1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

What is wrong with Facebook?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by milellie111, Jan 30, 2010.

  1. milellie111

    milellie111 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    90
    9
    16
    What is going on with the Droid and Facebook mobile? The built in Facebook sucks and doesn't update like it should, and recently the Dolphin Browser and stock Browser just shows a blank white page when trying to connect to Facebook. Anyone has any answers?

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. bdal1

    bdal1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    246
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    246
    9
    36
    works fine here!
    the stock app sucks, but it always has
     
  3. memphiskat

    memphiskat Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    31
    1
    16
    I get same blank screen a lot now, don't have an answer for you, but it's not just your droid.
     
  4. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    The stock app works fine for me ... well, as "fine" as it ever has. :p Just tried facebook in the browser and all 3 versions worked OK. When I say 3 versions I mean m.facebook.com, touch.facebook.com, and www.facebook.com (regular PC site).

    The only error I am seeing is that, when using m.facebook.com, I get a page error ONLY when viewing my profile. There is a thread in the apps forum regarding this very error.
     
  5. crankerchick

    crankerchick Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    593
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009

    Dec 30, 2009
    593
    113
    93
    i get the blank screen in the browser when launching a facebook link from an email notification.

    stock app sucks and i just refuse to use it. stupid facebook and it's "news feed" i want status feed and can only get that on the mobile site, not even the pretty touch site.
     
  6. BigMace23

    BigMace23 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    228
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009

    Dec 5, 2009
    228
    7
    36
    Use Bloo. the 1.4 beta is free and most importantly... IT WORKS :)
     
  7. itsaddison

    itsaddison Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009

    Oct 23, 2009
    43
    0
    15
    Same problem here. Very frustrating.
     
  8. bdal1

    bdal1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    246
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    246
    9
    36
    ok im not having these problems but just a thought. why don't you try a battery pull, and clear your browser cache.
     
  9. maddfay

    maddfay Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    22
    3
    16
    Enjoying Planet Earth XD
    Earth
    I am having the same problem, actually. It was working absolutely fine, checking links from email notification and all, up until about mid last week. It's actually frustrating because I don't like the facebook app and when I check email I always found it easy to just open a page from the link for a particlar thing. I noticed some others over in the Verizon forums have been having the same issue Droid Facebook issues - Verizon | Forums and Blogs - Verizon Community .

    I even just did what bdal1 suggested, clearing browser cache (I also cleared everything else) and tried the battery pull but to no avail. I just get taken to the facebook login page which looks fine but then as soon as I log in it's a blank white page again. Gah!

    I hope someone finds out what's going on soon! Seems like there's just one thing after another for me with this device (don't get me wrong, I love my Droid!!)-- for example when they made txted pictures force resize to 10k with the update!!
     
  10. Chuck1906

    Chuck1906 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009

    Dec 20, 2009
    310
    7
    36
    Facebook locks up on me maybe once or twice a week. I usually have to clear my Cache, Clear Cookies, Pull the battery out. For some reason Verizon suggests to leave the phone ON when you pull the battery out. I let it sit for about 30 seconds and put it back in. Restart phone, go to FB and viola!, its back working again!
     
  11. maddfay

    maddfay Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    22
    3
    16
    Enjoying Planet Earth XD
    Earth

    I have never had a problem with it until last week where I just get a blank white page as others have been as well, as I mentioned before. I even just gave what you said a try and to no avail... weeeeird. =(
     
  12. shotgunxbaby3

    shotgunxbaby3 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010

    Jan 18, 2010
    23
    0
    15
    I have problems with this also. The stock app does, indeed, suck. My only difference is that when I try to access the site via the browser it just gives me the touch site which is always frozen. It'll show on the screen but I can tap anything on the screen I want and it will do nothing. On the flip-side, when I get an email about something from facebook I can access the site in the browser from a link, but as of late this has not been working quite so well either.
     
  13. shotgunxbaby3

    shotgunxbaby3 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010

    Jan 18, 2010
    23
    0
    15
    I actually just solved my issue with my phone redirecting to touch.facebook.com. To do this just go into the browser settings and disable the Mobile View option and you can then go to m.facebook.com which actually works for me.
     
  14. hkv1959

    hkv1959 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010

    Feb 1, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    I am having the same problem. Where do I find the settings to disable the mobile view in the web browser settings. I use the dolphine browser.
     
