1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support What is "wireless update" ?

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by Android Question, Feb 17, 2016.

  1. Android Question

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Is this a legit update or someone trying to hack my phone?
     

    Advertisement

  2. norb

    norb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    251
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016

    Jan 8, 2016
    251
    36
    43
    I made this thread. I should add... If I select to do this update do I need to backup my phone? And is it normal for a phone to go into recovery mode for this update?
     
  3. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,238
    Posts:
    27,287
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    27,287
    16,701
    3,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    If it's an official firmware update from the manufacturer, usually done from settings, you shouldn't have to backup, unless they state that you must. It's always wise to backup anyway before doing anything like this, in case the update goes wrong, and you have to factory reset or something. And it is normal for most devices to reboot into recovery, and the update file is automatically applied, then it reboots, optimizes apps etc. which might take a while.

    Be warned, if the device is rooted or otherwise modified, manufacturer updates can frequently go wrong, ending up in a bricked device.

    If an update notification appears as a browser pop-up, then that's definitely not official. It's some website trying to trick you into installing something, likely malicious.
     
    #3 mikedt, Feb 18, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2016
    AZgl1500 and SavageRobot like this.
  4. norb

    norb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    251
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016

    Jan 8, 2016
    251
    36
    43
    It is a push menu, I guess pop up. Very persistent and insistent that I update.
     
  5. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,238
    Posts:
    27,287
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    27,287
    16,701
    3,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    Post a screenshot, and what device is it, we might be able to tell you if it's official or not.
     
    AZgl1500 and SavageRobot like this.
  6. norb

    norb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    251
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016

    Jan 8, 2016
    251
    36
    43
    I do not know how to post an image. I think I will just return the phone as it froze last night.
     
  7. SavageRobot

    SavageRobot Android Expert
    Rank:
     #98
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    871
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012

    Jan 23, 2012
    871
    477
    173
    Male
    Wales
    If you are using the Android Forums app you press the + in a circle by the reply field, then the three dot menu, then attach picture and select the screen shot. If using web, just under the writing box there is "Post Reply", "Upload File" & "More Options...", it is the upload file and navigate to the picture from there.

    Any who, more information on the device and a screen shot would help determine if it is in fact a legitimate update or a malicious app trying to get you to download something. As Mike says, if you go into Settings>About Phone>Software Update (somewhere around there, manufacturer / device specific) it will tell you there if there is a legit update due.
     
    MLSS likes this.
  8. norb

    norb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    251
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016

    Jan 8, 2016
    251
    36
    43
  9. SavageRobot

    SavageRobot Android Expert
    Rank:
     #98
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    871
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012

    Jan 23, 2012
    871
    477
    173
    Male
    Wales
    I can't tell what make this phone is from that symbol, is that the Verizon symbol (UKer here). Does this message also come up when selecting update through settings, about phone? If so, update through that and should be fine. Doesn't look like a huge update so probably won't lose data from update, backup probably no necessary but maybe advisable for the off chance.
     
    mikedt likes this.
  10. norb

    norb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    251
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016

    Jan 8, 2016
    251
    36
    43
    This is what I got in settings. I clicked on w Screenshot_2016-02-18-13-05-39.png Screenshot_2016-02-18-13-05-44.png ireless update.
     
  11. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,238
    Posts:
    27,287
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    27,287
    16,701
    3,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    You have a Blu phone? OK that definitely looks like a legitimate bug-fix firmware update, go ahead and do it I think. Backup your stuff first though, just in case, and I presume you haven't rooted the phone.
     
    SavageRobot likes this.
  12. Wynterasiuuki

    Wynterasiuuki Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016

    Oct 4, 2016
    1
    0
    15
    Female
    Hey,

    I have the same update notification. I have a rooted Blue Energy Studio 2 phone and tried doing the update before and it got stuck in a bootloop. Now everything is fixed, but the update is still there. How can I update without bricking my phone??
     

Share This Page

Loading...