1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support What happens when all the space for new shortcut icons runs out?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Modman, Sep 13, 2011.

  1. Modman

    Modman Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    538
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    538
    37
    88
    Installed over 50 apps on my huawei ascend.

    No more space to add a shortcut if i install another app.

    Will my screen expand if I do? or did I need to start removing apps before I can add any more. running a rooted stock froyo 2.2

    Thasnks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. starxpilot

    starxpilot Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    536
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011

    Jul 24, 2011
    536
    61
    98
    Loss Prevention Agent
    Garland
    How...are you able to run all of that? O_O

    With the hardware given, I don't think there's much that you can do.

    It should start coming up with some sort of error, I think, never gotten that many, can't cause of the intense lag I'll get.
     
    DMajor239 likes this.
  3. kevinrubio

    kevinrubio Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,029
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    1,029
    111
    143
    Student
    Atlanta, GA
    ^ i have 67 apps running/ and installed...
    no lag for me and im running cm6
     
    DMajor239 likes this.
  4. ShinySide

    ShinySide Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,504
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    5,504
    2,680
    313
    Palm Bay, Florida
    22! Ahaha I only download things I actually use more then once a month. Everything I have I use pretty much daily.Ahaha
     
    kevinrubio likes this.
  5. Gmash

    Gmash Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    613
    Posts:
    6,912
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    6,912
    3,197
    613
    Male
    neither Here nor There
    Use a different launcher. For example, Go launcher lets you have as many home screens as you want. (there is a limit, but its a lot) But, do you really need all of your apps on the home screens?
     
    nuttmeg likes this.
  6. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,526
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State

    was thinking the same thing lol
     
  7. Gmash

    Gmash Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    613
    Posts:
    6,912
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    6,912
    3,197
    613
    Male
    neither Here nor There
    He must want it to be like an iPhone lol.
     
    DMajor239 likes this.
  8. Scur

    Scur Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,394
    Joined:
    May 1, 2011

    May 1, 2011
    1,394
    481
    163
    Male
    Illinois
    I was getting close to a hundred user apps on the Ascend (92 I think), and still ran (almost) fine. I had to really watch my settings, and had a little lag, but not much. It worked far better than it had a right to with that much installed on it. As far as shortcuts for all those, I used Apps Organizer. I'm a big advocate of this app. It takes a couple minutes to get them organized, but once they are, it's awesome. If you use something like this, though, just make sure not use the widgets to the different folders. Always use shortcuts instead.
     
    DMajor239 likes this.
  9. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,526
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State

    also file folder works great also, got it from amazon free app of the day last week i think but its awesome. ;)
     
  10. Liscab

    Liscab Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    30
    1
    36
    Miami Fl.
    but why do you need to add a shortcut to every application on your desktop ? i have over 50 app but on my desktop i only keep 5 shotcuts
     
  11. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,526
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State

    dunno...lol
     
  12. kevinrubio

    kevinrubio Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,029
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    1,029
    111
    143
    Student
    Atlanta, GA
    same goes here, i just use the default android file , when u hold on the screen for more than 5 sec. and go folders.
     
  13. starxpilot

    starxpilot Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    536
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011

    Jul 24, 2011
    536
    61
    98
    Loss Prevention Agent
    Garland
    Bah, shortcuts are for lazy nubs. :<
     
  14. Modman

    Modman Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    538
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    538
    37
    88
    I was trying to say the main shortcut area was filled not just the desktop.
    Anything that can be run from sd card already is.

    What directory can i go in maybe with root explorere to start an app if I don't have a shortcut to it. I have a terminal program also I could start it from there. but need the command and the directory. I am more familialar with starting apps in Suse Linux. Never started apps in android without shortcuts before.
     
  15. Scur

    Scur Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,394
    Joined:
    May 1, 2011

    May 1, 2011
    1,394
    481
    163
    Male
    Illinois

    You don't have an app drawer?
     