  15. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,635
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    3,635
    2,126
    313
    Multi-platinum Rapper
    Illinois
    For all those frustrated with the facebook app, or redirects to the mobile version of the facebook site, try this:

    lite.facebook.com

    All the functionality of the full site, except it's optimized to take less bandwidth. I really like it, even though I have no real qualms with the app.
     
  16. TGryphon

    TGryphon Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    21
    0
    15
    *EDIT* ...it's a data issue for me: after having good internet service saturday, and none Sunday, I can't get into FB or any web pages.

    Special note for dolphin users: The most recent Dolphin update has been complained about more than it's been praised. I do not have it; I have the previous version. However, I've noticed its performance has suffered since the home page for Dolphin was changed.
     
  17. maddfay

    maddfay Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    22
    3
    16
    Enjoying Planet Earth XD
    Earth
    It just doesn't make sense to me how it was working the whole time I had my Droid until last week all of a sudden when I click a facebook link from my email, for example, I just get a blank page-- it was perfectly fine before that, the whole time! I'm also getting an error if I just go to the site, only some of the page will load, saying that there's an error in the string containing < ... the mobile site works and the touch site is having errors... it's very frustrating because I can't say enough how it was working perfectly until last week.. =(

    Every other website is working perfectly fine for me, by the way. It's just facebook... blank white page... Incase you're wondering, when I check my email sometimes it's just easier for me to see something when I get a notification by just clicking the link... and without it working now... gah!!! lol...)
     
  18. TGryphon

    TGryphon Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    21
    0
    15
    Mad,
    Try wiping your browser cache. (In Dolphin, hold the 'back' button)
     
  19. maddfay

    maddfay Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    22
    3
    16
    Enjoying Planet Earth XD
    Earth
    As I mentioned above, I have done that several times, as well as a batery pull, and it just behaves the same. I am getting frustrated... because now even with the app, when you click the little globe to go to the post, for example, I get errors as well.

    I just tried to view a comment on a post of mine and I get a big pink box at the top of the page that says "This page contains the following errors: error on line 2 at column 3795: Unescaped '<' not allowed in attributes values. Below is a rendering of the page up to the first error." Then it just shows the facebook menu. I had that error on other pages of facebook, too... and links clicked from email are just blank white pages... I am so confused!

    If I log in to the facebook website straight from the phone then it works but redirectrion from the app or links mess it all up... it just started doing this out of the blue... *sigh*

    I reeeeeeally want to avoid a factory reset if possible... I have also done a soft reset... to no avail.

    I read another post where someone was having other kinds of issues and he tested resetting his phone to another google account and everything worked fine but when set back to his regular account it was all dysfunctional again. Apparently some settings of ours are stored on google servers... I hope this isn't the issue! And yes I did uncheck "backup settings", didn't change anything.

    This is really baffling... =(
     
  20. carlz28

    carlz28 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009

    Dec 9, 2009
    119
    24
    38
    Chemical Eng. Medical Device Manuf.
    Catasauqua, PA
    Cool, thanks man.
    I don't have any issues with the stock FB app (even after the last update).
    Only thing I wish it had was access to mail/inbox.
    This lite.fb.com has it and may just be my replacement for the app now.
    Good find ;)
     
  21. maddfay

    maddfay Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    22
    3
    16
    Enjoying Planet Earth XD
    Earth
    I gave up and performed a hard reset to see if it would change anything and to no avail. It's still behaving the same... it's either some bizarre setting on google servers from my account or some error facebook is having... I just don't understand why everyone is not getting the same issue... what makes it different? =(
     
  22. Tas71

    Tas71 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010

    Jan 29, 2010
    15
    0
    15
    I had the same issue after I uninstalled the stock FB app since I hated it. When I reinstalled it went back to normal. It works fine now.
     
  23. Chuck1906

    Chuck1906 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009

    Dec 20, 2009
    310
    7
    36
    my issues come and go but either after a hard reset with a battery pull or just a powering the phone off then back on, usually fixes things. I get the blank white screen only sometimes. My biggest issue is when I want to see the FULL SITE, sometimes it won't show the full site until I do one of the above things I just mentioned.
     
  24. kellyg1120

    kellyg1120 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    0
    15

    Yeah I just changed my fb email to my gmail account so I can recieve the email to notify me of a new notification, but when I click the link it just takes me to a blank screen. soo frustratingggg.
     
  25. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    6,079
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    the only thing thats good about the stock app is the sync.. ther than that blah
     

Share This Page

Loading...