1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root What is required for wifi tethering?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Carimerr, Jan 30, 2011.

  1. Carimerr

    Carimerr Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    45
    0
    15
    I wanted wifi tethering on my Motorola Droid, so after I rooted I downloaded wifi tether from the market, but couldn't get it to work. So I then installed CM6, after which I could get wifi tether to work perfectly. My question is, do you need a custom ROM to get wifi tethering?
     

    Advertisement

  2. (G)

    (G) Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    751
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009

    I don't have a custom ROM but I am rooted. I downloaded Barnacle (free) and it worked like a charm for me on both my laptop and my iPad.
     
  3. skilaufen

    skilaufen Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    570
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    570
    88
    78
    Something
    Somewhere
    To use Wifi tether you have to have a custom kernel as the stock kernel doesn't support that app. You get a custom kernel when you install a custom ROM (not trying to patronize but putting that in there for future readers)

    Barnacle wifi will work with the stock kernel. I have used both of those apps and they are both good in my experience.
     
  4. Carimerr

    Carimerr Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    45
    0
    15
    Yeah OK, I haven't tried Barnacle yet. Does Barnacle work with, say, an iPod Touch?
     
  5. skilaufen

    skilaufen Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    570
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    570
    88
    78
    Something
    Somewhere
    Yes most definitely. That is why I rooted and started using Barnacle so I could use my iPod Touch and its Netflix app and it always worked perfectly.
     
  6. Carimerr

    Carimerr Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    45
    0
    15
    Yeah I tried it out, and now prefer it over Wifi tether. But you can get Netflix to stream over a 3G connection?
     
  7. smacky

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,844
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    2,844
    299
    163
    Oh good, no one referred to it as an "iTouch."

    There is an app called "Wireless Tether."
    Wireless Tether for Root Users - Android app on AppBrain
    I find it works well for me. Just make sure to install it to your phone and not to move it to your SD card. That causes problems for me, sometimes, like it going out randomly after some use.

    I have no experience with Barnacle.
     
  8. skilaufen

    skilaufen Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    570
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    570
    88
    78
    Something
    Somewhere
    Yes. As long as you have a decent signal it works fine. The data required is less than when you use a computer since it is a smaller screen. I am guessing if you used it for about 4-5 hours is would consume a gig (That is an approximation). I don't use it all of the time only when I am stuck some place for a bit (I don't like to tether a large amount of data if I can avoid it). If you have a poor signal then the picture can be a bit off but it still works pretty well.
     
  9. Carimerr

    Carimerr Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    45
    0
    15
    Haha, I hate those people too. But yeah, now after using both Wireless Tether and Barnacle I can say that both work very well, but IMO Barnacle is better due to not requiring a custom ROM.
     

Share This Page

Loading...