1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root What Kernal to Use

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by porky101, Sep 6, 2010.

  1. porky101

    porky101 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    171
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    I have been looking around on Google and was wondering what is a good Kernal to run for overclocking and tethering that wont heat my phone up to much and ruin my battery life.


    I am on a Motorola Droid with Cyanogen Mod 6.0.0
     

    Advertisement

  2. Jedii

    Jedii Android Expert
    Rank:
     #141
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,112
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    1,112
    257
    183
    Analyst
    Arkansas
    I prefer Slayhers kernels above all others. Great benchmark results and tremendous battery life.

    Also, very rarely will your phone overheat.
     
    misc_matt likes this.
  3. porky101

    porky101 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    171
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009


    I will have to look that up. Also I know that a kernal is required to overclock your device. But, I do not think that I really understand the purpose of installing a kernal, can someone explain that to me as well?
     
  4. Jedii

    Jedii Android Expert
    Rank:
     #141
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,112
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    1,112
    257
    183
    Analyst
    Arkansas
    poconopixie and porky101 like this.
  5. klwheat

    klwheat Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    172
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    172
    5
    36
    Porky...definitely read the info above. Also, I've tried using slayher's kernels with good success with compcache. But, each droid is definitely different! P3, chevy, slayher...all make good kernels! Try a couple and see which works for you. Start around 1000mhz (most every droid can run that) and make backups in between so that you can go back if you overclock too much. Then work your way up until you're happy! Enjoy, and welcome to the addiction!
     
  6. porky101

    porky101 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    171
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    to install the kernal, you just have to rename it to update.zip then flash it in recovery mode correct?
     
  7. Jedii

    Jedii Android Expert
    Rank:
     #141
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,112
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    1,112
    257
    183
    Analyst
    Arkansas

    NO NO NO! Do not rename it it update.zip!

    1.) Download the kernel
    2.) Put the file anywhere on your sdcard.
    3.) Power off your droid
    4.) Boot into recovery by holding X while powering on the phone
    5.) Perform a nandroid backup (always sound practice although this is not required. Its actually not necessary at all if you have a kernel that you know works well somewhere on your sdcard.)
    6.) Press install zip from sdcard
    7.) Press Choose zip from sd card
    10.) Navigate to the file and click on it.
    11.) When the install is complete press the power button to get back to the main menu
    12.) Reboot

    Thanks OMJ^^

    Please read this as well:
    http://androidforums.com/droid-all-things-root/136508-guide-all-things-root-related.html
     
    porky101 likes this.
  8. porky101

    porky101 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    171
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009



    Thanks for the save there :D
     
  9. Jedii

    Jedii Android Expert
    Rank:
     #141
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,112
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    1,112
    257
    183
    Analyst
    Arkansas

    LOL. You scared me. Im all yelling at the computer trying to tell you not to do that!
     
  10. porky101

    porky101 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    171
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    I installed the kernal and SetCPU, but the max I can set in SetCPU is 600MHz
     
  11. Jedii

    Jedii Android Expert
    Rank:
     #141
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,112
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    1,112
    257
    183
    Analyst
    Arkansas
    Did you set it to autodetect speeds in setcpu?

    Also, are you sure you got an overclocked kernel?
    If so, did you install it like i posted?
     
  12. porky101

    porky101 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    171
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    I never did the autodetect speeds....thanks..........................................again :p
     
  13. Jedii

    Jedii Android Expert
    Rank:
     #141
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,112
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    1,112
    257
    183
    Analyst
    Arkansas
    Cool cool. You bet. So, you're all good now??
     
  14. porky101

    porky101 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    171
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    yes, you can go to sleep now :p
     
  15. Jedii

    Jedii Android Expert
    Rank:
     #141
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,112
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    1,112
    257
    183
    Analyst
    Arkansas
    haha. no way. i stay on here all night! lol

    I was just gonna go take a break. LOL
     
  16. thaDroidz

    thaDroidz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    394
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    394
    32
    43
    texas
  17. porky101

    porky101 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    171
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

  18. thaDroidz

    thaDroidz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    394
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    394
    32
    43
    texas
    LOL.. I know that:eek:

    what I mean, there are 2 pages I posted..
    between the 2 there are 9 different 1000-1200 kernals.
    How can I tell the difference between say:
    LFY-1200.zip

    1200 Now Version 1.6

    1200 Now

    the last 2 are low voltage from Froyo Kernels by slayher - CyanogenMod Forum

    the first LFY1200 is from the first post of this thread is it the same as either with a name change or is it entirely different?
     
  19. porky101

    porky101 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    171
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    O, I have no clue.


    Now, just out of curiosity, when you flash a theme over do you rename it to update.zip?
     
  20. Jedii

    Jedii Android Expert
    Rank:
     #141
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,112
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    1,112
    257
    183
    Analyst
    Arkansas
    No. Just name the theme whatever you want and place it some where on your SD you'll be able to find when in recovery.

    Example: I create folders on my SD such as: Kernels, Themes, ROMS, backups, etc...So when i am in recovery, it is easy to find.
     
  21. porky101

    porky101 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    171
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009



    O.....I guess I will start doing that now.
     
  22. Jedii

    Jedii Android Expert
    Rank:
     #141
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,112
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    1,112
    257
    183
    Analyst
    Arkansas
    Thats just how i do it. Not everyone will do it that way. But when you're like me and have 10 SD cards lying around with like 6 ROMS on each.....well, i need organization. haha
     
  23. porky101

    porky101 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    171
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    I have ROM Manager, so that helps me a bit. Especially with managing multiple ROMs and updates for them.
     
  24. Jedii

    Jedii Android Expert
    Rank:
     #141
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,112
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    1,112
    257
    183
    Analyst
    Arkansas
    Yeah. ROM manager is a good tool. I just do most of my stuff from a computer so its easier to just do it all in recovery for me. Plus, ROM manager updates to much for me. LOL
     

Share This Page

Loading...