1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root What I Have Done With a Droid Now That It's Rooted

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Jarek, Dec 9, 2009.

  1. DankyDroid

    DankyDroid Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    65
    0
    15
    Verizon Wireless
    In a house
    Worse case scenario, I get 2 year pricing every 10 months..so 9 months from now....
    But are you sure that it's any big deal? How would you get those back I wonder...could you not flash it? Deleted vvm,Facebook,Amazon, and Corporate calendar, thought about the browser too bit I guess I will leave he hehe......
    Is it a big deal really? I won't worry about it, hell I probably won't have this phone by the end of the summer anyway but thank for the heads up..
     

    Advertisement

  2. eclipse0007

    eclipse0007 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    9
    0
    5
    I need the update.zip file so I Xmas just drag it to my ad card please both else is workin
     
  3. ldougherty

    ldougherty Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    78
    1
    16
    What folder did you find vvstub.apk

    I don't see it in /system/app
     
  4. ldougherty

    ldougherty Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    78
    1
    16
    nm, for whatever reason it wasn't listed via shell but it shows up when I connect using root explorer.
     
  5. Jaxx10

    Jaxx10 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009

    Nov 2, 2009
    81
    3
    36
    have any of u noticed that after root some apps get a force close ?!!? like pandora amd labyrinth ... i had to reinstall the app to get to work
     
  6. travva

    travva Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    71
    0
    15
    Not to be rude but........ what? Your post makes no sense at all.
     
  7. DankyDroid

    DankyDroid Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    65
    0
    15
    Verizon Wireless
    In a house
    Honestly I have no idea, and I can't exactly go back and look, it's gone..sorry, I know that's not much help..:eek:
     
  8. ldougherty

    ldougherty Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    78
    1
    16
    Yea, no prob I found it using root explorer. Not sure why I couldn't find the files via shell but its gone nonetheless.
     
  9. eclipse0007

    eclipse0007 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    9
    0
    5
    Root is on my phone but wen I go to bedttedr terminal n type in sue it says permissuon denided wat is wrong
     
  10. rdoane

    rdoane Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    2
    0
    5
    Bump for a great thread.
     
  11. UnsureSherlock

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009

    Dec 13, 2009
    62
    3
    36
    Boston
    Do you check your spelling or grammar before posting? People would help you more if we could understand you. Thankfully, I could assume what you mean. It's "su", not "sue". Follow directions to the letter, if you don't add random crap things seem to work as intended.
     
  12. knock

    knock Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    20
    0
    15
    I like SUFBS as a file exlporer for my rooted Droid. It has a terminal mode and a file-tree style mode. When you first start it, the system and data directories are in read only mode and you have to mount them via two toggle buttons near the top of the screen before you can get in there and do any damage.
    The terminal is nothing more than a Unix command-line type interface. If you know your unix commands, you may want to use it, but I have not had a need yet.
    I just use the file tree mode and long-press the file I wish to manipulate and a popup menu appears with commands.

    Some of you have said that it will no longer do OTA updates after rooting. Although I guess I can understand the need for this, I don't understand how this is so. Is it blocked somehow during the rooting process by one of the files we install? Such a change should be better explained in the rooting threads if this is the case. I think it is better if people understand what they are disabling when they make such changes.

    If I understand correctly, I can manually re-update the firmware with an unrooted 2.0.1 file and this will un-root it and presumably re-initiate OTA updates?

    Will subsequent non-rooted updates unroot the phone if installed manually?
     
  13. Fadelight

    Fadelight Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,393
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    1,393
    95
    148
    Security
    Mulberry, FL

    You have a valid point on this one. It is actually explained quite well in the how-to thread... if you aren't new to things like this. Unfortunately, most posts about this are geared toward more advanced users.... it is assumed they must be advanced since they are confident enough in trying this despite the risk of bricking their phone.


    The answer is like this - "It will no longer do updates" means one of two things. The first and most common meaning is "You can no longer update your phone without losing your root". Your phone absolutely will still do OTA updates... and they will kill every bit of the work you've put into rooting your phone.

    The second meaning is for those who followed the directions on renaming your otacerts file. This file is responsible, in a way I haven't actually read too deeply into, for your OTAs. By renaming it, you have physically blocked any future OTAs from being delivered to your phone. This is actually a preferred step by many, since we don't want to risk losing it through a potential forced OTA we weren't prompted to accept.
     