  16. Modman

    Modman Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    538
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    538
    37
    88
    Not sure what you mean by appdrawer?

    when i click the middle launcher button with the dots all the icon spaces are already filled. not on the desktop not sure if that is what is called the app drawer? Is there a wqay to start executable apps from a certain directory even without a shortcut for it?
     
  17. Scur

    Scur Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,394
    Joined:
    May 1, 2011

    May 1, 2011
    1,394
    481
    163
    Male
    Illinois

    That's the app drawer. Scroll the screen up. Every app you have installed is there. Some launchers, though, default to a side scrolling drawer. Just tap one to launch it.
    And to add a shortcut onto a home screen, hold down on it without letting up, and the home screen will pop up. Drop it where you wish, or take it to an edge to put it on an adjacent screen.
     
  18. Modman

    Modman Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    538
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    538
    37
    88
    As far as I know the appdrawer only scrolls up.
    And it is filled with icons. After I installed the last
    app there is no more space for any more programs unless I start removing programs. I have more space on my sd but not in my app drawer.
    That is why I asked for another way to start apps.

    Also is there a way in lp to hold down a button to see a split screen of all three desktops?
     
  19. Scur

    Scur Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,394
    Joined:
    May 1, 2011

    May 1, 2011
    1,394
    481
    163
    Male
    Illinois
    The app drawer is infinite. What makes you think there is no more room? If your phone tells that you're running out of room, then that's an internal memory issue. There are a couple way around it. You can move certain user apps to your sdcard and out of internal memory by going to Menu > Settings > Applications > Manage Applications then tapping on an app and tapping Move to SD card, though not all of them will do it. And if the ones you move have widgets, you'll loose the ability to use those widgets.
    Or you can use Darktremor's a2sd to increase your internal memory by using a partition of your sdcard as virtual memory.
    Either way, sdbooster will help speed up read times of your sdcard.

    And as for Launcher Pro, I can't remember what brings up all your screens at once. It's either double tap the back or home key, or long press one of them.
     
  20. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,526
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State

    +1
     
  21. Modman

    Modman Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    538
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    538
    37
    88
    I move all my user apps except skyfire, email droidwall and titanium, launcher,juice defender, to sd.

    not using link to sd. Titanium backup moves non movable apps to sd. zdnet was only app that didn't move. sdboost wouldn't work when I had it installed. I would have never been able to install over 50 apps if most of them weren't on the sd. way ahead of that. my app drawer is currently full. only way to add stuff right now is removing an app. thjen adding an app. still have almost 20 gig free on sd. That is way I was asking if there was another way to start apps other than app drawer. Never tried adding apps beyond the app drawer capacity.
    Does a2sd work on stock froyo? And does it require reformatting sd card? that was why I didn't use link to sd. Running most apps from sd card is fine. My issue was running out of space in app drawer.
     
  22. Modman

    Modman Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    538
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    538
    37
    88
    Would it expand to another page? or not? when i added last app i uninstalled one app then added another. This my first android that is why I was asking. but right now app drawer is full. phone has barely any space but i usually move everything to sd after installing. there is still 20 gig space on sd.
     
  23. Can0dope

    Can0dope Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    511
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    511
    112
    93
    Hospitality
    Phoenix, AZ
    The All Drawer is infinite. The more apps you install, it will expand more.
     
  24. Scur

    Scur Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,394
    Joined:
    May 1, 2011

    May 1, 2011
    1,394
    481
    163
    Male
    Illinois
    What makes you think it's full? What's the EXACT message you're getting?
     
  25. ShinySide

    ShinySide Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,504
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    5,504
    2,680
    313
    Palm Bay, Florida
    Youre running into an internal/sdcard space issue not an app drawer issue. You can have 500 pages if your phone's/ sd card's storage allows it.


    And heres an idea. A little far fetched but delete some apps. I guarantee you dont use all them on a regular basis.


    Oh and 20 gigs of space on the SD? You do know the Ascend is only rated for a 16gb right?
     

Share This Page

Loading...