• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

What happens after the 5GB data cap on 3G?

cesjr02

Android Enthusiast
May 6, 2010
Pretty simple question since I'm new to both Sprint service and a data loving smartphone.

I'm not in a 4G area, I'll primarily be on Sprint's 3G service. First of all, 5GB is a lot for anything we'd be doing on a phone, has anyone came close to hitting 5GB/mo?

Also what happens after you hit 5GB, is data service cut off or are you simply charged into oblivion?

there is no 5 gig cap on the evo. the $10 charge lifts the cap!!

I've been all over these forums and see a lot of people saying that there is no 5GB cap with the Premium Data Plan... BUT I haven't seen one post confirming this with a link to an official statement from Sprint. Has anyone else seen anything official from Sprint? I hope this is true because then I'll feel like I'm actually getting something for the extra charge.

Upvote 0
There never was a 3g 5gig cap for phone data use, only for 3g broadband devices. Read Sprints fine print, it ONLY lists a 5gig cap for 3g broadband, NOT for phone usage.

http://shop.sprint.com/NASApp/onlin...terStringParamName=&newZipCode=14623&x=45&y=4

You'll see at the bottom of that link for Mobile Broadband Connection Plans it lists it, doesn't for phone plans.

Now if you tether, that is a different story because it is not the phone using the data, another device is.

Upvote 0
I've been all over these forums and see a lot of people saying that there is no 5GB cap with the Premium Data Plan... BUT I haven't seen one post confirming this with a link to an official statement from Sprint. Has anyone else seen anything official from Sprint? I hope this is true because then I'll feel like I'm actually getting something for the extra charge.

Official documents do show the 5gb cap is lifted: http://explainthefee.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/05/106726-3.png

Upvote 0