1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

What is it with Sense and Android Widgets?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by cvam1985, Jan 29, 2010.

  1. cvam1985

    cvam1985 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    153
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    153
    1
    36
    Seriously.

    This is the one thing I hate about my Hero.. every time I restart or Sense crashes all of my Android widgets have to be removed and restarted. It's so frustrating.

    What really bugs me is that it seems HTC had to know about this.bug because they included a picture frame widget with Sense. Pretty ghetto to ship a phone with a bug this big and hope no one would notice.

    Anyone know of a fix?
     

    Advertisement

  2. momoceio

    momoceio Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,235
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    1,235
    149
    163
    Sr. Systems Administrator
    St. Louis
    I have never experienced this while rooted or stock.
     
  3. cvam1985

    cvam1985 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    153
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    153
    1
    36
    I experience it rooted and stock. If you put an Android picture frame widget on your home then restart it does the photo still appear?

    If so perhaps mine is defective...
     
  4. romeosidvicious

    romeosidvicious Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    270
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009

    The Gmail unread count is one example from the market as well as some of the Calendar widgets. The photo widget mentioned is yet another (no your phone s not defective). But it is not HTC that shoulders all the blame. Since some widgets that retain data (such as what pic to display or which account to show) work and some don't. I am willing to wager that there is some convention or method that some developers are not following that could be fixed on their end. It happens more with Sense but if you look at widgets in the market you will see that it happens with other builds, other manufactures, and so on.
     
  5. momoceio

    momoceio Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,235
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    1,235
    149
    163
    Sr. Systems Administrator
    St. Louis
    You're correct, I had never used the picture frame widget but the picture is gone after reboot.
     
  6. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,566
    86
    128
    Student/Engineer
    Minnesota
    I had a clock that wouldn't work after reboot, one oft he 1x2 digital ones I believe. I'd reboot, and it's say "TAP here to start...", and tapping on the clock wouldn't do a thing, or open anything. Had to drag it to the trash and put it back on.
     
  7. cvam1985

    cvam1985 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    153
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    153
    1
    36
    Glad to know I'm not the only one. Widgets are awesome and a big reason I love android. Just sucks they don't work the way they should.
     
  8. n0gik

    n0gik Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009

    Dec 28, 2009
    71
    0
    15
    Networking/IT Professional
    Stranded in Iowa
    I think there are some inconsistencies between programmers with regard to widget and timed updates to the display. I've got several widgets on one screen that don't update at the same frequency. Upon boot, some of them are blank and while I've not been too concerned about it (hey, it's Linux under the hood!) I have a sense they'll all eventually conform to a given set of standards for programming. Submit detailed bug reports!
     
  9. mkhopper

    mkhopper Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009

    Oct 15, 2009
    124
    9
    36
    I posted this in another thread about this issue.

    It's a known bug on the Sprint Hero where the widgets don't refresh properly after a phone reboot or home restart.

    Some developers are actually adding a configuration workaround of sorts to their widgets, though this has the negative effect only allowing one instance of the widget to be running at one time. (MoreIcons and Weather Forecast Widget v2 are two apps I know of that are doing this.)

    I haven't seen anything where HTC is planning to address this. I'm hoping that the ROM devs can resolve it now that the full development source code has been released.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...