1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

What is wifi scan interval?

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by frdmspoplr, Jan 14, 2012.

  1. frdmspoplr

    frdmspoplr Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    235
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011

    Jul 24, 2011
    235
    25
    43
    I know it's kind of a silly question, but I haven't found an actual answer anywhere. Is it just the interval that the wifi scans at to find new networks?
     

    Advertisement

  2. txwolf1980

    txwolf1980 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    286
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011

    Jun 2, 2011
    286
    53
    53
    Guess
    Wherever my 18 wheels take me
    silly questions are fine, if you can't find an answer on your own.
    Yes, wifi scan interval is just how often it checks for networks when you aren't hooked to one.
     
  3. frdmspoplr

    frdmspoplr Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    235
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011

    Jul 24, 2011
    235
    25
    43
    So since I keep wifi off all the time unless I'm at home or connecting to a hotspot, will changing the interval really have much of an effect for me?
     
  4. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,149
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,149
    4,822
    1,108
    Male
    No, since it wont be scanning anyway.
     
  5. frdmspoplr

    frdmspoplr Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    235
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011

    Jul 24, 2011
    235
    25
    43
    That's what I thought, just making sure.
     
  6. Kicksilver

    Kicksilver Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    564
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011

    Nov 28, 2011
    564
    90
    98
    Just out of curiosity, can you change that?

    Because sometimes I forget to turn if off when I leave home, and I don't want it to keep scanning for hotspots each 10 seconds, I'd like the scan to be manual.
     
  7. frdmspoplr

    frdmspoplr Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    235
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011

    Jul 24, 2011
    235
    25
    43
    There are some apps that can change it or you can just edit the value in the build.prop. I'm not sure you can actually disable it though. If you have a problem with forgetting, you may want to consider downloading a widget to turn it on/off.
     
  8. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,095
    3,118
    Scotland
    There's an app called Unlock With WiFi, which disables your pin lock when you're connected to your home Wireless network. It will also automatically switch WiFi off when you've not been in range/connected to your home network for 45 seconds (you can change this value yourself).

    It did have an app that worked in tandem with it called Auto Wifi Enabler which did the opposite, turned WiFi on when you got in range of your wireless network though. As it based the location off Cell Towers, I found it wildly inaccurate. Looks to have been removed from the market though.

    Tasker could probably switch WiFi on and off automatically though.
     
  9. Kicksilver

    Kicksilver Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    564
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011

    Nov 28, 2011
    564
    90
    98
    I think ICS should have this kind of improvement.

    Sometimes I forget turning off the wifi while leaving home, and only do it some hours later... Meanwhile, I have my battery drained for useless network scanning.

    There should be an option to completely turn off wifi after X unsuccessful attempts to connect to a hotspot.
     
  10. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,549
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,549
    17,001
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    Confirmed. The Tasker Wiki on the app's web site contains several examples of how to do it.
     
  11. MysteryEmotion

    MysteryEmotion Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    353
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011

    Dec 9, 2011
    353
    182
    68
    I set wifi to scan every 180 seconds using my build.prop. I do this to all my roms. I never turn wifi off. I can go 15+hrs with 3hrs+ of the display being on. What else can you ask for ;)
     
  12. Kicksilver

    Kicksilver Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    564
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011

    Nov 28, 2011
    564
    90
    98
    I got this "Wifi power saver" from market today, and I won't need to worry about Wifi anymore.

    When I leave home/work/college, it will be shut down automatically.
     
  13. kevp75

    kevp75 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014

    Apr 20, 2014
    6
    1
    6
    Can you tell me what the value is in build.prop that I should be looking for?
     

Share This Page

Loading...