyo. and the Sirus/XM app sux on GB.
     
  11. meezi

    meezi Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    May 10, 2010

    May 10, 2010
    48
    3
    16
    I need help as well. I just updated to GB on Friday. I can't answer calls, for some reason the swipe to answer a call freezes when I get an incoming one. My battery which used to last a day now only last 4hrs. I changed it to "Max battery saver" I used to have set as "Nighttime saver," over all my phone has gotten really sluggish and laggy with everything I try to do. Any suggestions? I really want to avoid doing a data wipe. I just hate redoing everything, losing my scores (i know that's a stupid reason). And that seems to be vzw's #1 way to resolve any issues I have.

    This morning, my screen kept getting locked every time I tried to open/close a web browser, music player, news article...I had to do a battery pull each time in order to unfreeze the phone.

    The music player doesn't allow me to adjust the volume anymore either, is that feature removed?
     
  12. KevinGC

    KevinGC Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010

    Nov 8, 2010
    11
    1
    16
    Grove City, Ohio
    Took a look at texting app. Cache was already clear. Didn't want to clear data because it said I would lose all my setting and erase my accounts.
     
  13. CLeeFury

    CLeeFury Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011

    Apr 14, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    The new needing WiFi to download apps and updates is driving me crazy. Esp. because they don't let you clear the orange cones from the notification bar.

    Also, swype seems much worse for wear... almost never gets words right. Get a parsing error when I try to install the beta version.
     
  14. Denise87

    Denise87 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I finally just installed it (after a friggen run-around)

    Haven't played with it much yet - but I absolutely HATE how "dark" it appears. My wallpaper doesn't seem nearly as vibrant as it did and the phone just seems gloomy, lol.
     
  15. Metfanant

    Metfanant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,450
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    2,450
    412
    163
    huh? apps and updates should download perfectly fine over 3G

    at least Blur has white menus and light blue highlights lol...stock vanilla AOSP Gingerbread is COMPLETELY black and green lol
     
  16. foo

    foo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    483
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008

    Oct 20, 2008
    483
    105
    68
    IT
    Chicago, IL
    So, I don't think anyone has touched on this. Is anyone kinda confused as to why when you 1st launch the app drawer after a reboot it has to "rebuild application icon list". Like wtf...sure it's very minor, but who thought that was a good effing idea? Never once have I see a phone make you wait to see installed apps like that. It wasn't ever like that in foryo and before (iirc). That's prob one of the dumber parts of GB, imo.
    It kinda bug anyone else?
     
  17. lexluthor

    lexluthor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    283
    Posts:
    4,161
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    4,161
    402
    283
    Long Island, NY
    It was way worse on 2.1 and think froyo had it too.

    Try a third party launcher like go launcher ex. Much improved.
     
  18. roninmoto

    roninmoto Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    15
    5
    16
    IT Consultant
    USA
    I have had the issue on both of my Droid X phones where if I try to dial my voice mail or a contact from the phone and it goes to dial and then quickly hangs up. Even if I try to manually input a number, it will not dial. The only thing I can do is reboot the phone to get it to work again.

    I spent some time on the phone with Verizon and Motorola support simultaneously and we can up with a fix that I no longer have the problem. As far as I know, this only works on Verizon because there is an OTA that fixes the roaming aspect of the phone. (Note: The OTA still works even if you rooted the phone, mine is rooted and had no problems doing the OTA update.)

    1. Power off the device, pull the battery wait 30 seconds, put it back in and power up the phone.
    2. Once the phone is fully back up dial *228 (put it in speaker mode, don't have to, it is just easier to navigate.) Listen for the prompt to update the roaming on the phone, it should be option 2. Press 2 on the number pad and then Verizon says it is doing an update (it takes 1 to 2 minutes to complete the update). Once the update is complete, just click END. You do NOT need to continue with the activation wizard.
    3. Turn off the device and pull the battery again, leave it out. Hold down the power button for 60 seconds, do not let it go. Your phone is not going to look like it is doing anything, but it is. After 60 seconds, wait another 30 seconds and then place the battery back into the phone and turn it back on.

    The problem should be fixed now. It worked for me, I have not had an issue since doing this update.

    Cheers
    Ronin


    ***UPDATE*** Seems the problem came back. Worked fine for about two weeks, now have to reboot phone to make a call. I'm going to call tech support and see what more I can do.
    Really getting tired of Motorola's crappy work. Might be time to change to a Samsung.
     
    nsa_sailor and ozzzy3z like this.
  19. rickrabies

    rickrabies Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011

    Jul 24, 2011
    66
    0
    35
    stuff
    iowa
    rooted with liberty rom.
    form 2.2 to 2.3 it took away my option to hide status bar ;(
    but its much cleaner and faster
     
  20. H & J Motorsports

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010

    Dec 11, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    New to the forum --cant believe no one has mentioned this with the update:

    We just got a new update to version 2.3 and now we lost our groups--let me explain

    Lets say i get a joke with a pic--i long press hold and forward--pic group jokes for friends and hit send--it goes out to 20 people at one time---this is the way it USED to work

    Version 2.3 has NO GROUPS so i downloaded dw contact and it has groups BUT you cant FORWARD from a regular txt joke to the group set up in the app

    Am i being stupid or just missing something???

    Thanks

    BTW--I have forwarded tons of jokes BEFORE the update so i know how to do it--now with update i cant

    Thanks
    __________________
     

Share This Page

Loading...