  14. knock

    knock Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    20
    0
    15
    Thanks for that explanation! (+ rep) It is what I figured, but I rooted within a day of the announcement and it was not explained nearly as well. At that time the root process was still being workked out for simplicity. I'm not a total newb. I've been using computers since the times when you had to know dos and unix commands to get anything done, but OTA updates on my phone is something I really never considered because frankly, it is new. On my WM devices, I was always considerably ahead of any "released" updates, and they were never automatic.

    I will look into that otacerts file. Thank you for the help.
     
  15. Fadelight

    Fadelight Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,393
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    1,393
    95
    148
    Security
    Mulberry, FL

    dos... lol. I remember those days. Back when Windows 3.1 was not actually an operating system, and had to be loaded through dos.

    I'm the same way about releases. I get sick of waiting for things and just start reading anything and everything I can and do it myself. I was running a rock solid stable version of Vista 64 back when everyone else was waiting for the service pack to be released because I got sick of having it crash and started reading up on modifying drivers and firmware. :D

    In any event... to save you from having to look, here you go:


    From your adb shell -

    su
    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
    cd /system/etc/security
    mv otacerts.zip otacerts.zip.bak
    mount -o ro,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system

    sync

    reboot



    If, at any point, you choose to go back to receiving updates, just rename otacerts.zip.bak to otacerts.zip and let it update.
     
  16. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,132
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,132
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    Keep forgetting to do this, thanks for the reminder! :)
     
  17. thegift_curse

    thegift_curse Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    59
    1
    36
    Student - Drexel University (Mechanical Engineerin
    Philadelphia
    Where can one go to learn all of the terminology when it comes to Linux/Terminal Emulators or what not?

    I took a look at the "How to Root Your Droid" thread and didnt understand one bit of the commands being used, where can I learn what they do?
     
  18. AllDroid

    AllDroid Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    45
    1
    16
    Great Falls, Montana
    Great Question. I hope somebody can answer it for all of us who want to be in the know and get off the bench.
     
  19. jsm562

    jsm562 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    6
    0
    5
    When typing in the following command "mount -o rw,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3", I get the following in response and do not have write access "Usage: mount [-r] [-w] [-o options] [-t type] device directory". I am running Android 2.0.1 on a Motorola Droid. Any help would be great.

    Thanks, Jim
     
  20. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,132
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,132
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    Are you forgetting /system at the end of that statement???

    Should be:
    mount -o rw,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
     
  21. atlien003

    atlien003 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    7
    0
    5
    Does anyone use AndExplorer? I have rooted and was browsing through AndExplorer today and it lists all apps in my system file. Could I just rename apps from there if I don't want them, instead of going through terminal?

    Don't wanna brick phone by doing it this way.
     
  22. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,132
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,132
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    I don't know about "AndExplorer", but I have Root Explorer ... and yes, this can be done right in that app. You simply navigate to the proper folder, press the "Remount as R/W" at the top, and change the app name (from .apk to .bak or whatever), then tap "Remount as R/W" at the top. Quick and easy. But ... always be careful with this stuff. Haste makes Bricks. :D

    FWIW, I tested the above with the CarDock.apk app. Worked perfectly. Then I changed it back. Tada! If AndExplorer has a mount/remount option, I'd assume you would have the same results.
     
  23. Fadelight

    Fadelight Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,393
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    1,393
    95
    148
    Security
    Mulberry, FL

    I use AndExplorer and Root Explorer both. As far as I can see, AndExplorer won't let you do anything that requires root. If it does, then I haven't figured it out yet. Root Explorer is an absolutely amazing program and well worth the money, but the dev is still fighting with it trying to get it to work on any droid currently running 2.1. (That means me. :()

    I would say spring for Root Explorer and don't look back.


    Definitely listen to messenger13, though...

     
  24. atlien003

    atlien003 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    7
    0
    5
    So I think I'm rooted. Followed directs from Droidipedia @ Gaining root access - Droidipedia and now I have a root folder when looking at my system folders. Downloaded Terminal Emulator in market and typed su then enter to see if I had root access and heres the msg I got:

    SU Request

    Process #4251 (app_10082:app_10082)
    /system/bin/sh -

    Wants to run:
    /system/bin/sh
    as
    root:root


    Then gives me the choice whether I want to Allow/Deny. Should I Allow?
     
  25. javapop

    javapop Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009

    Nov 18, 2009
    30
    2
    16
    Producer
    Georgia
    How much of the code has to be typed in, and is there a way to copy and paste some of the lines that involve repetitive typing? I think I see what you are doing.

     

Share This Page

Loading...