1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root What ROM has the most reliable GPS?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mrryanthai, Aug 3, 2013.

  1. mrryanthai

    mrryanthai Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    527
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012

    Aug 15, 2012
    527
    33
    68
    Male
    Hello all,I'm on ChamOS and the GPS doesn't seem to work at all.Looking for a ROM with a reliable gps
     

    Advertisement

  2. ortrigger

    ortrigger Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    838
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012

    Sep 7, 2012
    838
    340
    113
    Male
    IT student
    If you want reliable then stock is what you want. Cyanogenmod is pretty reliable also.
     
  3. Nokoko

    Nokoko Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    436
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012

    Mar 31, 2012
    436
    158
    68
    Should work fine on all of them, been a while since I tried ChamOS, but I know it works fine on AOKP, CM, and Eclipse.
     
  4. mrryanthai

    mrryanthai Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    527
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012

    Aug 15, 2012
    527
    33
    68
    Male
    Yeah ChamOS isn't working at all right now.it gets my location but never finds my destination.Imma try Beanstalk again probably
     
  5. Yoinx

    Yoinx Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,032
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011

    Sep 6, 2011
    1,032
    370
    163
    Male
    Military
    Virginia, USA
    ....

    If it gets your location... but not your destination... that has nothing to do with GPS....

    GPS gives a position.. It doesnt give a damn where you're going
     
    legmando33 likes this.
  6. mrryanthai

    mrryanthai Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    527
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012

    Aug 15, 2012
    527
    33
    68
    Male
    How does it work then?Please explain
     
  7. reeseboy

    reeseboy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    621
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012

    Jul 21, 2012
    621
    192
    113
    Newnan, GA
    It sounds to me like you are having issues with whatever navigation app you are using. If it is identifying your current location then gps is working. The navigation app is responsible for taking that and calculating a route to your destination that you identified. Not being able to locate the destination or not being able to calculate a route is the navigation app. On that note, I've heard quite a few complaints about the latest google maps update.
     
  8. sosaudio1

    sosaudio1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    344
    Joined:
    May 15, 2012

    May 15, 2012
    344
    34
    63
    Male
    HUNTSVILLE AL
    Are you saying that it gets where you are starting but it doesn't track you when you are on the road and it cant find you when you reach your final stop?

    If so, that could just be an issue of it NOT using the GPS hardware and using cell phone towers to triangulate where you are and that can give you sketchy results. Make sure your GPS hardware is on and then try.

    Rich
     
  9. mrryanthai

    mrryanthai Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    527
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012

    Aug 15, 2012
    527
    33
    68
    Male





    Yeah I use Google maps,it seems to be working now,I'm on CM 10.1 now though and it seems to work.It didn't even find my location when I was on ChamOS.
     
  10. Yoinx

    Yoinx Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,032
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011

    Sep 6, 2011
    1,032
    370
    163
    Male
    Military
    Virginia, USA
    Like sosaudio1 was saying...

    Google Maps will try and find/use whatever location it can. Be that GPS, Cell Triangulation, Wifi location, etc.

    Use an app like GPS Test or similar in order to see what satellites you're tracking and how many you can see. If you're seeing less than like 10+ you're either in a concrete building... or have a GPS issue. You need at least 3 satellites for a position.

    The way navigation works... is it takes your position and keeps updating your current position within whatever app you're using. The app itself is using that position to try and navigate you to your destination.
     
  11. LillieBennett

    LillieBennett Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    May 18, 2012

    May 18, 2012
    100
    12
    38
    Definitely try something like Faster GPS from the Play Store. You need to run it each time you change/update your ROM.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...