1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

what is roaming?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jonous101, Mar 20, 2010.

  1. jonous101

    jonous101 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    87
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    87
    2
    16
    Sheffield, UK
    sorry to be thick, when i get my 'R' for roaming, i can't get on the internet or check my emails and have to switch my phone on and off, just what is roaming? cheers x
     

    Advertisement

  2. Jaffa

    Jaffa Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,185
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    1,185
    91
    148
    Electrical Engineer
    Brighton
    Using another network because your abroad.?
     
  3. jonous101

    jonous101 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    87
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    87
    2
    16
    Sheffield, UK
    no it always happens when it's in my jeans pocket or when i'm in the supermarket.
     
  4. Jaffa

    Jaffa Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,185
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    1,185
    91
    148
    Electrical Engineer
    Brighton
    Turn roaming off in settings wireless control
     
  5. Danny159

    Danny159 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010

    Jan 8, 2010
    52
    0
    15
    My Hero on 3 always goes to roaming when I have no 3 signal, I think it uses another networks mast to send your messages that three like rent to use, meaning you have signal most places just not your providers.

    Sometimes you get charged for using it but I dont seem to, so all is good.


    In a simple way, its your phone using another company's mast =)
     
  6. lekky

    lekky Lover
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,250
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Roaming is using another network when your network is out of range. I believe people using 3 Roam to Orange's network when there is no 3G signal to 3's network. This is free for 3 users and is part of their contract with orange.

    However, you should always check with your provider, because unauthorised roaming can be extremely expensive.

    Who is your provider jonous101?
     
  7. jonous101

    jonous101 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    87
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    87
    2
    16
    Sheffield, UK
    I'm on 3 UK - mite try and turn it off coz it's very annoying and even when i do get back home where i have full signal, the R is still there, but no texts come through and no one can call me.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...