1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root What Kernel are you using for CM7?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mykd99, Aug 23, 2011.

  1. mykd99

    mykd99 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    67
    6
    16
    Bravura Live, Owner
    I just got a Thunderbolt, coming from Samsung Charge; I was a CM7 user on Incredible before that. Decided to flash CM7 for the Thunderbolt, very impressed, much better than my Charge. My question is what kernel are you using? I am looking for better battery life. I will probably end up testing a few out myself, but just wanted to get everyone's opinion. Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    On cm based roms I've found imo's lean kernel 3.5.8 gives me the best battery
     
    trapperjohn likes this.
  3. mykd99

    mykd99 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    67
    6
    16
    Bravura Live, Owner
    Thanks, I will give that a try first.
     
  4. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    +1 for Imoseyon's 3.5.8. Great battery life and speed. Anxiously awaiting his new release when he's back from vacation/Charge world
     
    trapperjohn likes this.
  5. trapperjohn

    trapperjohn Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #340
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    212
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009

    Dec 25, 2009
    212
    30
    43

    Hi,
    From I think is correct I would install imo's kernel through recovery? Is that correct?
    Also if I wanted to go back to cm7's default kernel is there a dl link for it? Or a way to back up just the kernel?
    Thanks,
    Bryan
     
  6. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    Install kernels in recovery. You could reflash the rom for the stock kernel, not sure which one comes stock and I don't think you can backup just kernels
     
    trapperjohn likes this.
  7. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    You don't have to flash the ROM to get stock kernel back. Just wipe cache and dalvik in recovery and reboot
     
  8. Thats

    Thats That guy is This
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,169
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    1,169
    383
    183
    Male
    Air Force
    Fargo, ND
  9. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    Tiamat 1.4 is a good kernel. The latest release is not good at all, IMO. I'm generally not a fan of kernels that are available for multiple devices. It usually means the developer doesn't have much time to address specific device issues. Which was apparent with the newest release having booting issues for almost everyone who flashed it. He may have fixed it, but I know for a few days after release it still wasn't addressed
     
  10. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG

    Really? Didn't know that
     
  11. Yellow Snowman

    Yellow Snowman Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    344
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011

    Mar 16, 2011
    344
    40
    43
    you guys on Lean or 184?


    Also, is it as easy as d/l, put on sd, flash in recovery, reboot?! no wipe needed?
     
  12. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    Yellow Snowman likes this.
  13. trapperjohn

    trapperjohn Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #340
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    212
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009

    Dec 25, 2009
    212
    30
    43

    Ok you know I was going to ask :)
    About to change kernel to imo's.
    When you say you wipe cache and dalvik cache will I have to restore my apps and data from titanium backup?
    Thanks,
    Bryan
     
  14. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    Nope, cache and dalvik cache is not related to app data. I do suggest making a nandroid backup of the rom prior to flashing the kernel, but that is just because if something goes wrong (not that it will) you have something to fall back on.
     
    trapperjohn likes this.
  15. trapperjohn

    trapperjohn Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #340
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    212
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009

    Dec 25, 2009
    212
    30
    43

    Thanks for the quick response as always :)
    OK cleaning both caches :)
    Wow you have read my mind I was planning a Nandroid backup.
    In fact I might be using it as overkill whenever I change rom or kernel still haven't changed radio using 2.5 don't know if any of the newer ones are better?
    Thanks,
    Bryan
     
  16. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    I like the speed of the 3g/4g handoff with the 704 and the newest one. Nandroid all you want, be aware they do take up a lot on your SD, when I went from CWM to TWRP I got back 15 GB of my SD and I recently cleaned up my TWRP backups and gained back 10 GB of my SD
     
    trapperjohn likes this.
  17. Ibrick

    Ibrick Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    983
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011

    Feb 21, 2011
    983
    208
    93
    Banking
    Milwaukee
    3.5.8 with RHCP's volume tweak.

    Lean version, extreme 1.4, interactiveX gov, with the following voltages.

    245@750
    368@800
    768@975
    1024@1075
    1228@1125
    1408@1175
     
  18. trapperjohn

    trapperjohn Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #340
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    212
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009

    Dec 25, 2009
    212
    30
    43
    Hi,
    Updated with imo's cleaned both caches and installed seems like the phone is more responsive :)
    Will be great to get even more battery life!
    Good point on limiting the Nandroids thinking of moving the older ones to my pc before deleting just for piece of mind :)
    By the way I did notice the send and receive lines above 4G were not lighting up even when web browsing so disabled data then after a few secs re-enabled it and now I get the lines lighting up. Otherwise went perfectly smooth!
    I really appreciate your help!
    So now that I am on a roll...
    I do notice with 2.5 radio that you or worm reccomend I use is fine but now that I have a solid rooted foundation backed up which radio out there that is newer do you find stable and holds the signal well in a less than ideal signal area. There is a building I go to for work that with this radio goes to 3G at times and takes awhile before it switches back to 4G.
    Thanks again for your help,
    Bryan
     
  19. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    trapperjohn likes this.
  20. tythunder

    tythunder Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011

    Apr 5, 2011
    104
    7
    36
    I have to say, I don't really see a difference yet with the lean kernel. I'm on cm7 as well.
     
  21. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    You may not notice a performace difference (in fact most kernels now run very well) what I would suggest you look for is how fast the battery is drained
     
  22. tythunder

    tythunder Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011

    Apr 5, 2011
    104
    7
    36
    Yea that's what I meant, the battery seems to drain the same.
     
  23. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    Ahh, what kernel were you running before? Also what have you selected for your overclocking and governers?
     
  24. tythunder

    tythunder Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011

    Apr 5, 2011
    104
    7
    36
    BEFORE I was running the stock cm7 kernel. Where do I go to change governor
     
  25. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    Yes I was asking what the stock kernel was.

    With Imo's you can open terminal type "su" to grand superuser access, then you type "speedtweak.sh" it will allow you to overclock, I suggest choosing either 1 or 2 (select 1 if you get wake lag), then you can set the governer with 8 I think (I personally like interactivex)
     
    trapperjohn likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...