1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General What exactly is Sense UI, and what makes it the shizz?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Jshizzy, Jul 6, 2010.

  1. Jshizzy

    Jshizzy Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    187
    17
    38
    I have always wondered this, but I have never asked. Even when switching between home replacements, the only difference I have noticed is: Not being able to long press an app and move it from home screen to home screen.
     

    Advertisement

  2. mdeblaz

    mdeblaz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    408
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    408
    37
    43
    Basically, just call it the eye candy that HTC provides over the Android OS. The widgets and some syncing. Makes it look better.
     
  3. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    There is some functionality in Sense that either needs replacement when going to another launcher or finding an app that will mimic that functionality.

    One I miss is long pressing a picture while browsing the internet and being able to save it for use later as wallpaper.
     
  4. Podivin

    Podivin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,679
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    3,679
    881
    213
    Jacksonville, Fl
    Huh? I'm using Launcher Pro and the default Internet app (unrooted). I just tried this to make sure it worked. Grabbed a picture at random off the internet(long press, save). Went to Menu/wallpaper and it allowed me to select the picture I'd just downloaded. I noticed it also was 'offering' to let me use book covers for ebooks that I have on my phone.
     
  5. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    All I get with a long press of a picture is a menu with "back," "forward," "refresh," "new bookmark," "find text" and "copy text."
     
  6. Podivin

    Podivin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,679
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    3,679
    881
    213
    Jacksonville, Fl
    Obviously you're not holding your mouth right, or you got your fedora tipped at the wrong angle - something like that...
    You're rooted where I am not, wonder if that's the difference?
     
  7. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    I have been thinking that the difference is either the absence of Sense or of an app I deleted as root that I did not need but which was connected to that functionality.
     
  8. Haxcid

    Haxcid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    413
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    413
    29
    43
    @OP

    Sense being the shizzy is a long debate that many will tell you it is not. I personally think in concept it is great, but in execution by HTC it sucks. I have stopped using it and prefer a 3rd party application. But in the end it is your personal choice.
     
  9. xAusTiN

    xAusTiN Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    224
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    224
    14
    38
    Cleveland, Ohio
    The only thing I loved about Sense was the widgets. LauncherPro beats it out of the water every other way.
     
  10. Jshizzy

    Jshizzy Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    187
    17
    38
    Any widget packs that have close to the same function as the HTC ones? I really like Launcher Pro too but I really like the htc widgets so I am using Sense UI right now. Seems like most of the widget packs I download are just shortcuts to the setting I am trying to toggle. I use the Mobile Network one quite oftem (I understand I can long press the end button and get the same result as a widget, but I prefer a widget) and Airplane Mode alot. Airplane Mode Toggles are a dime a dozen in the Market, but some are smoother and faster than others.

    EDIT: And turning the Network off when you are not using the Browser REALLY saves some battery life on my phone. Also I do not use any widgets for radio apps, I just open the app by pressing the icon. I usually keep 3G turned off most of the day.
     
  11. Hiroshika

    Hiroshika Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    166
    24
    38
    Beautiful widgets has a similar clock, and all the wifi on/off, gps on off, etc.
    There unfortunately isnt a 3g on off anywhere on the market that works with cdma phones (well afaik), but the easiest way to do that really is just hold down power button for a second then hit mobile network to turn it on/ off. Im pretty sure you can do that anywhere, as apposed to just being able to do it where the widget is at.

    Only downside is that its not free.... But its totally worth it!
     
    Jshizzy likes this.
  12. Hercules

    Hercules Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    100
    3
    36
    Utah
    Check out easy switch. Has all the toggles you could ever need (including the mobile network toggle). This is the only one I know of that has that toggle.
     
    Jshizzy likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...